My Steemit introductionsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

Hello, Steemit!

Main photo

I've just been using my social media presence for video game recordings so far, so I thought this would be a nice place to start doing some writing and other stuff on top of that.

The STEEM economy got my interest via @scottsantens, an advocate for the basic income guarantee. My impression thus far is that STEEM as an approach to currency generation is far closer to implementing a basic income model than, say, Bitcoin; I've always been under the impression that Bitcoin is just as grounded in artificial scarcity as fiat/gold currencies. So, I suppose I'll try poking at the system through Steemit for a while and seeing how well it works in practice. If nothing else, it will help inspire me to actually getting some writing done, which I've been putting off for far too long.

Boxes I put myself in

  • English-speaking upper-middle class Caucasian-American
  • Left-leaning anarchist
  • Feminist, with some asterisks
  • Asexual—specifically, autochorissexual, more or less
  • Genderqueer. Male-bodied, and masculine pronouns are as good as anything English offers.
  • Programmer, mostly focused on UI development.

Other stuff I do

  • I have a Twitch channel where I stream games I haven't yet played. I may look at trying out DLive for that as well sometime; we'll see.
  • My YouTube account is where I post more planned and polished videos. This includes prerecorded walkthrough-style Let's Play videos, as well as the occasional tutorial on something I've been working on and some other stuff.
  • I do have an account on GitHub where I'll occasionally work on something. Most recently, I've done a few things to make OBS Studio more usable for my needs.
  • I have an Instagram set up. I haven't done much with it yet, but I want to start putting up some self-photography there soon.

I also happen to play a professional game developer in real life, but I'm going to avoid saying too much about that to keep that role generally separate from my social media identity.

I think that's about it at the time of this writing.

Stuff I care about

  • Video games, as long as they contain more pixels than polygons. This whole silly fad for 3D polygonal graphics in gaming is never going to last.
  • Gender roles and the transcendence thereof.
  • Speaking of transcendence... transhumanism, and human life extension. None of that silly "uploading" stuff, though; I've done too much programming to trust a buggy program to run my consciousness. Let's just fix the lovely bodies we already have, please.
  • Interesting outfits to put the aforementioned lovely human bodies in, without covering very much of them. Legs are generally involved.
  • Anthropology—roughly speaking, why humans do the things they do and feel the things they feel. This also tends to overlap quite a bit with human spirituality.
  • Alongside that, understanding people and not judging them. I don't believe that "because they're stupid" or "because they're bad" is ever a valid explanation for someone else's actions, and it's important to look deeper than that.
  • Languages and how they're structured. I've been trying (again) to learn Japanese recently, so I can read and translate important cultural texts in their original context.
  • I like music. I've been trying for a long time to figure out how to make it. Maybe someday?

I think that's all I can think to say at this time. Hopefully more content will be forthcoming! Thank you for reading.

Second photo

Sort:  

@nleseul, I gave you an upvote on your first post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return!

Please also take a moment to read this post regarding bad behavior on Steemit.

Ahan wonderful intro that I have ever read .. Beautiful photos ..I and all steemit community warmly welcome you at this stage. Work hard .. our support is always with you. Best of luck dear @nleseul

Wellcome and have fun steeming it 🍀

Greetings, and welcome to the Steem Community @nleseul!

I would like to feature your introduction post in my weekly curation blog if you don't mind! Hopefully it may bring a few more views to your blog!

You can also check out the @MinnowSupport Project, a community of over 17,000 Steemians on Discord Chat where you can interact, chat, network, and learn with other members of the Community! There is even a Steem based radio station, @MSP-Waves!

That's totally fine. Thank you!

Welcome to Steemit. Take your time to explore this great platform and make new friends.

To make your steemit journey an easy one.
Join us at SteemJet community where we teach about Steem and cryptocurrency at large.
Follow- @steemjet
@dimimp

Join on discord - https://discord.gg/gGf9V24

Hello, a warm welcome to Steemit. This is a great community and I know you will have a great time here.

Kindly permit me to invite you to join the #steemschools discord. Click this link to join https://discord.gg/eTZqQvk and we will teach and support you to grow up in Steemit, to choose the right topic to attract readers, to use the right tags to get more visibility, how to make quality posts and comments and gain more followers.

Thank you.

images (22).jpeg

Welcome, nleseul! I wish you a great journey here in this wonderful community :) Enjoy!!

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

Welcome to Steemit @nleseul
For your kind information keep safe your master password.
For cryptocurrency news follow @jyotirmay & Do Upvote.

Welcome @nleseul

I take this opportunity to invite you to join STEEMSCHOOLS is a business school in steemit, where you can learn:

  • Publish professionally
  • Generate more profits with your post
  • Earn money just by commenting

We have live classes on DISCORD every day.
JOIN UP https://discord.gg/Sf6YH6j

ALL LIVE CLASS.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64579.45
ETH 3101.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83