In-True-Duction

**Hey, Steemit! **

I’m not really good at introducing myself—personally or virtually—but here goes nothing.

I am Arlin Salonga, using the pseudonym Rapunchill. I was supposed to use ellipsis but sadly, someone already took it so I had to use a backup which is actually my username in one of my personal social media accounts. Rapunchill, the name, was born because if there’s one animated movie I won’t get tired of watching for infinite hours, it will be Disney’s Tangled.

Rapunzel is such a brave and talented and carefree yet so loving character. She’s someone I admire and aspire to be. (But my heart will always have a special place for Ariel the Little Mermaid! BECAUSE MERMAIDS ARE SUPER COOL. AM I RIGHT? I AM RIGHT.) And theeeeen, Chill is an OC that I created way back 2016, I think. It actually fits when I inserted it to change Rapunzel to Rapunchill. And I think that’s pretty cool. (Pun intended. HAHAHA.)

But the person behind Rapunchill does not really fall far from its namesake. Arlin Salonga, the 17-year-old-student, an incoming freshmen taking up AB Communications, who wants to improve every dang book in her country by correcting the grammatical mistakes though she makes mistakes sometimes, struggles to reach her dream of becoming the best poetess version of herself.

image

I’m just like Rapunzel, you know. Or at least, I have learnt to be like her. Brave—as I take risks and try stuff that I truly am not used to. Like this one: a community that can inspire and understand me. I have never tried to be in one but look at where I am. Typing away an introduction; hoping that somehow, in some way, I get to inspire others, too, as I share my writings.

Talented—or at least that’s what they tell me. Yes, I do write stories and poems. I actually perform my own spoken word poetry pieces. I can also sing, but I don’t really believe (in myself, at least) that I have a great voice. I am very talented in eating, though. HAHAHA! I’m kidding. Really. Anyway, other things that I believe I'm good at sometimes are calligraphy and taking pictures. Here are some examples:

CALLIGRAPHY

image
image
image
image

POETRY

image

PHOTOGRAPHY

image
image
image
image
image

Carefree—because I procrastinate. A lot. Unless of course, an inspiration strikes me so I have to write immediately or else I’ll forget it. But yeah, there are times that lying down, just thinking, even if it’s stressfully, is just the perfect way to spend the day. At least until the deadline looms in. Yeesh.

Loving—I believe that I am still a loving person even though I hate being surrounded by too many or too loud people. Though I myself can be annoying at times. Thankfully, those who are around me are understanding and supportive of who I am and what I do. Here are their pictures!

MY EVER SUPPORTIVE BOYFRIEND

image

MY SUPER UNDERSTANDING FAMILY
image
image
image

And yes, dogs are a part of my famiy as I love animals more than people. (Hehe.) But my writings? They are meant to be read by people. Hopeless, anxious, excited, in love, mourning, every kind of people. Because see, words can carve and mold and break and build and crush anyone’s heart. That is how powerful words are.

So, I seek to make a difference. Even if it’s just three, two, even just one person. It doesn’t matter. What I need is for others to relate. To open up their hearts. To be vulnerable. Vulnerability does not mean you are weak. At times, it may mean that you are strong enough to show your nakedness to the world. Nakedness not in the body sense, but in the emotional and heartfelt sense.

I guess, telling you those is my way of showing my nakedness. I am young and I am struggling, but my passion is headstrong and my heart is a believer. To some, my pieces may mean nothing. But to me, they are my everything.

So please, help this girl reach her simple dream: to inspire and change one’s world by sharing my words. Your help, no matter how simple or little, means a whole lot to me. So please, please, do give. My heart will always be full no matter how little I receive.

Besides, what more can a small girl with a big dream ask for, right?

This has been Arlin Salonga who you can refer to as rapunchill, giving you a glimpse of who I am and what I can offer. Thank you for reading my lengthy intro! I know I said here goes nothing but change is constant. HAHA.


By the way! I'd like to thank Mr. @francispalo for giving us the opportunity to share our talents in such a wonderful community.


I hope you have a good day! ‘Til the next piece :)


Thank you!


I am rapunchill.


A student. A writer. A poetess. A dreamer.

Sort:  

Welcome to the Steemit Community!

Hello rapunchill! Welcome to Steemit! Hope you'll like the community here. As a start, here are 5 tips that we believe will be helpful to you:

  1. Keep your passwords safe: Unlike conventional sites, Steemit has 4 types of passwords. Each offers varying degrees of access to your account, so know where and when to use each of them. Also, make sure to keep them all safe and secure.
  2. Get Steem rewards: When writing a post, you'll have the option to choose how to receive your reward: "Default 50%/50%" or "Power Up 100%". As of this moment, choosing Default 50%/50% is the better option. But this can change over time. Check our post to know more.
  3. Upvote wisely: When upvoting, wait at least 30 minutes after the post is published to maximize your curation reward. Also, make sure not to upvote too much too fast so as not to drain your voting power.
  4. Know your Steem, Steem Dollars and Steem Power: Steem and Steem Dollars are the 2 main currencies here. Convert and power up more Steem into Steem Power so you can have higher values on your upvotes.
  5. Have Fun and Enjoy!

For a detailed writeup, check our post Getting Started: 5 Essential Tips for New Users.

Good luck on your Steem journey! Follow us if you like to receive more helpful tips and maximize your Steemit experience.

This post has received a 21.74 % upvote from @sharkbank thanks to: @justinashby.

Welcome and good luck on achieving your dreams and goals!

welcome to the steemit community

Beautiful person! I wish you the best!! :)

@rapunchill, I gave you an upvote on your first post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return!

Please also take a moment to read this post regarding bad behavior on Steemit.

Welcome to Steemit rapunchill. Let me know if you got any questions about Steem or anything related to it! The official FAQ can be found here and has A LOT of information https://steemit.com/faq.html - Also remember, Steemit is just ONE of the sites built that uses Steem the blockchain. We also have DTube - our very own Youtube, DSound for Soundcloud and Steepshot if you prefer Instagram like experience. I'd also like to mention ChainBB - forums, Busy - Steemit with more modern look basically, DMania for memes and Dlive for streaming just like in Twitch! You can also earn Steem by gaming now! Search for Steemgar if that's more your thing. Welcome to the blockchain! :)

Welcome to Steem, @rapunchill!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 2916 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemSincerity on Busy and a few bug fixes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17