Long live Bruce Lee!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

D0717A84-AEA4-4109-B4DE-B907D308F04C.jpeg
A little more about me. Every time I am in Seattle I visit Bruce Lee's grave. It is right next to volunteer park in the capitol hill area. You can't miss it on top of the hill. If you can't find it wait a few minutes and watch where everyone else is walking.

I respect Bruce and his son Brandon for being so true to their lifes path. I am so thankful Bruce brought martial arts to the U.S. It is my understanding that his teacher, Ip Man, shunned him for bringing the secrets of Wing Chun to America. Otherwise these were master to chela, teacher to student lineage only! Thanks for being a rebel Bruce!

Here is a good example of how fast this man can move!


(public domain)
Mind you he slowed down during his films so the camera could capture his whole motion!

On another far out note, Jimi Hendrix is also buried in this grave yard. His grave is more difficult to find. His tombstone is not upright and it is more towards the bottom of the hill.

Don't forget the flowers,
May we all move through life like water 💙

Thanks for reading,
@portiajay

Sort:  

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Thank You!

I never realized how Awesome Bruce Lee is until I saw the video about 2 years ago. He is amazing!

I wish I could find this article I read once, there were numerous previously unknown muscles found in his body in his autopsy.! But I don't remember how many.

I noticed Bruce Lee's body was abnormal because of the extra muscle that is visible. I don't think the muscles are abnormal in the human body.

Those muscles can be felt and manifested when you do external Qi Gong such as Wai Dan Qi Gong.

Certainly, I do think we all have them.

Do you practice Wing Chun?

I do, but this past year has been so crowed with other tasks I want to get back into more. Do you practice?

No, my uncle has practiced Wing Chun and another cousin. He gave me some pointers on Wing Chun.

I have been exposed to Wing Chun but it didn't fit my personality so I didn't want to focus on it.
I have practiced other styles of Chinese Kung Fu too.

I focus on only Chen Tai Chi now which is the original Tai Chi.

What's your resource? Do you practice with others? I'm daydreaming a Steem Fest Martial arts class 💜

My lineage of Tai Chi is directly from Chen Village where Tai Chi originated from. I train with my brothers when I have time. These days I prefer to train alone to advance my own training.

I have been there often, and I LOVE the photo!!! But I am certain the ping pong video was CG from some commercial awhile back... Love you!! 🤶

In 1960's film? One of this predecessors, James DeMile, a Bruce Lee student, would wager bets in a ring, seeing if anyone could hit him, that's my understanding of how James had made a living. I honestly believe these cats just move this fast.

So do I... I just finished reading a book called The Wandering Taoist, so yes!!

Hey, @portiajay Are you on discord? I am meeting some worthy humans over there... The Minnow Support Project has a chat server...

Nice! I am on discord, but I am moving right now and will hopefully get around to dabiling into discord more. Do you have a good link for the Minnow support? I have not figured out yet how to jump onto the minnow project.

Moving, ugh! It took just a few seconds to make this invite, so if it expires let me know and I can do it again, or once you are there you can get it to generate an invite... Their registration bots are currently down, so I have been waiting 5 days to do that, LOL... Really good group of people, though! Last night someone there liked my stuff and offered to send me money to draw on, from IRAN and also North Korea!!! So stoked...

Here is the link:
https://discord.gg/xesHdS

I like the sound of that! Thanks! Will get back to it once I get back to the moving and not stuck on the side of the freeway, gosh, just let go Portland!

Four corners area, idk where exactly I will land. But I have friends in NM and CO. I'm really excited🌈

I think Seattle has moved into Portland! It feels like Seattle

Awesome photo and post!! Lovely to connect with you here! ~*~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 69718.75
ETH 3706.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.26