Greetings!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hi there! It’s me, Nicholas, an artisan-technomancer hailing from Minneapolis, Mn. I feel a little late to the Steemit party as my pal @kommienezuspadt suggested that I sign up months ago. Hopefully all that matters is that I’m here now!

Alright, friend, let’s get all the nerd stuff out of the way: I own a software company by the name of Runic. I’ve been grinding the software scene for almost two decades. My primary muse at the moment is building electronics. Things like bike computers, phone-controlled “Stranger Things” telepathic lights, costumes, pretty keyboards, synthesizers. Bottom line, it better be fun.

When I’m not burning my retinas in front of a screen, I’m likely cruising around the city and greater Minnesota on my Long Haul Trucker. I’m an avid cyclist. Though I’m a baby-beta-zebra when it comes to winter biking, I’ll opt to ditch the car any day I don’t have to suit up in Hoth gear. Will ride anything from churning out a few miles commuting, to full-on bike camping expeditions.

Did I say nerd stuff is out of the way? I get my kicks by playing a healthy amount of Magic: The Gathering and Pinball. Really, anything with centaurs is cool in my book. Bonus: I get to play both on the regs while drinking my coffee over at @caffetto.

Among other things: I know my way around the kitchen, camping is fun, I love a good sci-fi book, F*cebook sucks. Recommend to me doom, drone, synthpop, synthwave, shoegaze, and maybe occasionally sad bastard music.

Cheers! Looking forward to interacting with y'all!

Sort:  

Hello, Nicholas, and Welcome to Steemit.

I have no idea re most of the tech jargon you use, but I understand your passion for biking. If I can ride instead or drive, I'll always ride. Thru snow and thru humid heat, altho a cool day is always best.

Anyway, with your various passions, you'll most likely have plenty to offer to this platform, and also find much of interest.


Below are a few basic points of advice re posting on Steemit.

  1. Longer posts are more lucrative than short posts. If you make a post of 20–30 paragraphs, it's more likely to earn rewards.
  2. Include some photos, images or graphs, to complement the text.
  3. Make sure the text and photos are formatted properly, so that your post looks attractive and appealing.
  4. Be yourself.
  5. Be interesting and informative.
  6. Create quality content. Steemit is intended to be a platform of quality content. (You will see many insignificant posts with meager content and no quality. Most of those of posts [called “shitposts” by Steemit whale Stellabelle] will earn few rewards and soon pass into oblivion.)
  7. Get online and start curating. Read various posts, comment on those posts you find interesting, and upvote those posts. That’s the best way to attract followers.

Hope this helps for now. Good luck, and Full Steem Ahead!

Thanks for the advice! I love the idea that this medium thrives on long-format content. A breath of fresh air in this 120 character post world. Will do my best to apply your points. :-)

One more point. Submitting photos in the various photo contests is a great way to earn a bit of Steem and to attract followers. Here are links to 3 contests.

@photocontests, organized by @juliank
Daily color challenges, organized by @colorchallenge
#tepchallenge, organized by @theexplorer

For entries into those photo contests, short posts are OK. But it's a good idea to add a bit of text explaining the photo, to give the post some meat and to make it more interesting.

Software, Magic, sci-fi books? Why didn't you just put all these in your first sentence? I had to read all the way to the end! 😉

Seriously, great introductory post, and cool technomancer profile pic!

Welcome to steemit, I wish you good luck!

PS: I've been reading cool posts from @slobberchops, an old-school MTG player, you could check those out!

Ha! I couldn't make it THAT easy for you. :-) Thanks for the welcome! I'll check out @slobberchops and see what they have!

Welcome to this beautiful community, apart from giving you an upvote I give you a tip that is worth more: "constancy and honesty is the best way to emerge in steemit"

I use Ubuntu. I was biking in Vietnam. I build computers. I love video games and sports. Love your photos. Thanks for sharing. I'm Oatmeal Joey Arnold. You can call me Joey.

Welcome to steemit, nickcdavis! Nice to meet you! I really hope you become successful in this platform!

Ha! Trust me you are one of the early adoptors of the Steemit Platform so you are most certainly not late for the party regardless when you introduced yourself here for now. Steemit has a lot of room to grow.

And yeah man, I hope Steemit surpasses FB one day because this platform pays its users to post content on here, the more valuable the content is, the more likely each upvotes can pay you more by the users enjoying your content! :) Feel free to check out my blog posts too incase you find something there that interests you. :)

And you can come join my Discord group where we help new members like you get more exposure on Steemit: https://discord.gg/WmxRnc3

If you do not have a Discord, making one is very easy! If you need help setting it up, I will be glad to do so. Great Intro post! Upvoted!

Hi Nicholas, wishing you a warm welcome from Thailand. All the best to you as you begin your journey here on Steemit!

i followed you @a-0-0


Welcome to Steemit @nickcdavis!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Good post man!
Just checking if you are in to the developing world of ebikes? We need some good engine and battery controllers developed!

ebikes have crossed my mind! I've found a lot of great resources on them, and would love to get to know the ins-and-outs about them!

Congratulations @nickcdavis! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
Award for the number of upvotes received
You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65848.40
ETH 3007.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73