How my life brought me to steemit - A deeper introduction

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Yeah yeah I know "2018 is my year!!" etc etc... But the fact of the matter is IT IS, and it's NOW OR NEVER!

Hi everyone, I hope you dont mind me posting another introduction! I felt I wanted to give a bit more depth and to fill in some of the gaps in my story.
I have been so inspired reading about everyone and how they found this place that I wanted to show a bit more of myself to hopefully do the same for others like me. Thank you! - Mark

After my long term relationship fell apart in 2012 I have been on a very different mission in life compared to my usual version of normal. My long term job with my friends also went in 2015 leaving me stuck with a mortgage and no job. Nightmare! (No kids though! Phew!)

Keen to turn my unique ideas and original perspective on life into an income of sorts, I dabbled a bit with blogging, but got disheartend quickly and was over it before I had even got started.
I got my youtube channel back in shape and started to upload my old videos which is awesome but still not even reached my first £60 payout yet!
Shit got real pretty quickly and after asking around my friends for work I got a chance to do labouring on building sites which I am still doing to this day.

I am not tough, hard or anything like a geezer but luckily my bunch are good people with good hearts. Making the job just about manageable for me. Although it feels like a distraction rather than a career!

At the end of a typical day I have no energy to do what I love the most, SKATEBOARDING, and I literally get home, eat, shower and straight to bed for my 5am alarm the next morning.

I am surviving, but not living.
I am not a builder, I am a creator.

So basically here I am, looking into the New Year, ready to make this year the one that I will remember.

The year I stood up
The year I began to truely believe in myself
and the year that I took a chance...

My limited (but growing) knowledge of steemit and how it all works has been enough proof to me that this is real and this is the light at the end of the tunnel!

I love writing, I love words and I love truth!
There is no problem content wise. My personal archive of old video and photography spans three decades.
And I have travelled all over the world skating and filming for most of those years too. So I have got plenty to be getting on with.
But to be honest it's all my new ideas that are my driving force, I can't wait to turn these ideas into reality!

With that all in mind, my 2018 is going to be a death/rebirth from my old ways.
I am ready to put the work in to create a future which allows me to skate everyday and to interact with real people who also are carving a new path for themselves. An accurate description of most of the true creators on here I think!

So I thank you, everyone, and I hope you all have as much enthusiasm as me, because if you do then this place is going to be something really special!

Stay weird, keep laughing!
LOVE IS ALL!!
Mark
x

UPDATE! Trending!?!?! Money going up overnight! See my reaction to this hitting $100 in my post from the following day! I can't believe it! Thank you again! :)
https://steemit.com/blog/@nicolcron/steemians-i-love-you-my-first-steemit-success

Insta and my 2 youuuutuuuuubes
https://www.instagram.com/nicolcron/
https://www.youtube.com/DEATHRIDERSKATEVIDS
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC0TWWlJ-bvZBwZiw66Fy2bA

Sort:  

Welcome to the steemit community
Hope you like the new platform

All the Best!

Thank you bro, I couldn't imagine a better set up at the moment all things considered! It's like I have been waiting for this platform for my whole life!
Cheers mate and all the best to you too!

@nicolcron
Great introdution bro, I loved your writing and I hope you achive all your dreams this year, I feel 2018 will be a big year for steem and those involved in the community.
And don't forget, stay weird.

Cheers man! That's very kind of you to say so!
I think we are part of something that is going to go down in history as a huge shift of power back to the people! 2018 Lets have it!!!
And I love that you picked up on the stay weird bit :)
(I did try to be 'normal' for a bit once, never again!)

I was always worried about what others would think. Last year I stopped caring about it and now I'm much happier!

You took the words right out of my mouth!
Such a big chunk of my brain power was going into what others thought! Just gotta get on with it and have fun I think!

Thank you for sharing some of your story. It is inspiring to read how you were able to stay positive through adversity, and continuing to set goals for the new year. Best of luck to you.

Cheers!

Nice one! Thanks so much :)
I am not any super hero or anything tho, and I'm not pretending to be. Things got real pretty quickly and I had to handle it. It's surprising how naturally it comes to you when you have no choice. And I am sure everyone has that power to buckle down and do something completely out of their comfort zone if they must...
Sorry for massive reply! I'm on a mad hype! :)
Thank you for stopping by to leave me that lovely comment!
All the best to you to my friend!!!

Hey man, I agree with you 100% and I think this shift need to desperately happen as social media is being plagued, casing a ton of issues including deadly ignorance and false truths, on-top of and overload of information with no real knowledge in it. I think this will be an incredible thing as long as we can make it attractive and improve ease of use and understanding.

I will be sending you an upvote and follow, hopefully I can earn an opportunity to connect with you and converse with you doing the same.

Nice one! Yeah something must be right here because so far I have found posting to be nice and straight forward after figuring out how to get pictures in there and stuff.
Cool, I followed you and upvoted your comment (Is that what you meant?)
Thank you!

This (so far) has been the most inspiring introductory post I've read. I am new here on steemit and was just about to give up blogging. However, I decided to give it a shot after reading through this. Thanks, Man! Worth the upvote.

That is one of the most incredible things I have ever read! That I have inspired you to keep going!
Yes! You can do it! :)
I am only just starting myself. I totally thought no one would be interested in my strange outlook! I have barely started and people are asking me for more!
I just wanted to be myself somewhere.
It's not about posting things to get views and votes and make money, I feel its just for yourself and if something strikes a chord with someone, and it helps them, then it helps you too!
So you giving it another go from seeing MY post.... I never thought I would be able to shine my light that far!
Well, in a crazy way I guess if no one ever liked another thing I did, it kind of wouldn't matter so much now!
If helping just one person, you :) to see you can do more, then that's something I will remember forever!
Thank you so much!
Go for it!!!! :)

I loved this, I was smiling the whole time. It's so important to realise your dreams and to actually make them something, I'm so happy you've made this choice! Keep up the good work :)

Amazing! :) and thank you!
I am so overwhelmed with the all these lovely responses right now!
Wise words indigoeyess, you are so right, "...to actually make them something" thats the key!
When words are used with real heart I think maybe that's when those words have that power to make someone smile, or laugh, or cry. It's basically magic, but real!!! Hahaha! Maybe!!
Thank you for the comment!!
All the best!!!! :)

Your the best ,i really enjoyed reading from you.keep it up and dont forget steeming it real hot.lets work together and steemit real big ...

Thank you, thats very kind of you to say so!
I am trying my best!
Sounds good kel!
:)

This sounds so positive, kind and REAL, love it! Good luck :)

Aw thank you! I figured out it's so much easier to be real and be yourself! Way less tiring on the brain! :)
Good luck and all the best to you!

Nice post! Thanks for sharing how you came into steemit family. No doubt, your story is so fascinating. Your posted pictures are awesome. I follow and upvote you.

Yes comrade! I was worried that my post might sound a bit depressing, but in reality I think it came out how I wanted it to! Uplifting! Everyone experiences ups and downs in life I think that's how we learn who we truely are. For example, I wouldn't be here now writing to you now, looking at a post thats made $70 (I cant believe it!) if my life hadn't changed so dramatically! It's all part of a bigger picture!
Thank you so much!

Awesome post, man! You've earned yourself an "actual" follower.

Thank you! I wrote it once and it looked like a school essay, so I deleted it all and just wrote it as if I am talking, I feel I can get my point across better that way and it's fun to write like that too!
Saw some lovely photography on your blog and followed you back! Good stuff man!

Thanks man!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 65139.82
ETH 3206.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16