Hi Steemers.....and sorry

Hi Steemeit!

Welcome to my new beginning......hence a new introduction

Why sorry? Well...when I originally joined back in October last year, I did so with all the wrong intentions

I've been aware of Steemit for a few years but didn't really 'get it' - once I started learning about Cryptos, the more sense it started to make, but if I'm honest with myself (and you), I joined mainly hoping to make a quick buck! (rarely a good idea)

That never happened as I'm not the sort of person that can happily do anything for financial reward alone - I hadn't found my niche so was trying to plug the gap, but as there was no real passion behind it I tried to fill the gap with a few well intentioned but ultimately lazy posts....I couldn't keep that up for long so soon lost interest!

My original idea, as a crypto-convert(believer) and a truth seeker was to post about cryptos, 'conspiracy theories' (dislike that term immensely), political shenanigans or any of the huge array of the bad things I see going on in the world

Again, no real passion! I soon came to terms with the fact that there are plenty here already fulfilling these requirements and genuinely enriching the community with great, well presented, well-researched posts, insightful explanations, etc - I enjoy researching but all I'd ultimately be doing would be re-hashing other people's work and adding little or nothing to the conversation myself....and I'm no free loader or plagiarist!

Luckily this has all coincided with a positive change of mindset for me, brought about in large part by my belief in crypto-currencies and the people in the space - at the age of 51, this New Dawn has excited and encouraged me - I haven't felt so positive about the future (for all of us) for a very long time - I'm not naive but things do seem to be taking an interesting step in the right direction

So I'm back - renewed and re-energised. I no longer want to write long pieces about all of the ills in this world but instead want to share my new found passion - photography of subjects that fill my heart with joy and positivity - the more I look around, the more beauty I see every day and I plan to capture as much of it as and when possible

DSCN7523 (2).JPG

Hope some of my efforts will have the same effect on you

Cheers!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem. Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.
Also get to know more about Steem reading the Steem Blue Paper and share your feedback on our Steem Blue Paper Awareness Initiative
All the Best!!!

Thank you - very useful

@Mountainwashere's Guide for New Users:

Welcome to Steemit! It's got a steep learning curve, but it's worth it in the long run if you keep putting in the time! Just know that it will take quite a while before you start getting attention and followers. The biggest secret to success? Keep posting high quality content regularly, and make sure to search out other people's posts, read them, and give relevant comments.

Tagging is extremely important. Always make sure to use all five possible tags, and to keep them relevant. You can always just tag something "blog" or "photography" or something else really general (so long as it's still relevant) to fill the quota if you need to- most of your tags should be established ones, though one or two less used ones are fine.

Posting more than four times a day can reduce your potential rewards, as well as turning off potential users. (I aim for one post per day most of the time.) Consistency is important, though, so you should try to post often.

Always make sure to attach a photo to your posts! You should also have a finished profile: Write a description, add a profile picture and a banner- neither needs to be a photo of you, necessarily, but you should have something- and set a website.

There are a lot of really good resources out there for plankton and minnows (new users). You should check out the following groups and services, they offer a lot of valuable resources:

@thesteemengine (Check this one out first- they're an extremely supportive group that can help out in a lot of ways.)
@qurator (These guys offer an excellent liftime upvote to accounts that post consistent quality content.)
@steembasicincome (Another lifetime upvote option.)
@steemstem (The biggest and best STEM curation group in the game. If you're interested in writing or reading about science, check these guys out!)
@geopolis (A fairly new science curation group, this one's dedicated to the study of the Earth.)
@ocd (A curation group that seeks out undervalued new writers.)
@photocontests (Runs contests and provides other support for photographers.)

Much of the activity on steemit actually takes place off Steemit, on places like steemit.chat and discord. Learning to use them is a great idea.

And, again, the biggest thing is just patience. Breakout successes are incredibly rare on Steemit- you've got to find your way to success through perseverance and hard work. It takes time, but you'll eventually succeed if you put in the work.

Please feel free to repost this guide on the posts of other plankton & minnows you run into (though I'd appreciate it if you credit me.) If it was useful to you, feel free to check out my posts and give me a follow!

Incredibly helpful - thank you - hopefully I'll find an audience :)

Welcome. Enjoy your time here.

I shall now - thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65128.28
ETH 2950.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64