Introducing Crazy Pete

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

My day job is as a Cloud Solution Architect with Microsoft in Seattle, having relocated here over four years ago. Means I get to enjoy long winters (not), wet snow, and dark days. Of course the summer here is pretty spectacular. When I get back to Australia though, I love getting down to the beach with my kids for an early morning surf - just to make sure they don't lose that Aussie beach touch.

At Microsoft, I get paid to do some really cool shit with some really advanced hardware and software. If I'm not looking at what hololens can do for surgery, I'm diving into how data and AI can improve health. And if I'm not doing that, I'm looking at privacy and security. Which is kind of how I stumbled onto Steemit, using blockchain technologies for content. I'm curious to see how it could be used in the medical industry - particularly around medical records.

Outside of technology, I'm a terrible amateur photographer with an itchy finger that has a firm belief that he who dies with the most photos wins. Ocassionally I take a good one - and then I dine out on that one for years after. I also love sport, and have competed in a bunch of Ironman Triathlon races, marathons, trail runs, and have performed badly in a couple of adventure races. The best thing about sport though is the running. I can take my phone out to trailheads that people hike to, and run them in a few hours - which gets me to some amazing places.

All aboard!

Sort:  

You guys look very cool. Have a lot of fun!

Welcome to Steemit platform, from all of us in promo-nigeria. Steemit is a beautiful place to be and we are sure you will be happy here. Get to know more by blogging consistently. Never be discouraged, seek for assistant when necessary. Cheers!

Welcome @piquet - bring some of that Aussie charm / bluster to us ; )
Good luck!

Hello, piquet! I wish you a very wonderful journey here in this fun-loving community :) Enjoy the friendship

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

Hey, Pete! Welcome! It is so nice to have you with us here. Please let me know if you have any questions by posting them here, and I will help if I can. Good luck!

Welcome to Steemit! That's a crazy stretch between Seattle and Australia..! I lived near Vancouver, BC for a couple of years, and the rainy winters were actually nice for me: I come from Saskatchewan with coooooold, white winters.

Hope you enjoy it here! xx, Kay

Thanks Kay,

I love Vancouver. Holidaying up there is like going home. It reminds me so much of Melbourne. And Whistler even has Vegemite on supermarket shelves!

But yeah - it's a helluva stretch to return back to see my folks in Melbourne every year!

I'm in Shelton, near Seattle, love your photo, I'm using Ubuntu, used Microsoft and Apple years ago, I love Steemit, Bitcoin, Bit Torrent, Firefox, and I love travel, i was in Vietnam, and I love hiking, welcome to Steemit.

Wallace Lake - earlier this year. Just a fantastic run up the hill, nobody around, just me and the snow.

Welcome @piquet

I take this opportunity to invite you to join STEEMSCHOOLS is a business school in steemit, where you can learn:

  • Publish professionally
  • Generate more profits with your post
  • Earn money just by commenting

We have live classes on DISCORD every day.
JOIN UP https://discord.gg/Sf6YH6j

ALL LIVE CLASS.jpg

Welcome to the Steemit Community. Enjoy your stay :) Here is an Upvote.
follow us @wallstreethodl for great news and information on all things crypto!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17