Hello Steemians!


Being a Victorian explorer and purveyor of all things exotic and forbidden, I have decided to join the party. The youngsters can’t shut their mouths about it: steem this, steem that, steem…

Today, my account got approved. Reading through the steemit.com’s FAQ, I have found out that it is a custom to write an introduction on joining. Well then, let’s start it!

You are probably familiar with my previous life, but you may wonder what happened after my so-called death. It is a funny story…

One day, I was walking by the seaside in Trieste, when something shiny in the water caught my eye. (Yes, I’m that shallow. Don’t judge me!) As I was leaning over to see what it is, I’ve lost my feet and went under the water. The currents were strong and I was pulled towards the open sea.

I don’t remember what happened in the mean time, but when I regained my senses I’ve found myself surrounded by some strange folk offering me a bottle of fiery water. That was the beginning of my new life.

Having enough of fame and glory, I put on the cloak of anonymity. As my love and appreciation of the local liquor called rakija grew by the day, my command of the English language has suffered.

Today, I am not a Victorian dandy. Today, I'm a Balkan boy! Instead of wearing suits, I sport an Adidas tracksuit with gold chain around my neck. My head is clean shaven. Instead of hair, I keep a pair of knockoff sunglasses on it. The horses and the long walks are replaced by a swift ride in my VW Golf, Mk4 - 1.9 TDI. Diesel power for the win!

So, here I am looking forward to meeting interesting people, reading thought provoking blogs, and sharing my vast experience. After all, I am a stern looking old man.

Richard-Francis-Burton-by-Lock-&-Whitfield,-1876.png

image in public domain

Sort:  

Hey @rfburton, welcome to Steemit!
I hope you find it interesting here.
If you have any questions, don't hesitate to contact me.
Good luck, see you around!

Hey there and welcome to Steemit.

This platform rocks and you can totally make a success out of it by following a few simple steps.

Remember to post content that's not only relevant but useful as well.

Steemians love useful content and it is a sure way of improving your reputation and standing in the community.

An additional pointer which is really great, is that you should always comment constructively with useful feedback - which is what commenting was designed for.

The more you comment, and the more useful articles you post, the more up-votes (which cost you nothing) you'll receive and of course, followers.

In turn, this further improves your starting ranking of 25. Another point I'd love to make is that articles should be attractive and neatly spaced out.

Enjoy Steemit and be sure to check out my blog at @imagendevoz

Thank you for the tips!

Pleasure and thanks for the follow.

Your mom didn't complain

吃屎啦你

Welcome to steemit, looking forward to seeing you around @chessmasterhex.

@rfburton you were flagged by a worthless gang of trolls, so, I gave you an upvote to counteract it! Enjoy!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69747.29
ETH 3747.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78