Introductions are awkward

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

MegillatEsther.scribing.gifImage from Megillat Esther

These pithy introductions on social media platforms always strike me as goofy. Like a stand-up comic on stage regurgitating their resume rather than making you laugh. Someone coughs in the background and you look at your phone hoping to receive a text.

Maybe these words rouse curiousity or make you feel something? Perhaps they impart a stray little kernel of information. At the very least they occupy your attention for 60 seconds of your busy day. So I thank you for sharing this brief moment with me. Hopefully, my thoughts can provide a diversion to your own and leave you with something to ponder or share with others.

I’m really into stories. As an artist, I make comic books and all types of illustrations. As a UX designer, I generate use cases, wireframes, and journey maps to improve the usability of websites. As an educator I teach visual communication and critical thinking. I’m interested in developing transmedia narratives that connect siloed archives to create meaningful experiences. If that sounds intriguing feel free to check out my website .

Here on Steemit I’ll be blogging in conjunction with a graduate course at Temple University in Urban Studies. The course is connected to @Phillyhistory and dedicated to exploring the non-profit ecosystem of Philadelphia and how it has evolved over time. Our class and these fine folks will be kicking the tires on Steemit as we plumb the possibilities of social media, blockchain, public history and the idea of public trust. Wow that’s a mouthful.

I think visually. I’m a cultural critic and producer. I read a lot of comic books. I’m also a Bicentennial Baby from Philly (third generation, yo!) so I have no problem sharing my random opinions with complete strangers. If none of that has scared you off then stay tuned for more posts that explore life in Philly, and beyond, during the year 1918.

Live Lively~

100% of the SBD rewards from this #explore1918 post will support the Philadelphia History Initiative @phillyhistory. This crypto-experiment conducted by graduate courses at Temple University's Center for Public History and MLA Program, is exploring history and empowering education. Click here. to learn more.

Sort:  

Welcome, I wish you good luck :)

Kindly follow me back to also see my introductory post .thank you

Welcome to Steem. Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.
Please bookmark Steem BluePaper and Steem Whitepaper and don't miss reading when you have time.
All the Best!!!

Welcome from an artist and a UX person ( shhh, don't tell anyone) , too!

You're welcome, I used to think I am the one person with this kind of feeling... Kindly follow back please

Welcome aboard @peartree4! Great to have you here.

thanks, your post! have a nice day.

Hello Welcome to Steemit just Upvoted and Followed you I hope you will follow me back and upvote my first post in return

I just joined Steemit and I’m glad that I fiund nice postings. I’m an artist based in Berlin. I will keep posting my artworks and some photos from urban exploring. Feel free to check my page :)

What a beautiful introduction! I look forward to experiencing more of your stuff :)

Good stuff @peartree4! Great website. It'll be very interesting having you aboard. Thanks for joining in.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69774.83
ETH 3620.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72