I didn’t care that much about social media platforms before. So why bother now?steemCreated with Sketch.

I didn’t care that much about social media platforms before. So why bother now?

My intro Photo4.jpg

Don’t get me wrong. I enjoy pictures of cats doing funny things and occasionally, a video capturing those unforgettable movements of gravity defiance. I think it is safe to say that most of us have this guilty pleasure on our conscience.

That is why you will not hear me trashing any of the major players in the social media platforms domain and painting them with the same brush. Some of them have had a definite utilitarian value to me providing an alternative means of communication. Hands up, if this sounds familiar. Going to the loo, doing your thing while texting, suddenly a whoopsy daisy. A flawless toilet bowl bullseye. Now your entire contact list literally went down the pan.

The conveniences provided to many in our society by web-based communities are undeniable. As the coverage of our internet networks expanded we have connected more people than ever before. Heck, even a lone wolf type like me can be found here.

https://www.linkedin.com/in/pawel-skrzypiec
https://www.facebook.com/pawel.p.skrzypiec

The only thing is I haven’t done much more beyond setting up a basic profile on them. Why Pawel, you uncivilized brute? Don’t you want to be sociable? Well, being born and raised behind the iron curtain makes you cautious. Especially, towards entities that seem to be developing an ever-growing appetite for my personal data. I think Mr. Bill Burr is right on the money during an episode of The Crabfeast Podcast addressing this subject.

Of course, there is also the revenue sharing argument. I have seen quite a few of my friends spending relentless hours late at night, producing an amazing, fully authored digital content. Often after a full-blown shift at their day job with two hours of commuting. Sitting on their home computers, day after day till their eyes bleed, covering the cost of production at best. It is quite depressing to watch.

In a nutshell, two key factors: a lack of transparency and no direct means of content monetization were enough to make me somewhat indifferent. Lately thou, my biggest issue is with the power grab of the self-appointed priesthood of the internet. Platform access denial, censorship and demonetization sounds all too familiar.

So what has changed?

One of those stormy Scottish evenings I have come across some introductory videos created by these two gentlemen @jerrybanfield and @andrarchy discussing steemit. After a quick week of binge-watching their series, resulting in baggy eyes that could only be rivaled by Emperor Palpatine's I was persuaded to give the platform a fair shake.

I am not sure exactly what, when and how in terms of content I can provide. I am a jack of many trades. Hopefully, I will be able to start rolling out some “let’s play” and “how to” tutorials towards the end of this year.

I would like to offer my deepest gratitude to @jerrybanfield and @andrarchy who are leading the charge in demystifying the intricate workings of steemit for the noobs like me.

Ladies and gents let us hope this project will live long and prosper.

Till the next time.

Remastered_round_signature_72x72.png

Remastered

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit @remaster ...
And please try @DTube if it's interesting to you ...
Thanks ...

Thank you sudutpandang. Yes I have had plans for a while for a youtube channel but given that lately, Google moguls seem to be engaging in purging certain types of accounts I thought it is not worth it. I am not sure what the future of this platform holds but I am willing to give it a shot. :)

Yes, @remastered, that's a good plan.

Welcome to Steemit @remastered! Great post :-)

Thank you grobsop, people were telling me that Steemit is a barren desert lately. Well, you have just proved them wrong. As it is quite a while since my introduction on this platform and people are still commenting on it. hehe :)

Thanks again


Welcome to Steemit @remastered!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings!

I have watched so many introductory videos that my head started to spin. It is quite a lot to take in. Like any other system in beta it has also many quirky things to go around. I am grateful for many tips and tricks that come out of this community effort. Including your generous self of course. Thank you. :)

Hey, me too! I don't care about social media. My approach on Steemit is different. Welcome!

Hey there eniolw,

I am glad to hear that I am not the only one. I had a quick snoop around your profile. It looks like you have some Python content in there which is of great interest to me lately. If only I had Spanish at school.

It is slightly missing the point thou. I don't deny the utilitarian aspect of web-based communities. It is highly unlikely that we would have met outside of this platform for example.

The reason why I have not participated to any significant degree before comes in a form of a question. Why should I bother to invest time and money into building up my presence on platform X, if on a whim, owners of that platform can close my account, censor me or filter out my content just because they don't agree with something that I said?

I guess time will tell, will steemit turn out to be one of those going astray. In a meantime, I am planning to give it a fair shake.

Thanks for the upvote I do appreciate it. I will follow you. Maybe with time, you can have some of your content in English so I can learn a thing or two. :)

Thank you very much voluntary-io. This platform seems to be quite open and welcoming. Everyone is so eager to engage. But I think what I like about it the most is the fact that there is very little “policing”. You don’t have to disclose any of your personal details if you don’t want to. You can simply choose a symbol that will represent you. Like V for Vendetta in your case if I am not mistaken. I guess time will tell how the future of this platform will unfold. I am definitely willing to give it a fair shake.

I had a quick pick into your blog. I hold a small investment locked into EOS tokens. I would gladly hear what other people thoughts are on the subject.

I is good that @jerrybanfields videos are still bringing people to Steemit after he is gone. His rise to fame and fall from grace provided a great deal of drama over the past year.

Posted using Partiko Android

Pardon my ignorance @professorbromide but in my defense, I am quite new to the whole steemit universe so I am a bit oblivious to many events that took place in-between. I am quite interested in the @jerrybanfields story thou. Not for the cheap thrills. His contributions to my development through his video tutorials I value immensely and that will remain unchanged.

Plus one should always be able to distinguish between the creation and its creator. I remember when I have signed up originally and didn't know how to do even a basic post in here. It wasn't until I found his videos things started to make sense.

With every great rise and fall, there are great lessons to be learned for the future. I would greatly appreciate if you could point me towards some good, objectively done piece on how exactly it all unraveled if you know of such a source.

Thank you for your engagement and civility. It is a breath of fresh air comparing to many encounters which I have had already where people are basically communicating with 3 basic phrases. "follow me", "like me" and "upvote me"

Looking forward to your next article.

Till the next time

Remastered_round_signature_64x64.png

I would greatly appreciate if you could point me towards some good, objectively done piece on how exactly it all unraveled if you know of such a source.

It would be fun if there was a STEEM historian to pull together all the pieces of that saga for you.

Jerry was a very vocal and active user of STEEM for a while, but he started to do some desperate things when the price started to drop and his income was threatened. One of them was the proposed creation of a new coin that was the equivalent of a Jerry ICO. When it was called out as a scam he reacted badly.

The end of the story is where it got really weird. Let's just say that he posted a NSFW video about the strangest activity that I care to imagine. I've never watched it and don't recommend it until someone invents eyebleach.

Well, I suppose the golden rules of investing hold true. Do not invest at a level where you might be forced to sacrifice your integrity. Do not invest the money you don't have or are not prepared to lose.

It is a shame though. I think he would still do exceptionally well just focusing on helping others to grow on this platform. We are only at the beta stage and the floodgates haven't been even opened yet. Still, he has my gratitude. I was ready to give up in early stages. There was very little support and very few that knew what they were doing. Wish him the best. His content helped me a lot.

I think you are right that would be something unique. Steemit time capsule. Where noobs like me could have a look at major events and personalities that shaped the steemit as it is to date. Learn, if you will from the collective experience.

I don't know if there are any authorities here but if they are you should present your idea to them. I know there will be probably thousands of wishes and request going around. But hey, you don't ask you don't get.

Thank you very match for your help. I am runing out of steem. hehe :)
Time for bed.

Till the next time.

Remastered_round_signature_64x64.png

Hi, nice way to introduce yourself.
welcome to steemit. Wish your successful journey in blockchain world. Upvoted your introduction post. You can visit my blog @dindar

Thanks dindar,

I don't know why, but it seems to be much harder to write about oneself than on any other topic. Plus with so many people advising online how it should be done it was hard to come across as an authentic personality. I have decided to go short and down to the point.

I am glad you liked it. You are covering a quite broad range of topics I am sure I will find something that catches my eye.

Hey remastered! If you would like to see what the current trending content and topics on the internet are consider following @coffeebreak and @topicstoday accounts to make your personal feed more fun and informative.

Hello coffeebreak. Thank you, I had a sneak pick. Top post on your list is about Joe Rogan which is more than enough to convince me. Any content of that nature, just fire it in. :)

@remastered welcome on board steemit platform. hope u will enjoy and have a wonderful time. please follow steemit rules.

Hi vikasgoel1234,

You have no reasons to be worried. I am not here to cause trouble.
So far so good. It is new, it quirky and buggy at times but I am enjoying it.
hehe :) Thanks for the welcome.

Welcome to Steem! Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem and we upvote our users to help them grow! Please feel free to download the Android app here and the iOS app here.

To learn more about us and stay connected with us, please join our Discord server here: https://discord.gg/N7Et97G

Hey partiko,

This is my first day of trying to make sense out of all this. I am taking it a day a the time, a step at the time. I will have a closer look at your project once I am gonna get to nodes and witnesses topics. At the moment I don't know enough about it. I have bookmarked the website. Thanks for the tip.

Amazing! Thanks for responding!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61473.25
ETH 2969.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48