My Introduction

Hi! My name is Rich Turner. Retired Air Force flight test engineer, pilot, photographer. I love flying, traveling, and taking photos, mostly nature and wildlife but real estate photography helps fund these hobbies of mine. Oh yes, there’s also a motorcycle in my hangar that transports me (and my camera) around a lot as well. In late April/early May I made a 3500 mile trip to New Mexico and back to visit an old high school friend! With 86,000 miles on the bike, I'm not afraid of taking off on adventures with it. I'm currently considering buying a truck and a fifth-wheel trailer to go explore more of this great country for months at a time.

I plan to share more of my photos like this one of a Northern Bobwhite who frequents my yard picking up seed dropped by other birds on the feeder. This guy even brought his whole family around a few times a couple of years ago. This image was taken through my kitchen window!

Male Northern Bob White-01.jpg

Here is another photo that I enjoyed capturing last year - the total eclipse. I found out that the path across the US took it literally over my sister’s house in Missouri. So of course I invited myself up for a couple of days to set up my telescope and other photo gear to see if I could get some good shots. Unfortunately we had a light, thin overcast most of the time during the eclipse that sometimes totally hid the sun. But it would come and go and I was able to get images during the start and through totality. About 20 minutes after totality and before the sun was completely uncovered, the clouds got so bad I couldn’t see anything. The other issue I had is because of the angle of the camera mounting hardware on the sun tracking device I was using, the ball head couldn’t hold the weight of the camera and lens so most of the totality shots I took were all handheld at an equivalent of 960mm focal length.

Total Solar Eclipse-01.jpg

Sort:  

First of all I admire your photos. Warm welcome from me and all steemit community. Happy to meet you Keep on working hard. our support is always with you. Best of luck for future.


Welcome to Steem @rich-usa.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchain works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Welcome to Steemit dear Rich Turner hope you will love this supportive community and good luck for future blogs.

Wow amazing pictures.

Welcome to Steemit @rich-usa. That Northern Bobwhite is beautiful I hope you can take a photo of his whole family when they visit again soon 😊

Deleted

Hey friend If you would like to see what the current trending content and topics on the internet are consider following @stockmarketinfo accounts to make your personal feed more fun and informative.

Welcome to steemit @rich-usa.

  • Join @minnowsupport project for more help
  • Checkout @helpie for daily trivias and useful information
  • Join @qurator a good quality support project
  • Checkout @steembasicincome
  • Help us save the forest with @treeplanter
    Follow me @tuanis for random votes daily please checkout the report
    Welcome the new steemians. Have a great day!

Congratulations @rich-usa! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi @rich-usa. Welcome to Steemit!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66304.34
ETH 2983.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68