Practically an Introduction

I do not use practically nearly as much as this post suggests – this is both a disclaimer and a promise.

Nice to meet you!

FullSizeRender.jpg


A few years ago a very close friend of mine, we’ll call him C, wanted help redecorating, and since a friend in need is a friend indeed and buying furniture is so much more fun with other people’s money, I was all in in helping him. It was also the first time I painted a wall. C gave me free rein to do whatever I liked with his room and bathroom, and I used that freedom like I was the ruler of the free world. I painted his whole room and his bathroom with an inspiration only second to Michelangelo and the Sistine Chapel. And let me tell you: It. Was. Beautiful. Unbiased opinion, you can ask C and his housemate, who is probably still dying of jealousy.
2 weeks ago, another friend of mine, we call her V, asked if I knew of any reliable painting services because she just bought a house and I proceeded to tell her of my masterpiece… “I painted a room once; I’m practically a pro …”

Look no further! We got to the point where the name makes sense!


Before the days of responsibilities and compromise, I used to write quite a bit; poetry that didn’t rhyme, stories with no end and Facebook posts that I am reaally proud of -- seriously. However, I haven’t taken the time to write in years, so when an impossibly persuasive friend ( @kubbyelizabeth ) convinced me to start steeming, I was so sure I was not the women the world of blogging needed. Writing is most certainly not like riding a bike, it’s more like wielding a sword that kills Greek gods and then finding out that the sword is a fluke and you are the weapon that kills Greek gods and you have a whip (!) but then realizing that no matter how awesome you are as a Greek god killer with a whip, you’re only as good as your rotten tomato ratings. It’s really scary. But you know what? When I was in middle school, I entered a poetry contest and I won! I had my poem published in a book I hope no one knows exists, and that makes me practically an author. I can and will conquer the world of blogging, but worry not, I will not rule with fists of iron but of cotton candy dipped in chocolate, and then I will give you a glass of water and pay for your dental insurance.

So back to something more relative, when this impossibly persuasive friend of mine, who did not threatened me to join but may have threatened some of you to read my post (my deepest apologies), told me that she was certain that I would love this community as much as she does and that I would find a group a people with a diverse and compelling array of interests, I decided that yeah, maybe I will join and let these wonderful strangers know about that time that I made a steampunk plague doctor costume out of thrifted clothes and became practically a seamstress

steam1.JPG

or the time I dressed as yeti and drank wine while eating s'mores in 80 degree weather (Fahrenheit) and became practically the re-inventor of elegance

PicsArt.png

or that time I got my jacket stuck on the safety latch of an Israeli soldier’s machine gun and that made me practically dead… of mortification.
no picture of this one, was focused on not dying.

I haven’t found my writing voice yet, I may have lost it while compromising with growing up but I’m hoping to find it again. I’m hoping it’s fun and genuine even if a little hyperbolous (I sometimes make up words) and scattered. I may overuse analogies and metaphors and have a hard time being concise, but maybe you’ll find something you like while I may be re-find something I love and then maybe we’ll be, you know, practically best friends.


… V ended up hiring a painting service and I’m yet to paint for a second time, but you know what? I still went furniture shopping with her and that makes me practically a… oh you know how that goes

Winner…. Practically a winner!

Sort:  

Welcome to family 😊

I feel very welcomed!

Hello @practicallyapro ! I followed you and UpVoted you!
Very cool that you are here! Steem on!
I wish you happiness! You will be happy on SteemIt!

I'm happy to be here! Followed you too :)

I didn't know you wrote a poem, entered it into a contest, and WON! Which lead you to become a world famous author! Maybe I just think you're world famous, but either way welcome! So glad to have you here... Let me go scream at my friends :)

That I did. I don't tell anyone because maybe one day someone will find that book. Thank you! :)

YES, I will find it!

No no, this wasn't a challenge

I heard challenge and I accepted!

If your a friend of kubbys your a friend of mine :) I hope you are enjoying steemit!

I certainly am, friend! :)

I had a hallucination like this once while on an LSD trip. This is one trippy picture!

Maybe it was a prophecy that you would join Steemit? 😮

Hmmm, perhaps...stranger things have happened...

Welcome

Welcome to Steemit you amazing pro, I can't wait to see what awesome adventures you take us on!! <3

Much loves.

thank you you lovely soul! I'm excited too!

Oh, man. I like you already. You seem like my kind of people!
... I have a footed onesie with monkeys on it, we should have a ridiculous pyjama party. Because I need to be able to say for once that I've had a yeti in my living room and it wasn't a blatant lie.
I'm so glad kubby got you over here!
I am excited to watch you find your voice! (I am in the process of finding mine, too! You can do it!)
Welcome to Steemit! You'll love it here. Hope to see you in Discord!

If you like onsies, you are my kind of people too! I'll be in Discord soon! :)

Welcome and I really loved your post.

Me too...it was practically priceless...don'tcha think? ~smiles~

~ Grins ~ I see what you did there ;)

Thank you! I'm glad to be here

Hey welcome to steemit. @kubbyelizabeth practically assaulted me to come say hello and welcome you. Yer practically famous already.

May you be practically successful on steemit. I'm sure the next time I run into you, you'll practically be a discord darling. Welcome to the game, practically speaking.

@sircork

I knew she would! I'm glad you stopped by despite the assault, you are practically a hero

Not the hero you wanted... but the hero you got. Welcome to the circus.

Kubby Kubby KUBBY! Who is this Kubby person trying to block your entrance. };-)>

I don't have love to give...it's a learned thing ya know...but I do have a seemingly unending bounty of pennies for your thoughts...and all my adoration while I listen.

Come see me sometime. Find the bronzed cowboy and then head south from there. You'll find me behind the other doctors...I'm always running behind. The view is much better from there. I'm not completely without practicality.

Bring your plague gear along but snatch all the smores and wine you can from the Yeti before you do. My space is a dead zone so don't forget to place a lavender nose gay in your Steempunked proboscis.

Then again, you don't gotta do nuth'n ya don't wanna. Practically speaking.

Welcome to Steemit...a wonderful entrance. Next time you are in close proximity to Kubby...giver a big old bear hug for me will you? Really...it's what Steemians do...ask anyone...they'll tell you.

...oh...almost forgot...where are my manners?!

                              ~smiles fer miles~

I am on my way, I'm bringing the yeti along, I need someone to hold the wine and s'mores for me. thank you for stopping by!

Hahaha...sure bring the Yeti along.

I'll see if I can find a Sasquatch that's open to showing your friend around.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62875.98
ETH 2948.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55