WHY WRITE???

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

"Why do I spend so much of my time at this broken down typewriter? Isn't it just a big waste of time? I could be watching television or get into a game of cards or some other recreation. And what is so great about writing? There is an answer and I will try and tell you about it in the following paragraphs.
Something happens to the inner side of me when I sit down to type. I just get completely lost in what I am doing. It is just like I have entered a different world. My imagination is at its highest peak. I am kind of floating in a sea of thought. I am lost in thought, please don't disturb.
The spoken word is very volatile. It disappears into the atmosphere and does not stay with us. It is gone until spoken again. It only has instant impact. Words are usually soon forgotten.
A written message is different, it does not disappear and can not be altered, unless rewritten. Interpretationsby others might differ, but the wording remains the same.
Some times I have an instant desire to say something, but when I do say it it doesn't come out right. What I say and what I mean are often different. I am not a good speaker. But, let me at this old keyboard biding my time, I think I do a better job of expressing my true feelings. Some thing just builds up inside of me and my one finger just keeps telling what I am thinking. I think I do a lot better when this old machine and I are to-gether. We get along. I just love to type. Ideas come easier when I do.
I wish I had found this out earlier in my life."
-Rolland Bartells

Sort:  

Congratulations @nohoverboarding! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Meet the Steemians Contest is over - Results are coming soon ...

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @nohoverboarding! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70272.86
ETH 3773.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82