Been there, Steemed that, got the T-ShirtsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Howdy Steemit!

Verification:
IMGP9611.jpg

I've heard a lot about you from my good friend @ruwan, who suggested that I join him for the first ever organized Steemit Meetup in Austin, TX (7.25.17). I tagged along of course, and we were lucky enough to both win FREE Steemit shirts!

20170725_201743.jpg

I immediately ran home and took a drone video of me wearing the shirt! I shot this in my neighborhood of East Austin at Festival Beach. (The audio was recorded by me and a buddy name Jonas Wilson)

It was great to hear first hand feedback from living and breathing Steeminians, about their journey with Steemit so far. We discussed tips, etiquette... and the dream of becoming a whale?!
@richardcrill @pushing.truth @lindseylambz @lenadr @kittenlaw @cabelindsay @brevebronovan
cenote.jpg

This is all super new to me, but I'm so very excited to be part of the community and to contribute!

So about me:
My name is Nathan Edge, but my close friends call me NEDGE. I'm 32 years old and I grew up in Austin, TX, which is rare, because most people who live here are not from here. Austin is a cultural mecca located deep in the center of Texas, filled with meandering travelers, searching for a scene, a sound, or something strange. I love Austin, because I have the great privilege of constantly meeting new people to learn from.

13613695_10157245862885711_2522809888970490118_o.jpg

3 years ago, I began pursuing music festival photography, because some musician told me I could go to festivals for free, if I jumped through the press loophole. I started shooting for local blogs, then regional radio stations, and now I shoot for the international giant, Amazon. There's really nothing like the feeling of walking past a sea of people and directly into the photo pit.
IMG_6343.PNG

Shooting music photography is like playing Pokemon, except I go around to each festival and capture the souls of my heroes one snap at a time. I like to add art to my photos that reflects how their music makes me feel.

Willie Nelson
IMG_6342.PNG

Jenny Lewis
IMG_6344.PNG

Nikki Lane
IMG_6345.PNG

Pearl Charles
IMG_6346.PNG

ACL Hall of Famers
11427839_10155741150800711_3956760948024769848_o.jpg

My Top 10 Targets by mid November include; Red Hot Chili Peppers, Spoon, Jay-Z, Wilco, The Black Angels, Jenny Lewis, Ice Cube, Ryan Adams, Iggy Pop and Yeah Yeah Yeahs.

Festivals seem to take place every weekend in Austin, so I grew up thinking they were the norm. Naturally, I saved up enough money once to throw my own festival. We called it Fire Fest and promised 20 bands, fire dancing, glassblowing, camping, water balloon fights and pop your own fireworks, on 4th of July weekend.
fire fest.jpg

2000 Austinites came out and they genuinely seemed to enjoy the event, however the city wasn't too happy. They actually issued multiple citations, and forced me to put the festival on hiatus until my legal battle was over.
IMG_6347.JPG

Now I just attend my favorite festivals for free, and study them in hopes of launching another festival in the future.
FullSizeRender-1.jpg

Determined to take my photography further, I decided to purchase a DJI Phantom 4 (also by the keen suggestion of my good buddy @ruwan). I've been flying for a little over a year now, and take my drone out every weekend to document more of what I love most about Austin, and the surrounding parts of Texas.

Laguna Gloria
IMG_6349.PNG

Montopolis Bridge
IMG_6348.PNG

I'd love to answer any questions.
If you have any Texas travel drone requests please let me know!

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit :D

Have a nice day.

Welcome to join in steemit. 😊 @nathanedge
Other than as a medium that generates wages, here we also share stories, life, experiences and other useful things, therefore we must support each other.

Since you have just joined the steemit community, it will be difficult to receive many upvotes so you have to be patient with it. Good luck here and help each other. thank you😊

Thanks for the advice

you are welcome

Welcome to Steemit Family

Welcome here Nathanedge :) Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me at @khunpoom

Thanks! Right back at ya my new friend!

Welcome to Steemit! If you have questions - ask me @dobroman

Welcome to Steemit @nathanedge, I have upvoted and sent you a tip. Check my blogs if you are looking for tips on how to earn more Steem and SBD.

Excelent post! Welcome to Steemit! A pleasure to have you here and get to know you! A big hug from Argentina Count on me for what you need! 👍🏻😄🇦🇷

Nice to meet you @nathanedge. That photo of the sunrise/balloon out in front of the crowd is spectacular.

Very cool post @nathanedge, welcome to steemit!
The drone video is amazing :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67887.98
ETH 3775.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66