#Introduceyourself

Hey Steemians! I'm happy to be here and look forward to meeting you and reading your posts. I'm Donna Turner, from Julian, CA in the mountains east of San Diego.

unnamed.jpg

I have been blogging for years, but just discovered Steemit. Where have you been all my life? I will add some history, below, but here's what I am up to now:

I work for an Episcopal church in Communications - weekly email, website, Facebook page, you know. And I help my husband manage our non-profit arts organization, Horizon Gate Productions. I also help people get more energy and stay healthy with health coaching and nutrition counseling.

On the family side, I am happily married ( almost 47 years), a mother of 2 and a grandmother of 2. It's fun to be a grandma, and I'm happy that my grandkids live nearby.

For fun and relaxation, I sing in a local Chorale. We do concerts every now and then, and sing for local group events. That is my main outlet for stress relief and connecting with friends. I think singing is good for the brain and also lifts the spirits.

Now for some history:
My first year of college was at a School of Performing Arts, majoring in musical theater. Then I studied mostly music at San Diego State University. These served me well in my work for Lamb's Players Theater and currently for our own organization, Horizon Gate Productions. We have done lots of plays and films over the years. For a few of those years, I directed and performed in a Mime Troupe.

I have traveled quite a bit, and even lived in Brussels, Belgium for 2 years. I've seen much of Western Europe and England, as well as a 6-week stint in Africa. (Kinshasa, DRC) Living in San Diego, I have had many opportunities to travel the short distance to Mexico.

I chose the name @peaceable because I want to spread peace, not conflict. There is so much uncertainty and fear in our world these days, we all could use a little more peace. I hope my future posts will speak peace into people's lives.

What do we have in common? Let me know where our paths may have intersected, and let's get to know one another.

http://facebook.com/turnerdonna
https://plus.google.com/+DonnaLTurner
https://twitter.com/DonnaTurner60
https://www.instagram.com/donna180/

Sort:  

Hello welcome to Donna

Hi Donna I'm glad I was able to see your introduction, I love reading every detail and I can see how close you are to your family and how loving you are as a grandmother. =)
47 years of being together are no joke, it means you have a strong love and foundation to surpass all the challenges and trials in life. Can't wait to know and read your blog and hope to see a video on one of your concert with your chorale group. =)

You are so kind. Thank you. Watch for my first regular blog post tomorrow.

Nice introduction post Donna! It's pretty cool to have you here, especially since I can't imagine my grandmother ever becoming a Steemian....

I taught a course on Udemy about how to succeed on Steemit. Here's the course link https://www.udemy.com/how-to-steemit/learn/v4/overview

and if you put in the code FAMILY-FRIENDS you can get it for free!

I just want to help people grow on the platform and I know that people don't really stick around unless they're making money here...

Thanks - I'll check out your course. Yeah, I was an early adopter of Facebook and social media management. I actually tutor my fellow boomers in that stuff. Ha

Haha no way! You're a visionary 😎

Hey, I'm Oatmeal Joey, and I love to sing too.

Hi Donna. Welcome to Steemit. Congratulations on the long term marriage and family. You have many blessings with this and your extensive travels. I will be following you to see what gems you have to share from your rich life.

Hi, your post is very nice. Peace is necessary for all of us and really important. Wellcome and nice to meet you. 😄🌸💐

Hey there smart lovely lady, I'm Oatmeal Joey, and I like history and I write about history sometimes. I'm from Oregon. Grew up going to a Baptist church. I studied history. I was in Vietnam and Quebec. My brother was once in Africa, maybe Kenya, and also Honduras. I like travel and everything. Welcome.

Hi, I like to say hello, I'm from Venezuela new to this network. I hope together we can make it grow .. Greetings. I hope you can follow me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69624.90
ETH 3615.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73