How can it take over a year to write an intro?

in #introduceyourself5 years ago (edited)

Joined in 2018, Writing in 2019

Steemit004.jpg

I joined the Steemit community a year ago. I had just been approved as a new user and was getting ready to post my intro. I started familiarizing myself with the site, read some posts, and generally just tried to get a feel for what people did here. But right before I was about to write my first post something big happened that changed my life.

The Backstory First

I come from the great Republic of Texas, and have been living in the Kingdom of Thailand since 2007. For most of my time in Thailand, I worked for a pretty solid company. It was such a good venture that we got bought for $35 million. After a four-year corporate merger, the new owners shut us down. This plunged me into the deep end of Thailand's job-seeking pool against my will. More specifically, I was in Phuket's job-seeking pool–a painful experience that would last 13 months.

Finally a Job Offer

This is when I first discovered Steemit. Oddly enough, the very next day I was given a decent job offer in Northern Thailand. As a husband and father of two, I took the job. We packed up and moved north to the beautiful city of Chiang Mai.

The new job went well at first, but the man who hired me was soon squeezed out of the company. His replacement wasted no time in restructuring the team which included giving me my walking papers.

Back in the South Again

The good news is we're back in Phuket where the skies are blue and the air is clean. While Chiang Mai is amazing in many respects, it suffers from having the unlucky distinction for having the world's worst air quality for the months of March and April each year. Chiang Mai beats beats out the worst polluted cities in China and India every year. And while we have escaped the pollution, we met some wonderful people up there who cannot.

Writing Against the Odds

I don't think I can think of a more difficult beginning to start writing a blog. I'm looking for work while home schooling two young and very energetic kids that need constant attention. My laptop was dropped which shattered the screen and the new house we moved into doesn't have water or electricity (which I plan to explain in an upcoming blog).

Kick Life in the Face

Now life is difficult for billions of people around the world, so I have no plans on throwing myself a pity party here. I say, "Bring it life! Come at me bro. Imma kick you in the face!" I'm no Steemit expert, but I'll do my best to jump in and be a constructive contributor to the community. I'm looking forward to meeting some cool Steemers and sharing another point of view on this big, amazing world.

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit!

Here is some information every newbie should know:

  • The value of an upvote is related to how much Steem Power the upvoter holds, as well as the current market price for the STEEM cryptocurrency coin.

  • Upvotes are not infinite, but they recharge. The more upvotes a person uses, the less it will be worth next time. On average, each person can give 10 full upvotes per day, because it's also how much upvotes recharge daily. People have to pick between many posts to decide what they're going to upvote, often choosing something they like but also taking profits into consideration. If someone doesn't upvote you, they could be waiting for their voting to recharge.

  • Your free account started with a borrowed 15 Steem Power. As you earn from your posts and comments, that will be taken away until you're standing on your own feet in the platform.

  • Remember to both give and take. If people only want to take away from the platform, the STEEM coin will eventually be worth nothing, because then everyone wants to sell while noone would be willing to buy.

  • If you run into posting limitations, that means you need more Steem Power. It's like a "bandwidth". The more you hold, the more you can do. It recharges, but slowly if you don't have much SP.

  • Steem Power can be bought, but it can also be delegated (borrowed/lent) using a steemit command. It can be undone by using a similar command too, so the delegator is in complete control.

  • You can check those bandwidth and voting metrics on the steemnow website.

  • Follow me, @felipejoys (click), if you like posts about gaming.

I have attached a picture from the steemnow website below so you can see what it's all about. Note: I don't own the website.

Thank you felipejoys. This is very good information. I don't know how the site works and so I've posted to start learning. I hope to start becoming more active and your information has helped.

Keep me posted. :) PS: Most of the comments to #introduceyourself posts are from automated accounts (bots), like those of partiko, esteemapp, steemitboard, etc.

Cool. I had a hunch that there may be some bots in here but didn't want to assume right off the bat.


Welcome to Steemit @phuket!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings!

Thank you for all the links and the support intro.bot! Many blessings to you as well!

Great intro a year in the making and I'm a big fan of the republic of Texas and I'm from Oregon and was teaching English in Vietnam. Upvoted. Resteemed.

I am honored to meet a fellow teacher and fan of Texas! I visited Oregon back in 1999 and was overwhelmed at the natural beauty. Oregon is one of America's jewels! Thank you for the upvote and resteem! Vietnam is also one of the reasons why I came to Asia in the first place. I hope you got to explore the country while you were there.

Hello. What an adventure you are on. The road less travelled. Looking forward to hearing yuye stories. Try wednesdaywalk tag. We take pics on a Wednesday walk and we are building a group.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi ozkdawg! Thanks for the heads up on wednesdaywalk tag. I took a look and the challenge looks like fun. I'll have to give it a shot next Wednesday. Maybe I'll be the first contributor from Phuket!

Awesome photo and first post phuket welcome to the Steemit family and it's great to have you us and taking time out of your busy schedule just to join us and sharing this great article phuket your well on your way so please continue to explore post and enjoy your new Steemit account phuket once again welcome and thanks for joining us at Steemit

Thank you garrettwallace for the warm welcome and kind words. I hope to be a more frequent contributor and help build this cool community.

Loading...

Hi and welcome here! When I started on steemit, my biggest problem was to find interesting people to interact with. So, to help newcomers getting started I created a directory with other interesting and or talented steemians to follow or interact with. Feel free to check it out at https://www.steemiandir.com I am sure it will help you find like-minded people. Enjoy your stay here and do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions!

Very cool. Thank you for the link. I'll have a look.

Welcome to Steem phuket! Partiko is officially the fastest and most popular mobile app for Steem. Unlike other Steem apps, we take 0% cut of your earnings! You can also be rewarded with Partiko Points while using Partiko and exchange Partiko Points for upvotes!

Partiko for Android can be downloaded here on Google Play and the iOS version is available here on the App Store.

If you have more questions, feel free to join our Discord channel and ask @crypto.talk, we're always here to help!

Thank you so much for your interest!

Thank you partiko. I have much to learn and don't know anything about the apps yet, but I'll give it a look. Thanks for the help.

Awesome! Hope to see you in Partiko soon!

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @phuket! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Thank you steemitboard!

Welcome to Steemit @pukhet !
Wish you a great time and much success.
You heard of Partiko already?
A beautiful and easy to use Steemit app for your mobile?
You not only earn steem, you earn Partiko points as well.
Here is the link to come to the download from your app store, for sign in you get 1000 points for free:
https://partiko.app/referral/zanoni

If you have questions or need help,feel free to ask.
Have a great day 💝
Greetings from Sriracha 🇹🇭
Tom

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi zanoni. Thank you very much. A few people have already recommended Partiko. I've taken a quick look at it but haven't signed up yet because I have a very old iPhone that can't download apps. So it looks like I need to get my hands on a newer phone to get it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97