What's up with me? - 3 FASCINATING THINGS I LEARNED FROM PERFORMING MAGIC FOR 9 YEARS [Post #1]

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hey there. This is Kurt here.

Steemit Thumbnail (1).png

Yep, that's me. Fancy.

Didn't want to just write simple introduction article so instead gonna try to bring some value to you and tell you some secrets!

surprised.png

Whaaaaat? Secrets?

Yeah, secrets. Please, calm down.

So, you probably know at least 1 of these guys ->

David Blaine.png

or if you are a Facebook addict you probably have seen these guys

David Blaine (1).png

& what do they all have in common??? -> rabbit.png RABBITS! THEY LOVE RABBITS!

....
....
....

No, not rabbits. Lol. They all have secrets.... and they all use them to trick people, like you, like me. But trick not in a bad way. In an artistic way, in a way that lits up curiosity. They might trick you in a way that makes you doubt "things" & question yourself.

"WHAT! BUT HOW!? WHAT?!!! Am I drunk? Are YOU for REAL? What AM I seeing?"

Now, If you haven't still figured out, I'm talking about magicians, professional magicians & these guys are top dogs in the world. Ones you see on youtube getting millions of views and having huge vegas shows.

The reason I mention it is because I have been working as a full-time magician for last 5 years & practicing this craft around last 10 years. I'm definitely not a world-class, superb, A+ magician, but I'm good.

I have been performing live for years. Doing closeup magic in all kinds of situations - weddings, bars, restaurants, private events, street magic & doing it around different countries - a lot!

Peforming.png

I'm not trying to brag here. I am telling you this so you understand where my ideas are coming from. What actual experience I have.

So in this article, I want to share with you few fascinating secrets you probably never knew about this mysterious "sub-culture" - magic.

1: Best magic tricks are really simple!

This is kind of disappointing & this is also a reason I tell people who ask me about a secret
"Trust me, you don't want to know how it's done."

The reason you don't want to know is that even most people understand there is some sneaky trick, people still hope that the secret is more magical than it is. It's like, we, humans, just want to believe in something more magical in this world.

Of course, it doesn't mean that we should be delusional in life in general. It just means that some things for some people are better to remain "magic" simply because it fuels their imagination & curiosity.

Now, some of you might think, " If they are simple, everyone can learn them?" - YES! With a bit of practice and some balls, you can easily learn it and perform and seem like a pro. Most tricks I personally do are actually quite simple and easy to do! Which actually leads us to a 2nd secret:

2: Best magicians do same tricks all the time

The difference in skill between magicians is not so much in how much tricks one or another can do but in subtleties!

PRO is very flexible in different situations. He knows how to deal with the audience. How to make people have really good time that is not merely based on him being able to do few tricks, but actually engaging his audience. Making it as personal to every person as possible. Being attentive and engaged.

Actually, do you remember that guy Bruce Lee?

Bruce L.png

If not, I'm ashamed of you! But let me help you. Google for help
You're welcome.

For the rest of you, who are wondering why I mentioned Bruce Lee?
Well, he had this quote:

"I fear not the man who has practiced 10,000 kicks once, but I fear the man who has practiced one kick 10,000 times."

This is a very beautiful metaphor for mastery in any field. That includes the art of magic. When a magician performs a trick for the 1st time, the trick is usually very dry. His timing is off, he is much more nervous because there is no confidence that comes with practice. There is usually big chance he will do something wrong and the trick will not work. You get the point.

Only by doing trick 10,100,1000+ times you begin getting that magical intuitive feeling when you should do "secret move", misdirect people, when to change patter. All this comes only with time, that's why top magicians usually have ~10 tricks they do all the time, everywhere and do them really fucking good!

Keep in mind, Bruce Lee.

...& the last cheeky "secret" is

3: We know that you are watching! Doh!

At least half of my audience always try to figure "it" out! When I will do "move" when I will misdirect them. Basically, some people just try to bust my balls! Because when you watch it on youtube or tv, you think: "Pfff. Silly people! I would definitely see how it's done!"

WRONG!

That's why magicians exist because people don't see, can't figure "it" out. Magic creates amazement & wonder.
Yes, it tricks you & sometimes really fucks with your mind but there is nothing bad about it. It's just how our minds work, we get tricked kinda easily.

tricked.png

Actually, let's take one beautiful phrase from the movie "Now you see me".

The phrase goes like this "The closer you look, the less you see".
Again, "THE CLOSER YOU LOOK, THE LESS YOU SEE!".

The first time it might not make sense. I mean, come on!
If I will look very closely what magician does I will see how he does it!

WRONG!

When you look very very closely, you are very focused on specific thing & good magician knows that. He knows you are watching closely. And because you look so close you miss the bigger picture.

For example, think about it, if you just look at my hands very very closely, you not gonna see my mouth.

-Your mouth?!
-Yeah, my mouth.

The best example of this idea is trick called "Card to mouth". Go to Youtube and search for it. You will see how it fools people. Maybe will not fool you because you are watching it on screen and you actually see a bigger picture, but in person, it fulls people like crazy!

So, yeah, remember this idea when you watch magic, and you just can't understand HOW? even tho you are looking closely. It's simply because the magician is good and he knows you are watching so he performs around that.

All right. With this, I am going to finish up my introduction article. If you came so far - thank you. That means you enjoyed it.

I want you to know tho, this is introduction article where you learned something about me, my style of writing and my fascinations, which is to go deeper into how things work. Subtleties that make things much more fascinating.

My page tho will not be about magic, it will be about much more. What exactly? Well, I am kind of magician, not gonna reveal all secrets now. Come on!

wubaluba dub dub

Sort:  

Awesome - would love to see some tricks shown and explained in a little @dtube video!
Resteemed you via @welcoming, my page for showcasing promising minnows!
Greets, @theaustrianguy

Thanks ;) Well, as I mentioned I don't want to focus just on magic here, but also include other topics.

Thanks for suggestion tho, I will think about incorporating some videos in near future if more people show interest ;)

Cheers

Congratulations @motyst, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61553.99
ETH 2881.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54