Can I pay off $62,000 in Student Loans in ONE YEAR??

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

Hi, my name is Enyioma :-) It means 'Good Friend' in my language - Igbo.

2018-01-09 07.28.36 1.jpg

This is my first time on Steemit and I'm so happy to be here and to hopefully share something useful with this community.

My account is going to be documenting my journey towards becoming debt free, sustainable and minimalist living, and my progress towards a zero-waste lifestyle. I will be sharing my tips with you all, mistakes I've made and lessons I've learned along the way. Here's a little background:

Like the majority of Millenials in America, I am so deep in debt that it at times causes me anxiety.
Why am I in debt?
You guessed it: SCHOOL!
Paying Back Student Loans.jpg

I spent 4 years in a wonderful pharmacy school but I was required to borrow $96,000 (broken into 3 loans) for my tuition alone.

I was an international student at the time, and the only loans available to me were private student loans - SALLIEMAE -which required cosigners.
Unfortunately for me, the only people who could cosign had less than stellar credit as they were themselves also drowning in student loan debt.

So, my interest rates for each loan were as follows: 6%, 10%, and 13%. MY LAWD!
Fast-forward to 7 years later (and a whole lotta life events which will be discussed in later posts), my total debt had blossomed to approximately $130,000!

student-loan-debt111.gif

I've made many financial mistakes in the past 7 years such as taking up wonderful but expensive hobbies (aerial yoga, pole fitness, lyra, etc), eating out excessively, being an active member of the Food Waste Coalition - FWC [I came up with that ;-)], and generally allowing interest to accrue on my credit cards by making purchases I couldn't afford to pay back right away. Not to mention my Amazon buy-with-one-click addiction. Don't get me started.

maxresdefault.jpg

The thing is, I know I'm not alone. Statistics derived from the website studentloanhero.com state that "In 2012, 71 percent of students graduating from four-year colleges had student loan debt".
And according to the U.S. Department of Education, "During the tracking period for the FY 2014 borrower cohort (Oct. 1, 2013 to Sept. 30, 2016), more than five million borrowers entered repayment, and 580,671 of them—or 11.5 percent—defaulted on their loans."

I've been blessed to not default on my loans but to also see the error of my money-wasting habits before it was too late.
I reconsolidated my loans and originally got a variable interest rate of about 5.4%, however as the FED keeps raising interest rates, my rate has now risen to 6.8% which is HORRIBLE because my interest rate alone is ~ $700 a month!! You can see part of the trend below.

IMG_1194.PNG

My plan is to reconsolidate for a fixed 3-5-year pay off plan before the end of 2018 so my interest rate can be much lower.

I am currently employed as a pediatric clinical pharmacist and have challenged myself to pay $62,000 off of my student loans between December 2017 and December 2018.

I will write weekly updates on how I'm doing with money-saving habits which include my budget and lifestyle and some tips I've picked up along the way.

I will write monthly updates and include pictures of my loan balance and payments made in the past months, explanations as to why I met or did not meet my goal for the month, and challenges to my followers to make the decision to erase debt (student loan or otherwise) from their lives. Hopefully, we can keep each other motivated and accountable.

So here's January's update:

IMG_1195 2.jpg

I have a bottle of sparkling cider ready for when that principal number drops below $100,000!!

Who's ready to join me??

LET'S GO!!

im-so-excited-memecrunch-com-13995496.png

PS - obviously Star Trek >>> Star Wars. Don't even bother to argue...

Sort:  

Welcome! Coming from a country where studying is basically free, it is hard to imagine how tuff that has to be if you pay for it. But I went to HS in the US for one year, so I know others with your problems too.
Good luck on achieving your dream - Maybe steemit can help a little!
Resteemed you article via @welcoming, my page for resteeming promising newcomers! Greets, @theaustrianguy

Thank you so much, I really appreciate it!

Great introduceyourself post! Very interesting. I am following to track your progress!!

(Note: I am @ericwilson and I created this account for my son to help him to pay for college).

Thank you, I'm so glad you're helping your son, that's wonderful!

Welcome @nyiorms! I am sure you will enjoy it here and hopefully you'll be able to pay off a bit of that student loan :-)

Thank you :-). I hope so too!

Argggh, student debt ☹️

That's a huge loan you have there, best of luck in reaching your goal!

I don't understand how you managed to get such a huge loan. But welcome to the club. I also have a huge loan over my head and ass. Let's release the pressure little bit by following and upvoting each other. Lol. Welcome to steemit. Everything is possible here. And yes! You are beautiful.

Thank you so much! Yea, the amount is mind-boggling as well but I know I can pay it off God willing.

Welcome to Steemit! Good luck on your journey, and your attempt to go debt free.

I was lucky to hate debt enough that I refused to take out student loans. They pray on student's dreams of becoming successful. Dreams they created.

Hope you manage to pay it off sooner rather than later, and resist excessive spending.

Thank you! I'm of that 'resist debt' mindset now as well.

Hello @nyiorms welcome to Steemit. Look forward to Following you and your journey to erase that debt. I know you can do it, and we will cheer you on.

Because that's what Steemians do :)

Thank you, so grateful!

Welcome to Steemit! Quite the journey, and I hear yah on student loans! That really really sucks that the Fed rate hike is putting such a strain on your loan. I know you aren't the only one. (I'm also a college student). The fed rate hikes are hurting a lot of people right now, but they know that the increase will put a strain on loans and increase the default rate so, hopefully they don't increase it to much more. Nice intro and I''ll help with your loan. Here's five cents! haha, followed!

I REALLY hope they stop with the increases too. Good luck with college, I'll support you as well :-)

I hope you can make your goal! I think my girlfriend's college was overall 150000US Dollar and for me as a German is this just mind-blowing coming out of University and being in such a dept! I wish you all the best! Upvote! :)

Absurdity, it is! I went to school in the UK for a year and was surprised to meet international student that not only were getting their tuition paid, but receiving monthly living stipends 😱 particularly I’m thinking of a fellow MA student from Denmark. Great system and support from your respective governments.

Yes and if you just think about the overall student dept in the US its just crazy!

I know right?! My friend went to Law School in England and came out richer than when he went in. America is doing a lot of things in reverse. Thank you so much for the support!

I’m here for this 👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾I’m also jealous of your balance, but we won’t go I tot that.

You have literally encompassed so many of my aspirations in your profile! I, too, am constantly talking to my wife about how we can have less, spend less, waste less, in hopes we can free up our financial assets and put them to more beneficial use.

My profile here is primarily geared toward supporting and growing the LGBTQ community, so I’m omitting some of the minimalist ideas (for now).

So glad you are here, so glad to see more Black people honestly, and I’m going to be following some of your ideas to getting debt free.

Let’s go!!! 💪🏾

Glad to see black people on here too! Our communities need to live debt free and financially independent. Happy to support!

Agreed, you have the opportunity to really change the perception of Blacks and (eternal) debt if you are successful in this venture to pay off your loans. We need more beacons for this!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69158.00
ETH 3746.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68