My 1st week on STEEMIT: What am I going for - Money or freedom to be myself?

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

My first week on Steemit. Wow. That was a very interesting experience. Especially how I found myself being disctracted again. From being my true self. By money. Success. Fame. How could I? I guess, there are still some lessons to learn. Not a superhuman yet. But I like to think I am.

Steemit?! I'm free!

When I heard about Steemit I got very excited about the concept. Earning money by being creatively free. Doing whatever I want and getting paid. Apart from that adding value to a community. Inspiring people. And all of that online. Without being dependent on a certain location. Amazing.

What else could you ask for?! Free in every way. And at the same time heading towards financial freedom as well. Perfect. That sounds like the best plan ever.

Trying to be someone else

Not. I found myself in researching what is the best way how to make the most amount of money in the shortest time on here. Which, I guess, was the goal of a lot of people who started on here. Forgive me if I'm wrong. At least that was my thought. And I researched and came upon a girl who did an amazing job in starting out here. @theaudgirl.

She was my example. My role model how to start out. And I tried my best to structure my first post according to hers. To get the same attention. The same amount of money. The same response. The same welcome. Of course it's always good to follow and learn from people who have done it already.

But what I noticed was that I was mostly focused on how to do it like her. Yes, I still had my own style of writing in it. And yes, the video I made was my own nature and humor. But the whole post wasn't truly created from what was wanting to come out of me in that moment.

Should I publish my deepest thoughts?

"Waaaaait! Hold on! What are you talking about?" Haha, see that's what's going on in my mind. Now. When I started blogging last November it was just flowing out of me. I was writing without stopping and rethinking and just letting every word drop onto the page. Without censoring. Without backpedalling.

Which I'm doing right now with this article quite a bit, too, because I'm still afraid of putting it all out there. Onto this new platform. I "officially" entered this week. And I almost feel like not publishing this.

I believe I'm not the only one

But what makes me keep writing is that I believe I'm not the only one with those thoughts. And that if I can share this and other people read it that they might feel encouraged to be their true self as well.

Even though it's sometimes hard to be it. Haha. I guess my whole life story is following this one goal. Becoming my truest self.

Acting helped me to find access to my real self

That's why I started with acting. 6 years ago. Of course, I didn't know that this was the reason at that time. But I felt a deeper urge for overcoming this fear of being in the spotlight. Getting all the attention. I hated it as a kid. I was shy, timid, anxious and very quiet. The worst thing for an actor on stage. Haha. But I started with it. And it was the best decision I could have made.

To come out of my shell and bring out the real me.

Promise to listen to my real self in the future

So what I noticed this week was that I lost the connection to my real me again. And I apologize to myself and to the steemit community. And to avoid this in the future, I want to promise with this post that I will stay true to myself and the community from now on.

Because even though money seems like a very attractive thing to have at first glance, the most precious thing to have in life is the freedom to be yourself.

Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

Your post is so good Its hard to believe it yoir first week on Steemit. The xommuniry is glad to have you. You're welcome @newclarissa

Thank you, @sembozezade. It's really an interesting project and I see a lot of personal growth potential for me;-)

First week! Congrats! Steemit is a really great platform. When I first joined (January 2018) I also struggled a bit with knowing how much of myself do I put out there. Do I share deep thoughts or not. I decided to go with being more real so I can continue to try & give value to this great platform. Keep it up & be your true self here! We welcome it! And who know, you might have some things to share with us that we could learn from!! :D Cheers!

That's a brave decision to make and I thank you very much for sharing it with me. I think Steemit offers a great opportunity to play with putting all our true self out there and getting rewarded for having this courage. I'm getting excited about it again;-) Thank you again, and enjoy the ride!

Thanks you as well!!

I completely hear you on this.

I am very almost precarious about this platform... the added incentive of value exchange does change things. It is good but in some ways it annoys me.

Because I feel like just being myself isn’t enough... that I have to write a whole bunch of words about something that usually doesn’t need words.

I like posting quotes and songs, and photos just ‘Caus’ not for any profound reason... no need for mental masturbation or deciding if others think my expression is valuable. I just wanna and am gonna choose to be me.

Words can only say so much. And when it’s flowing it’s flowing.

But I am very intuitive about what I share for SO MANY REASONS..
This platform has reminded me that ‘find alignment and follow Your Joy FIRST and then the Money FOLLOWS’

Posting just for votes feels like prostitution ☺️

None the less there is a lot of great stuff here.

Warm welcome to your true self on Steemit! Upvoted.
I agree with your point of view and did the same on my first post a few days ago.

Thanks for sharing that you had the same going on. I wish you all the best in the steemit world!


Welcome to Steem @newclarissa.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchian works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Hi @steemladder, thank you for this informative link. That helps a lot! Upvoted;-)

Welcome to steemit, vote back

Welcome to Steemit @newclarissa!

It's great to see you enjoying posting your original content here!

I write a weekly curation blog that features new Steemians, I'd love to mention your blog if that is ok with you!

You can also check out the @MinnowSupport Project, a community on Discord Chat where you can chat, learn, and network with other Steemians!

Be yourself and have fun. Don't try too hard. The money part will come naturally from that.

Haha, thanks, @glugster. That's a great advice!

I completely hear you on this.

I am very almost precarious about this platform... the added incentive of value exchange does change things. It is good but in some ways it annoys me.

Because I feel like just being myself isn’t enough... that I have to write a whole bunch of words about something that usually doesn’t need words.

I like posting quotes and songs, and photos just ‘Caus’ not for any profound reason... no need for mental masturbation or deciding if others think my expression is valuable. I just wanna and am gonna choose to be me.

Words can only say so much. And when it’s flowing it’s flowing.

But I am very intuitive about what I share for SO MANY REASONS..
This platform has reminded me that ‘find alignment and follow Your Joy FIRST and then the Money FOLLOWS’

Posting just for votes feels like prostitution ☺️

None the less there is a lot of great stuff here.

You are welcome. Almost everyone have this challenge. That money is involve create this distraction, but of course we need it. I am less than 2 weeks as well. Since I believe its all about quality content, I started posting at least 2 articles some of which is from my blog here and consumed all the power I had. Its good to pay attention to details first which I lacked

Though never regret and will not stop sharing my knowledge and skill. Everyone one the money and the attention, I do as well but need to be patient and keep working.

My conclusion, if they can do it, I could too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62121.36
ETH 3004.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71