Writer, looking at new ways to live & prosper in the age of Capitalism

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hey everyone (Steemers?)
I found Steemit doing some research for work (I write/research about crypto and blockchain) and immediately fell in love with the idea. Facebook infuriates me, especially with its new ad interruptions in videos, and I find reddit too overwhelming and overly negative. I've been on here a bit, but looking to participate more.

I work as a copywriter (marketing and advertising stuff, but also some more interesting journalistic work) and run a blog and a podcast on the side called Own Up Grown-Up, where I explore the issues facing Millennials (mid-20s to mid-30s...though I stretch it a bit because 40 feels like the new 30). I look at things from personal finance to career options, philosophy and more. I started it in 2016 when I realized that so many of my Millennial friends, as well as others I met randomly, were all struggling to "figure it out". The current system makes it very hard for Millennials to get anywhere, and there is a terrible social stigma attached to this generation that doesn't acknowledge the real underlying problems—rampant capitalism being the main one.
I'm currently working on a book about all of this, focusing on alternative lifestyles Millennials are adopting to adapt to the whole situation. I'm an example: I work from home (or wherever) full-time, while trying to run a small online business to help pay off school/consumer debt to (hopefully) purchase land and build a semi off-grid home in the next few years. My big dream is to find a big enough piece of land to subdivide/share with others interested in doing the same.
I'm a huge book nerd, into homesteading, cycling (mtn & road/touring), travel, and vegetarianism. I follow the crypto space pretty closely and am excited about the future of blockchain. Looking forward to connecting with you all!

Sort:  

Is this you in the picture? :)

Yes, I don't know why it doubled like that. I tried twice to redo it but there's some weird glitch. But that's definitely me.

You can edit it ;)

Fixed - thanks! I didn't see the edit button

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66439.14
ETH 3005.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68