Hi Steem. Finally introducing myself.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

So, here I am, overusing word "so" among other things. Struggling freelance photographer, build contractor and sociopolitical awareness advocate. What does it all mean. Well, photography is my passion, had my own darkroom since I was 12 (to be precise, I would turn our bathroom into a darkroom for days at the time, believe me, my mom wasn't happy about that, but, hey, she bought me the equipment, so...), spent endless nites working on B&Ws as a youngster. My very first camera was Smena Symbol, then Zenit-E. When immigrated to Canada, had a long break in photography due to financial and "just life" reasons.

Once the digital era arrived, I couldn't wait to get back on a horse, and I was an early adopter of digital, my first digital camera was QuickTake 200. Nowadays I have an Olympus E-system, and take photos mainly for friends, brochures, web, advertising and such. Specialize in paysage, nature, floral and macro photography. Last few years I also developed a need for more of an artistic approach to photography, more abstract and heavy image manipulation. See my #fotoart collection, which is just in it's infancy, but it'll grow.

My professional life (money making necessity) took me all over the place, spent large portion of it in ergonomics, building and then designing office environments, basically a glorified furniture mover with set of tools and specific technical skills. Due to the industry being overrun by incompetence and greed I decided, after nearly 20 years, it was time for a change. So, these days I'm a contractor and I build, among other things, cottages, decks, docks etc. I have been doing that for the last 6 years now and living in northern Canada, in a town of 1500, I must say, it's a lot more enjoyable then the skyscrapers of Toronto and other big cities (although I do miss the travel aspect), that I left behind. In my spare time I love playing video games, especially racing (my long life dream was to be a race driver, even built my own racing simulator), but also adventure and puzzle games. I also have a weakness for old Sci-Fi and Film noir. There is something about old black and white movies, that the new cinema just can't produce.

Now, as far as social awareness goes, I spent most of my life in large cities, basically the cesspools of society, not that there is no goodness in cities, but predominantly they are a conglomeration of all that is wrong with our society, and now I am breathing a fresh air, being 45 and seeing the world from a different perspective. Even before I ended up living in middle of nowhere, or as my friend calls me -"yo-yo in the woods", I've always had a distaste for a standard, consumerist society. Society that turns a blind eye to what really is happening in the world as a whole and just being preoccupied with their own petty, gluttonous lives. In younger years I was very voracious about turning people onto the "right" path, but these days, I try more to lead by example and show people that there is a way to live closer to being in harmony with nature and sustainability, being less parasite on this earth. Sure, am I perfect, far from it, but at least I make real efforts. So, leading by example and opening people's eyes to sociopolitical situation, even though it might sound like some conspiracy theory, is how I fight the good fight. Of course that's just my opinion and I could be wrong.



Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @pauladamski! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Welcome to steemit family! Good luck! I am sure that you will fully enjoy your journey here:)

I love your profession young man. welcome to steemit! I am @ichie1 and I’ll love to see your progress and success here.


Each day holds a surprise. But only if we expect it can we see, hear, or feel it when it comes to us. Let's not be afraid to receive each day's surprise, whether it comes to us as sorrow or as joy It will open a new place in our hearts, a place where we can welcome new friends and celebrate more fully our shared humanity.

Henri Nouwen


Make new friends, but keep the old; Those are silver, these are gold.

Joseph Parry


The link below is steemit frequent asked questions’ page, it may help answer some of your questions as young member to steemit; https://steemit.com/faq.html

Let’s heal our world with genuine love and acceptance for one another.

Young man? Haven't been called that in a while, thanks :)

Each day holds a surprise. But only if we expect it can we see, hear, or feel it when it comes to us. Let's not be afraid to receive each day's surprise, whether it comes to us as sorrow or as joy It will open a new place in our hearts, a place where we can welcome new friends and celebrate more fully our shared humanity.
Henri Nouwen

You are so right, I used to get mad when things didn't work out or didn't go my way, but as I got older, I remembered my mothers Polish proverb "Nie ma tego złego, co by na dobre nie wyszło" ("There is no bad thing that doesn't work out for good"). So, that's how I live my life now, take things as they come and see where they take me. That's not to say, that I don't get pissed off at human's stupidity, but I always tell myself, does it really effect me, or is the karma just going to work itself out. I'm a lot happier with life that way and I can share that happiness with others, and if I can make one person just a little bit happier every day, then my day's not wasted :) Hey, you called me young man, you just made my day :D

Wow, lovely reply. Thanks for your time, I enjoyed the Polish proverb.

Wow, lovely reply.
Thanks for your time, I enjoyed
The Polish proverb.

                 - ichie1


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.


Welcome to Steemit @pauladamski!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings!

Welcome to #Steemit

I am new too, but also love #photography and have a polaroid collection. Can't wait to see more of your art.

Polaroid collection, eh, such a lost art form. Used to use a polaroid myself, I think I still have the camera somewhere, too nostalgic to throw it away :)

hey!! It was so refreshing to see a bit of your life, I can not wait to see a little more of that vision!!!

Sweet, thanks for the curiosity! The vision is there, the ideas are there, it's just finding time to put it all together, that's the hard part, especially that it's my busy season with building projects. But I will keep it up, the stuff is coming :)
Thanks for the encouragement, there is nothing more invigorating then someone telling you they want more :D

Hi Paul
Welcome to Steemit. thanks for your upvote on the Alex Jones thread
I have responded in kind and also a resteem.
Incidentally my first camera was also a Zenith(not sure about the "E"). Now I use a Nikon

welcome to steemit @pauladamski , nice to meet you .
i'm glad you choose life at small city rather than a big city :) ,,, small city always enjoyable

All the best
greeting from indonesia

Sweet, I'm glad that you actually read my post, you're the first real person commenting on it, so I wish I could reward you, well for now you get a star :D and I'm checking out your posts.

aha cool paul, yes there is a lot bot commenting post. i just like to meet with a new interesting people :) . and thank you with the star :d .. you should posting about your life in canada.
Hmm few weeks ago i meet with some girl, she from montreal and she was in my city ( Malang ) for 2 weeks. She doin research about punk music

Ahh, Montreal, very nice city, been there few times myself. Big nitelife scene over there, the french know how to have fun

Welcome mate!

Thanks bud!
Hey, I just noticed, you're looking up and I'm looking down in our little circle avatars ;)

It's a match made in heaven... haha :)

Hello and welcome to Steemit! :)

If you are also into cryptocurrencies then you are more than welcome to visit my channel, as I have made the commitment to share everything with others.

Let me know if need any help.

Best of luck to you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62916.93
ETH 3028.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67