Hello (Steem) World!steemCreated with Sketch.

Hi! I'm an economics professor researching the effects of cryptocurrencies and blockchain technology on the international economy. Because it is amazing! You can find my research posted on my website .

IMG (1).jpg

(this is a picture of me presenting at a luncheon for a local San Antonio business organization, SABE)

I was born in South Africa and lived in Joostenbergvlakte until I moved to Christchurch (New Zealand) when I was 13, then Torrance (Los Angeles, California) for high school. I received a B.S. in Physics and a B.A. in economics (highest honors!!) from UC Santa Cruz. After few months experimenting with life as an analyst on Wall Street I decisively pivoted to pursue and obtain a PhD in economics from the University of Minnesota, where I wrote my dissertation on international trade and the way goods are priced across different countries. Today I'm an Assistant Professor in Economics at Trinity University in San Antonio, Texas, specializing in cryptocurrencies/cryptoassets/digital-money and blockchain technologies; an honorary research associate of the Globalization and Monetary Policy Institute at the Federal Research Bank of Dallas; and an honorary research fellow at the University College London Centre of Blockchain Technologies.

It is only a matter of time before governments and central banks attempt to regulate blockchain-based developments. I want to make sure that when that happens we have a solid understanding of the effect these technologies have, or will have, on our global, interlocked economies---grounded in scientific analysis; not fear, hype, or dreams---so that we don't stifle innovation or growth. The only constant is change.

Sort:  

Welcome to the platform, I wish everything work out for you.
I wish you the best! Hope you gonna have fun with our community and see you soon.

Hello, Prof

Welcome to Steemit!

In fact, a warm and sincere welcome. Turning AWAY from Wall Street is the best and most honorable thing anyone can do in today's financial quagmire. And turning to Steemit / blockchain / cryptos is wise.

Of course, this is new territory for many, and completely unknown, unexplored territory for most people around the world. So we need teachers like you who will instruct, explain, clarify, and guide people on this journey.

I expect you can help much in that regard, and I expect to read a lot more of your posts in the weeks and months to come. I'll be following you the entire way.

Best of luck on this revolutionary platform, and Full Steem Ahead.

Thank you! I'm hoping to use this as a place to unpack the jargon-filled work I do for a more general audience. Sadly, you'll have to wait for the semester to be over before I bring in any new papers, simply because I'm currently swamped with teaching. (Which I enjoy--it just means I can't churn out new papers on a monthly basis). I am hoping to also bring in and dissect others' papers as well.

Hi @prof-pieters... Nice to meet you... Welcome to Steemit..🌹.. This is a nice intro post... You have tremendous opportunity to do a lot over here as you are already researching on the effect of cryptocurrency and blockchain on international economy. I hope you will do great over here as a steemian..😊.. Follow Me @onority

hey good post , im currently doing some research on bitcoin and altcoins ! It is quite interesting!
So will be hoping to pick your brain soon ,

Happily. It's always interesting to hear what questions others have.

Hello and welcome! You clearly know more about blockchain and cryptocurrencies than I ever will

Thank you! To be honest, I think we have only scratched the surface of understanding the full capability of blockchain & crypto's - it's like studying the internet back in the days of Windows 95. There is so much more to come.

Welcome profsessor, enjoy your time here :)

Hello, you are welcome to steemit!!! I give you upvote and a small amounth of loveu.gif

Welcome on Steemit, @prof-pieters! Looking forward to reading your articles about cryptos in general and Steem in particular :) Followed!

It is a fascinating application of blockchain technology. There has already been a great post on the inequality in steemit (by someone else) in case you didn't notice it, which raises interesting questions about gate-keeping (at least, under the way I understand the system).

hii professor

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65925.23
ETH 3003.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75