Returning to Steem After Long Hiatus, Trading Journal

Hello all, I joined Steemit back in December 2017, like a lot of other folks I imagine. I had recently started my trading journey a couple months before that and oh what a journey it has been to get where I am today. I started with penny stocks and now I trade options and some crypto. No I am still not profitable on an overall basis, but I am getting better every day. I no longer just buy things because they are going up, and have learned to suppress my emotions when a position goes against me, or when I sell too early. If you add up all my losses and divide them up by the number of months I have been trading (22 months) I have paid about 200 bucks a month in tuition to the markets. I have learned so much that I believe every dollar in losses has been worth it. I am trying to keep somewhat of a trading journal, so I thought I would publish the occasional entry on here just for kicks.

Disclaimer this is not and should not be considered financial advice, I am a novice trader and following any of my trades would probably be pretty dumb.

I have been experimenting with earnings gap fades lately, but this morning there were no good earnings gaps that I saw premarket, so I zeroed in on NERV because I was itching to trade something after the weekend. I was going to get one or two $5 July 19th puts if they weren't ridiculous, but the options were slow to open and the 7.50 puts had bids and offers before the $5 puts. Gap fades can be really quick trades so I impatiently didn't give the spread time to tighten (it was a 30 cent spread when I tagged in) and I bought into the 7.50 puts for $130 and immediately regretted it. My position size was way too big for my account, especially for a volatile biotech name that could do anything. Of course it would of worked beautifully, but I tagged out almost immediately for a $15 loss because I was way too uncomfortable. What was I thinking opening up such a large position in a volatile biotech name that can move very fast? I knew it was a mistake as soon as I did it, and although it WOULD of worked, I still think I did the right thing by tagging out for a 15 dollar loss. This is because if you are so uncomfortable with the size of a position that you are literally afraid, the position is too big, and it just as easily could of not worked.

Got out of my BK swing profitably, minutes before it plummeted for the rest of the day, which was mainly luck but I also had a bearish bias today because I think the market is topping out, so I was more impatient with long positions then short positions.

Anytime the last few days I'm pissed off about a bad options trade, I look at my BTC position for a pick me up. Currently up 33.96%, avg cost 8,311.14. Been buying dips and selling rips with a small portion of it, but for the most part I've just been buy and hold on this one. I started accumulating when it crossed 6000, starting small. This one is more of an investment then a trade...just in case bitcoin goes parabolic like it did in 2017, having a position on already will help keep me from FOMOing into it.

Rolled over my GDX $25 July 19 call to a $26 August 16 call. The original contract hit my original target of 150 at the end of day, and then some! I may be crazy but I feel like almost every time I have a winner that I set a target for, the original target always gets hits, but I usually end up changing it lower or higher…. maybe your first "gut" feeling is the best feeling. Not mad though because I was still in it, and only missed out on 12 bucks from moving up in strikes, but I pocketed 12 bucks too…. A trader I respect is predicting a major pullback in gold though, which isn't improbable considering how far its come….I might open a new NUGT put position as a hedge if I see confirmation. I'm planning on rolling GDX over and over and over until it gets to 30 bucks…if it ever does. Should I just pocket the 400% profit and walk away? Maybe. But I feel like gold is going to go further then anyone thinks it will…hopefully bitcoin will too.

New option positions
Bought NTR August 16 $50 put x1 for 0.57($57)
Bought LNG July 19 $64.5 put x1 for 0.62 ($62)
Bought TECS July 19 $13 call x1 for 0.55 ($55)
Bought MO July 19 $50 call x1 for 0.65 ($60)
Bought GDX August 16 $26 call currently 1.30($130) (In at 1.06($106), rolled over from $25 call July 19 (in at 0.33 ($33), out at 1.18($118))

Old option positions
AG July 5 $6.50 put currently no bids, worthless (in at 0.25($25) on June 14)
AG July 12 $6.50 put currently no bids, also worthless at the moment (in at 0.20 on June 18)
SQQQ July 19 $40 call currently 0.73 ($73) (in at 0.74 ($74) on June 20
PCG July 19 $34 call currently 0.14 ($14) (in at 0.52 ($52) on June 20
VXX July 19 $33 call currently 0.40 ($40) (in at 0.57 ($57) on June 18
MRO July 19 $14 call currently 0.55 ($55) (in at 0.34 ($34) on June 17 (originally had 2 contracts sold one for 0.65 on June 20
EVRI July 19 $12.50 call currently 0.20 ($20) (in at 0.30 ($30) on June 23
ORCL July 19 $52.50 put currently 0.20 ($20) (in at 0.33 ($33) on June 20 (originally had 2 contracts, bought the other one for 0.26 on June 20 sold it for 0.24 on June 21
BG July 19 $55 put currently 0.55 ($55) (in at 0.80 ($80) on June 19)
ENPH July 19 $15 put currently 0.23 ($23) (in at 0.45 ($45) on June 13) this one keeps going in my direction, but not fast enough to counteract theta. The underlying just got back to where it was when I bought it, yet I am down 50%, thats why Theta is dangerous
TECS 10/18 $20 call currently 0.53($53) (in at 1.60 on June 4)

LESSON OF THE DAY: WAIT FOR A GOOD FILL, OR DON'T GET IN THE TRADE ESPECIALLY IN A NAME WITH A WIDE SPREAD. KEEP POSITIONS SMALL ENOUGH TO BE COMFORTABLE WITH LOSING.

GDX chart

Sort:  


Welcome to Steem @renegadetrader.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchain works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

You can earn Steem rewards for reading and sharing your insights using our Highlights Extension

All the Best!!!


Welcome to Steemit @renegadetrader!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings!

Great post

The best way to learn is to write up a journal. Be rigorous and be honest and be ruthless. If you have a look at my profile you will find I have written (and posted) 442 blog posts here on investing and trading. I write up every single one. I write down what I was thinking. Where I learn is each time I close something I can go back and use SEARCH to find what I wrote. Then I learn.

And other people who read it also learn. Bonus is it gives you trade ideas.

Not going to go into specifics of your trades but I will add that options gives a good way to invest and hold for a longer time frame. I do have short term trades (mostly 2 months out) but not a lot.

And a trade idea you will see from my blog post today building on your GDX trade (I have quite a few on GDX too). Try SLV - lower trade price makes for smaller trades and it has lagged GLD and GDX - same forces will drive it.

Here is the discussion on SLV https://mymark.mx/TIB437 and https://mymark.mx/TIB438

Thank you, I have traded SLV as well, I love trading tight options with 1 penny spreads like SLV.

Hi and welcome here! When I started on steemit, my biggest problem was to find interesting people to interact with. So, to help newcomers getting started I created a directory with other interesting and or talented steemians to follow or interact with. Feel free to check it out at https://www.steemiandir.com I am sure it will help you find like-minded people. Enjoy your stay here and do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions!

Welcome to Steemit renegadetrader. The official FAQ can be found here and has A LOT of information https://steemit.com/faq.html - Also remember, Steemit is just ONE of the sites built that uses Steem the blockchain. You should also check out DTube and DSound for starters and if you're a gamer, Splinterlands! There are many other cool apps but I can't list them all here, there's just too many! But I'd also like to mention Steempeak, it's a better blogging platform that has a lot of cool features. The latest project you should also check as a new member is a palnet! Welcome to the blockchain! :) Oh, and if you're interested in creating your own tokens or smart contracts, check Steem engine!

Welcome to Steem renegadetrader! Partiko is officially the fastest and most popular mobile app for Steem. Unlike other Steem apps, we take 0% cut of your earnings! You can also be rewarded with Partiko Points while using Partiko and exchange Partiko Points for upvotes!

Partiko for Android can be downloaded here on Google Play and the iOS version is available here on the App Store.

If you have more questions, feel free to join our Discord channel and ask @crypto.talk, we're always here to help!

Thank you so much for your interest!

Hi fellow steemian, nice to meet you ! If you are interested in some Cryptonews, Politicals informations and trading tips follow my page so we can learn from each other if you want.

I'm looking forward to your posts.

Kind regards

the.libertarian

Thank you, I think it's great you do your posts in two languages. I am also a libertarian, are there many libertarians in Austria?

Thanks, a lot ! Thats nice to hear we need every man/woman :P
I would say it's the same as in Germany. Under 1% of the population.

Hey renegadetrader! If you would like to make your personal feed contain the top trending media and talking points of the whole internet, consider following @coffeebreak and @topicstoday accounts - And welcome to Steem!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71239.75
ETH 3686.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75