My Passion for Community Steered Me to Steemit

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Mabuhay! Welcome to my page!

I couldn't wait to get myself into this community the moment it was described by my close colleague, @ybanezkim26. Following the contents of my other friends, @legendarryll and @thegaillery, I realized that there's an indefinite expanse to what your mind can tell and sure a platform like this would be perfect for anything possible.

My name is Queen from the Philippines and I am a chemical engineer by profession. Although I immerse myself 8hrs, 5-6 days into profuse technical endeavors and decision-making, I largely feed myself with thoughts of better ways to spend my free time. On weekdays, I engross myself with chemicals, reports and journals; weekends, conversely, are about trying to squeeze a quick trail run, a 20-lap swim or another form of activity.

My decision to join the Steemit community is essentially attributed to my growing passion for the kids, education, and the community.

1399183_565853160171974_113562711_o.jpg

Last 2014, I spearheaded Project LIBRO, a community-extension service program which aimed to install mini-libraries in remote rural schools in Cebu. With the support of my organization, University of San Carlos Chemical Engineering Society (USCChES), the project currently has 3 beneficiary schools and has received national recognition after being one of the finalists in the 2016 TAYO (Ten Accomplished Youth Organization) Awards. Since then, a lot of opportunities has opened up for schools and students in the form of facility improvements and partnerships.

859854_565854856838471_285253904_o.jpg
Project LIBRO 1st phase in Tabla Elementary School, Lilo-an, Cebu

I hope that by joining this platform, we will be able to expand the support for rural areas and inspire others as well by sharing the same passion for the community.

11878888_868316676592286_9206285926459270148_o.jpg
Project LIBRO 1st phase in Amancion Primary School, Catmon, Cebu

1518222_565853650171925_721194314_o.jpg
Story-telling activity

The details of the program, its sustainability and how this project became the foundation of my goals and aspirations will be featured in my future contents.

For now, let's make this quick acquaintance be a portal to possibilities between you and me. Cheers!

Credits: Project LIBRO photos by @legendarryll

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @queenielee! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

welcome to steemit

Thank you! Have a good day!

Welcome to Steemit girl! Keep on steeming!

Thank you for the encouragement and help through my way here @ybanezkim26. I couldn't do this without you.


Welcome to Steemit @queenielee!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman


Welcome to Steem @queenielee.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchian works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

wellcome to steemit, dont forget to follback and upvote me...

Welcome to the community and i wish you the best in your endeavors with steemit. Your content is colorful and well written, Thank you for sharing and i look forward to hearing updates as your project Libro grows.

Thank you @wolfgramm432 for the compliment and the warm welcome:) I will be posting more about this project soon.

Hi sis @queenielee! I never knew that you wrote so well. I hope you'll share more of your passions on this platform. Now that you're here, I will send to you the SBDs that my post about project Libro had accumulated. When time permits, you can count on my full support for the project :)

Hi sis @thegaillery! Wow, this is a huge compliment coming from you. I appreciate your support for Project LIBRO. Let us keep working together to spread this passion for the community.

welcome to the community!!! can't wait to see your future posts! :)

Thank you for your warm welcome and kindwords!

Welcome to Steemit @queenielee. I really appreciate what you are doing for the kids. Indeed, we should introduce to children the love for reading. That's one of the best things we can do for them 😀

Exactly, @raquelita. One primary goal of the project is to develop the reading comprehension of the students. With this, we believe students can transcend farther.

Welcome to Steemit, @queenielee!

Wow, I am so impressed by everything that you are doing. The fact that you are a chemical engineer is really neat and I would love to hear more about it. Still finding time for physical activities is such a wonderful thing. I think that project LIBRO is absolutely incredible. What a beautiful thing to see those children enjoying the books! As part of @greetersguild, I have chosen you as an Up and Coming Steemian. We do this as a way to help new users that bring great content to Steemit, hopefully get seen quicker and grow like they deserve. If you are okay with it I would like to write a post about you as an Up and Coming Steemian, it will then be seen by others involved in the @greetersguild and through the power of the community, we will help support you every step of the way. If you need any help here on Steemit feel free to ask me. Anytime you feel you have written a quality post that deserves to be seen, you can use the tags #greetersguild and #newbieresteemday. This will allow other users involved to find your post as well and share even more encouragement to you. You can also check out a post I have written for new users, every Tuesday I will be sharing active contest that I have found on Steemit. By joining contest, it is a good way to get some exposure and help you learn,earn and grow here on Steemit. You can click here to see the contest. Keep up the great work and i'm looking forward to your future post! :)

@magicalmoonlight

Hi @magicalmoonlight! This is so much for my first content here. I am honored to be chosen and very open to this opportunity. Keep in touch with me. Thank you!

I have written my post for you as the Up and Coming Steemian. I hope that it brings exposure to you and Project Libro. Keep up the great work! To check out the post please click the link below

https://steemit.com/newbieresteemday/@magicalmoonlight/project-libro-must-see-up-an-coming-steemian-queenielee

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61769.55
ETH 2910.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64