Traveller, geek & cryptocoin connaisseur - please welcome me (back) to Steemit!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

Hi there! 20-something tech geek here; I've been watching Steemit with interest, or lurking as the kids would say, since its inception. Crazy things have happened in that time (remember the 30000$ make-up tutorial?) and we can all say the experiment has been a great success. So why am I only joining now? Actually, I had an account before, just creating a new one now - new blog with new focus, will lose my old followers but that's ok. Frankly, my old posts were quite bad and I'm a totally different person now than I was then, so... fresh start it is! Anyway, I am very impressed with new apps like DTube and DSound on top of Steem, and I'm excited about the new edition of Steemfest, hope I can make it there. There is probably no better time to get involved with Steem than now :)

So how did I get here? I found out about Bitcoin and the vast sea of alt-coins back in 2015. Immediately got hooked and went through everything there is to do - mining, lending, trading, etc., I briefly worked for a bitcoin company until it collapsed - that's a funny story for another time. Fast forward two hard forks years and some hard lessons later, I'm actually able to sustain myself just by flipping crypto’s?! What a time to be alive! I quit my boring job in my boring old hometown, sold everything I had, and embarked on a journey with only crypto in my pocket. Yes, I can be an impulsive person haha. Ever since then I've been travelling through Europe, seeing nice cities and eating the food everywhere I go. Here are some pictures of my trip so far:

leiden1.jpg
Leiden is a picturesque city in Holland. It is a bit smaller but has nice canals rivaling Amsterdam's!

btcarnhem.jpg
Tacos for Bitcoin in Arnhem "Bitcoincity" NL ! A few locals here have formed an initiative for merchants to accept Bitcoin, currently at a little over 100 shops. Needless to say, I bought many things with Bitcoin here! :)

overview.jpg
Ghent in Belgium has beautifully preserved architecture. The city recently banned all cars out of the centre; making it one of the largest car-free zones in Europe. This is a brilliant feat in my book; makes it so much more convenient to get around by other means. Definitely worth a visit if you're in Belgium!

When I'm not busy travelling, staring at coin prices or laughing at memes on /r/buttcoin, I obsess about music (as my former neighbours would warn you), or food (recently trying to go vegan which turns out a lot easier than I thought!) and I dabble in a bit of coding on the side (but sure as hell no cryptocurrency-related code, too scary for me).

Now you're probably thinking, since I travel, I'm going to make a travel blog... nope. In my view there are so many excellent travel blogs on Steemit that I could never hope to compete with them. I want to bring topics that are less represented on Steemit, and that are near & dear to my heart, which are: security, privacy and personal freedom. With the current bull market in cryptocurrencies many of us have seen unexpected returns and now we need to learn to better protect ourselves. This shall be the theme of my blog and I hope you will come along for the ride. For a starter please check out @notsofast 's excellent and amusing security primer which I hope to be able to complement. Of course I will also use my account to vote and comment on whatever I like. Please let me know if you have any question or anything you would like to see. Cheers & see you soon!

Sort:  

welcome! i look forward to reading your articles!

Hello, Phelix, I'm just here to leave a nice Hello ^^. Unfortunately i don't have much voting power, but i will be back and vote my followers. Need to grow a little ^^. Have a great time @rightuppercorner

Nice to meet you, @phelix! Welcome to Steemit!

Great to know more about you from your introduction. Looking forward to seeing more of your content, Followed and Upvoted!
(If you want to some cool posts to read or contests to participate in, you could follow me back!)

Nice to meet you, @phelix. Welcome (back) to Steemit.

Nice having you here phelix, hope you will enjoy the steemit experience,never been to Belgium,I would love to go next year to Tomorrowland,fallowing you now. @darius1993

Cheers! Yeah many interesting events in Belgium, would have loved to go this year's Tomorrowland but the timing wasn't right :( next time!

Welcome back phelix. Looking forward to your posts

hello :)

Welcome to Steemit @phelix. Enjoyed reading your story. Will look forward for funny story that you promised about the Bitcoin company that collapsed. Hope to see the post about your travels. Cheers! :)

Thanks! Like I said, I'm probably not going to make a travel blog as such but I could throw in a few bits here and there or something. Let's see.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69715.93
ETH 3772.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77