How Are You Contributing to the Betterment of Our World?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

What Do YOU Do To Make This World A Better Place?

Simply, I have this questions for you. Please don't upvote this post, Upvote the Comments. Right now I don't have any answers. I'm a Dad with two kids doing his best, working at a hotel and paying bills.

I've gone through a divorce. I've taken me two kids to a therapist for depression; they were 2 and 3 at the time. I'm here every day for them walking this tough journey with them. For myself I've had to work hard to rebuild myself, my soul, my relationship with me.

The further down this road I walk moving toward a greater understanding, I see how we as people often act from only one part of ourselves. We either act with our mind, our heart, our desire or our libido.

Right now I'm working on healing most of these aspects of what makes me me and I'm learning how to love who that is. It is quite a challenge to find balance in life, tending to the heart, to sexual desire, relationship, the craving of a mind that wants to learn and generally who I am in all relationships.

The question that comes to me today is, "How am I contributing to the betterment of the world?"

I don't really think I am right now but I want to be. I'm focused on building an online business through Amazon FBA to attain that "Financial Freedom" to have time for my family and pursue an education that will aid me in being a member of this world who contributes toward improvement.

Please comment and give your answer to what it is that you plan to do. Resteem this post so that we can get more answers and share the answers that have already been given.

mqberry
With Peace and Love

Steem On!

P.S. The picture... this is how I get my router to get a straight connection across the room to my Mac Mini (humor adds a nice tough to a post sometimes. =)

Sort:  

I've wrestling with some of the same questions right now. I am not coming up with many answers that are satisfactory to me.

Growing food is something that I'm currently researching. I think that is important and contributes to making the world a better place.

I've also been thinking a lot about reading, books and peer-to-peer learning. That is really important, too.

However, I am having difficulty in seeing how doing some of these good things can overcome the current entrenched systems that oppose them.

It is a bit funny to read your comment, but only because I've thought of the very same things these past couple days. Last night I was having my last cigarette in the rain looking at all the unused space in my backyard. "I can grow food" I thought. How much does that really help anyone but me and my family though? And how much? Is the gain beneficial when compared to an hourly wage? (I kick myself for asking these questions but they apply).

Regarding reading, on a more personal note, I have a busy mind and often engage in multiple endeavors with high expectations only to realize I was distracting myself from the last endeavor. Though I enjoy learning, I often don't stick to one thing enough to learn something of value or something that I could implement. I thought earlier today that maybe I should focus on calming my mind and just enjoy the space I'm in. Stop finding new endeavors so that I can make space in time for the pile of books I intended to read. #lifegoals

Matthew, thank you for the comment. I have a feeling the answer to the question is small and simple. It would be nice though to have a bigger lasting impact on this world.

Welcome to Steem. Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.
Also get to know more about Steem reading the Steem Blue Paper and share your feedback on our Steem Blue Paper Awareness Initiative
All the Best!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61143.11
ETH 2928.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56