Quilty introduction (Quality Quilty time)

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

My alias is Quilty. It is actually the first true nickname someone had ever given me and I love it! For the record, I do not actually quilt, but my friend did not know the difference between various hobbies. I was crocheting every time he saw me and started calling me Quilty. If you’ve ever met me, I will respond to any name so long as they are not insulting.That nickname stuck with the group and made me chuckle. Now it is nickname and alias.

As I ponder about the key components that should be shared online to reflect me, I have 3 kids fight/playing with their laundry (one is bathing making 4 kids total along with 1 fur baby). Life is crazy as I am a single parent with their dad kind of in the picture for them. Maybe he’ll be a half-time parent one day, but I’m not holding my breath. In the meantime I do what I need to try to raise healthy and balanced kids. They are still well loved by their grandparents/aunts/uncles/cousins, they enjoy their charter school, and have a good support network.
20161018_111350.jpg

((Seriously how could you resist that face?!))

I say this because writing is a challenge for me. I enjoy it a lot. With a good piece, I can find flow in writing and it energizes me. The challenge is having thoughts that do not have sudden disruptions that break the thought process I had going, and that jarring disruption actually frustrates me. Needless to say, I tend to wait until their bedtime to sit and try to write, but then I’m tired. It’s a fun balancing act ;) Today I utilize noise-canceling headphones and they have free-time which I might regret later. Lol.

Onto who the person is behind the Quilty. I enjoy the great outdoors, I’m introverted generally, I crochet, I do DIY projects, brain puzzles, jigsaw puzzles, I read, write (usually roleplaying fiction), tabletop RPG’s like D&D/ShadowRun, I am good with PC games, decent at PS, good with the Wii, build PC’s, fix family’s PC’s, European style board games, break Linux in attempt to use it, dabble in photo editing, and I volunteer. On the rare occasion I watch TV or movies, I enjoy Marvel/DC based shows usually, action, Doctor Who (HUGE FAN <3), Firefly, LOTR, Gilmore Girls, Phantom of the Opera, musicals, and fantasy-based lore. People come to me with questions about fantasy lore because I tend to be able to at least point them the right direction.
20170330_204813.jpg
((All of my favorite phone wallpapers as a collage))

For those who care, I have an AA in Early Childhood Education, a BS in Applied Psych and a minor in Elementary Education. With both of those I graduated Cum Laude. My career path is IT actually, because I did not want to teach in public schools (long story). With that being said, INTJ from Myers Briggs was a decent summary (yes that is what I tested as but it was a free version), but I do not like to box myself into a description. To add to my description is that I am Messianic, but not dogmatic. I have my own opinions about what I believe, but that is the closest label for how I live. I eat kosher, I believe in Yeshua, and I celebrate holidays out of the Old Testament (Tanak as some say). In general, I do not debate religion because of many negative experiences. I do not mind discussing why I believe what I believe, but I definitely do not jump into religious threads of my own accord. One-on-one discussion where I can learn about what the other person believes is much more to my preference, and that just does not happen much.

20170101_201905_001.jpg
((It's safe to show pics of my fur baby and she puts up with me xD ))

I am always trying to learn and improve. After life balances out a little more (a good chuckle is probably reasonable here), I plan on focusing again on diving back into website design, using Linux more regularly without breaking it, and being more fluent in Spanish. That does not dive into the normal goals I have of being debt-free, owning a house, and having 4 kids survive to adulthood. :P

I like to say I have copious amounts of sarcasm with healthy levels of cynicism and optimism. I joke, memes abound in my day, and I try to go with the flow since the unexpected will always make an entrance. Feel free to ask whatever questions you would like about me. I try to be straight-forward, and it is not that easy to upset me.
sarcasm.jpg

Sort:  

Welcome on board from south of you :)

Thanks and I think that means you have warmer weather. We had snow in May. Crazy state. lol

Welcome to the Steemit community. :) Sent you a follow

I appreciate it. Thank you so much ^^;

Your welcome :)

Glad you finally got around to joining steemit since I spoke to you about it back in September or whenever that annual company meeting was where we actually SEE people. Work at home jobs are nice in some ways. :)

I joined within a week or so of our discussion but then sat on it lol. I could not find regular time to write. Then it was overthinking what I was going to say, and so on. ^_^ I'm glad I just bit the bullet today. Life has felt less chaotic lately as things have come together in my life.

Some people make good money here talking about the chaos in their life. It's a cool community.

Great introduction, welcome to steemit. You sound like you will fit right in.

Your pooch is soooo cute!

Thank you. She is a ball of fur and energy lol. We're working on the 'not barking all the time' part, but she is a very happy dog. I look forward to reading more that is out there.

Welcome to Steemit!

Thank you very much!

Welcome to the family :) :) And I love fantasy movies too! And a huge Gilmore Girls fan!

Thank you! I have been obsessively trying to get through the original GG series finally (in order yay!) so that I can watch the new stuff. Love the humor! I look forward to meeting more of the community.

Upvoted because pupper.

Welcome to Steemit, Q.

Thank you for the greeting and upvote ^_^

to steemit @quilty!

I look forward to your posts as I have Followed and upvoted. Please follow back. Cheers



Starsteem Out


STEEMON!!!

Will do. Thank you! Jurassic Park GIF is definitely my favorite. Lol.

Welcome to Steemit Quilty! I hope you will enjoy it as much as I do. See you around! :-)

Welcome to the community! Follow me at https://steemit.com/@bitgeek

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63088.03
ETH 2952.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55