A Pinball Introduction

Hello Steemit!

Allow me to introduce myself. I am @pinball-players, but I am also @steemitgraven29, and the author of Boooooooom News. I have decided to separate the pinball writing from the rest of what I do on this platform. Pinball is my greatest passion and has been for almost 17 years. I’d like to share that passion with all of you and moving forward I will do it exclusively from this account.

20171210_133347.jpg

For me it was always “competitive pinball.” Of course as a child I played a little, and I might not have competed for money, but I was trying to get that high score. My friends and I would brag to each other about the things we accomplished, and I always wanted to have the most bragging rights. Some of those rights included - Jackpots, Wizard Modes, Game Times. Other game-specific brags were made, like "Rudy Hits" or "Million Ramps."

20171210_133400.jpg

By the time I discovered there were competitions for money, I had been competing for pride for years. My first competitive pinball event was Pinburgh 2001. Unbelievably, the entire event is still archived, thanks to the good work being done by the folks over at the Professional & Amateur Pinball Association (PAPA for short). Pinburgh 2001 took place in a conference hall on the 8th floor of a Best Western just outside of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. A few hundred people packed into a room with about a hundred machines. Playing pinball in this environment for an entire weekend was a life-changer for me. It sent me down the path I have been on for the last 17 years.

Victory.jpg

That's me winning a tie-breaker a couple years ago to stay alive in the Pinburgh Finals. My "moment of glory" if you will. Back in the day it was a few events a year. For me it was a doubles league and Pinburgh. And a whole lot of practice games. Now there are events every week, and usually more than one at that - I'm lucky if I have a chance to warm up. I have gone to as many as four events in one week without leaving Pittsburgh.

20171210_133558.jpg

So what is the @pinball-players blog going to be about? It’s going to be about a passion for competitive pinball. It’ll have interviews, videos, photos, writeups, strategy talk, and so much more. Like I said above - I have a passion for this sport, and my main goal is to share that passion with all of you. I hope to hear from you in the comments.

20171210_140217.jpg

Sort:  

welcome to steemit best of luck follow me

Welcome to Steem Community @pinball-players! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Welcome pinball-players. Enjoy the platform and just be yourself! :)

Welcome aboard, whats your favorite table?

I have had a lot of success with Stern's Spiderman, but my favorite table just might be Stern's Pirates of the Caribbean.

good post. i upvote it. i follow you. follow me.

this is the most awesome news I've read all day, @pinball-players! I am so excited for you and your newish adventure. I look forward to seeing all of your pinball posts in one place, so I can be jealous of all the awesomeness happening.
much love,
mo

Thank you mo - upvoted and resteemed.

As long as there are people that want to read about it - I will be here posting about it. No need for jealousy - get out there and play!

I definitely look forward to your posts, G. ;-) Hugs

Thank you. I look forward to posting :) I have an event coming up this weekend, and some material I recorded last weekend - so I'll have posts coming out soon.

Welcome to steemit!
I am a bot built for the purposes of welcoming new users! I know that steemit may seem very overwhelming to you right now but don't worry. There's a learning curve to everything so just be patient and you'll be churning out posts and becoming a part of something great in no time!

Also if there are any questions that you may have, then just ask your questions on any of my blog posts or in a reply below and I'll be more than happy to assist you with whatever questions you may have! I will also be creating a basic starting out guide for all minnows and newcomers on my blog so do give it a read as that might help answer many of your questions!

Have fun and I wish you LOADS of success on here! :)

Also. you can call upon originalworks whenever something you post is your own content like this: @originalworks

Regards
@welcome-to-steem

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @pinball-players to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Hey outstanding bro! I see the @pinball-players account going to the moon. Next step...

Pinball Players Discord Community Server

Now that would be a blast for folks of like passion! I believe you will be starting a new community on Steem and that is outstanding!

Steem on bro. Steem on!

Thanks a lot @sgt-dan. I love your idea for a discord. Once I get posting regularly, I will look into starting or joining one for pinball. Thank you.

Posts and bloggers like this one are why I am here. Being a witness, and supporting this community with my life, like it's 3 full time jobs. I love this new blog you have here @steemitgraven29 and I cannot wait to see more of it.

@SirCork

Thank you! I really appreciate everything you do. It blows me away that you would say this about me. I won't let you down :)

You're the kind of blogger I came here to see. Don't let you down, I'll be fine. :)

Welcome to steemit! I love pinball machines. My fav has to be Twilight Zone.

Twilight Zone is quite the pinball machine. I like it too, but I've had some bad luck on it in important games. It can be very rewarding, but also very punishing. I hate the pop bumpers! Thanks for reading - hope to see you around.

Lol. I trust you on that. I am possibly the worst pinball player ever. Nevertheless I have a grand time playing. Have you played Creature from the Black Lagoon? I have been wanting to play that one but cannot find it.

I am going to a location that has a Creature this weekend. I will be sure to get you some pictures and a video :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97