Adventures of a middle-aged itinerant pot farmer, aspiring agorist, and sundry other things

Hi, everyone. I'm Matt. I live in Eastern Washington up in the hills north of Spokane. I moved up here from Albuquerque, New Mexico two-and-a-half years ago to get into the cannabis industry after I was downsized from my corporate management job. After a few months doing some work-at-home AutoCAD piecework and Uber driving, I finally got hired as a delivery driver for a local grower/producer. That was a great introduction to the industry, and it had a couple of great perks, namely an opportunity to tour the state and spend time with my sister and her family in Olympia. But I wanted to get my hands dirty, to learn the plants from clone to harvest. I was fortunate to land a couple of temporary harvest worker gigs and to learn the harvesting, trimming, processing, and packaging aspects of the industry. Unfortunately, it's a tough market to land a full-time permanent position. It's a millennial-dominated market, job-wise, and I'm just a little bit beyond that demographic. I don't want to say I can't get a full-time gig because I'm old, but I've been the oldest guy at every place I've worked so far, and three times now I've been the last guy they let go at the end of the season. Missed it by that much. Not complaining. I think someone my age can offer a perspective these whippersnappers lack. I just haven't been able to convince them of that yet. I'll keep trying.

I got on Steemit because I like to write. You wouldn't know it, because I haven't written much. I think too much. I lose my "voice". I need to do more of this. Just sit down, stop taking myself so seriously, and just bang it out. I like to write about philosophy, voluntaryism, agorism, music, movies, weed, and just doing what the hell you want as long as you aren't hurting anyone else. I'm an anarchist, I guess, although I usually avoid that term because it's been loaded down with a lot of baggage by people who like to scare you into thinking you need to do things their way.

I'll see more of you soon, and I'll talk more about those topics and more. More Steemit, less Facebook. That's my resolution for 2018.

Oh, and BTW, I still do AutoCAD side jobs. I'm not an architect, but I can take that masterpiece you drew up on a cocktail napkin for a deck on your mountain redoubt and turn it into a set of blueprints suitable for framing ... and, you know, building that deck. If you're in my area, I'm a professional driver, and I'll give you a smooth ride for a fair price.

Peace, and thanks for reading!

Sort:  

The Vote For Your Awesome Post Has Just Arrived!


This post has been voted with the use of SteemiTag. Feel free to upvote this comment if you’d like to express your support for our cause. Conversely, if you don’t want to receive any more votes from SteemiTag, please respond to this comment by writing NOVOTES.

SteemiTag is an innovative program that helps users increase their gains in the curation rewards by voting on posts that are likely to get high payouts. It maximizes the chance of a user to be rewarded through an accurate selection algorithm that works 24/7 and eliminates "no rewards" problem for users with low Steem Power. You can participate in our program by clicking on this link and confirming your delegation. Your rewards will be sent to you in the form of weekly dividends. Thank you and keep up with your great work!

Welcome! Upvoted and followed. From my experience, the key to writing is to start. Everything else will fall into place as you move forward and learn. Cheers

Welcome my fellow new mexican :) it is very rare that I actually find anyone from new mexico on here...so its very cool to come across you..and what a great introduction...I like you humor and as a medical marijuana patient I hope you share your insights..and pictures of the beautiful place you live..stay bless and Good wishes on steemit. UMA ~*~

I enjoyed my time in New Mexico and miss it terribly sometimes. I miss the smell of roasting chiles in August, fresh snow that melts by noon, and the huevos rancheros at the Frontier! Thank you for reading and the kind words.
Matt

Oh Lord yes...there is nothing like the smell of roasting chill...or the smell of pinon burning in the air during winter time...I never had the frontiers huevos...but now that you mentioned..I will try to...welcome .......again...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66439.14
ETH 3005.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68