You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hi Steemit! Scott Santens here. If you've ever googled "basic income", you may have read something I've written.

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

I am a crypto-enthusiast who came from reddit too. I was a moderator for couple of early stage cryptocurrencies. Welcome here :)

Instead of 75% going to the poster and 25% going to the upvoters, it could be something like 70% to the poster, 20% to the upvoters, and 10% divided between all accounts on Steemit. Another option would be 70% to the reward pool, 10% going to STEEM power holders, and 10% going to all Steemit accounts.

I liked the idea. The blockchain tech is coming out of age. In near future, it is quite possible to implement a sort of UBI through blockchain. Other tech such as finger-tip id (Qualcomm's fingerprint sensor) with smartphone can help to reduce false identity. Grantcoin is a small step towards this idea.

I think Govt. may react or apply UBI at very late stage. But crowd-sourcing UBI can show the path to the future. Do you have any specific idea with blockchain that can help to build a crowd-sourced UBI? Or, is there any group working on that?

Sort:  

There are some really interesting ideas out there in the crypto-UBI space. Some are already out there, like Grantcoin (soon to be Manna), Circles, and most recently VIVA. There are those in the works like Cicada, Cubecoin, Musicoin and UBIcoin.

I know I'm missing some, but these are off the top of my head.

There are also some interesting platforms being developed around UBI as a concept. Personally, I'm most excited about the release of GroupIncome. Check it out!

As for my own idea, I'd like to see a cryptocurrency exchange apply an exchange fee that goes to every wallet on the exchange. It would be like a crypto-Tobin tax used to fund a netizen dividend for the exchange's users.

I brought up some of the Cicada ideas to @kyriacos on the post I had mentioned in my other comment, and I really couldn't disagree with the point he made. While it may offer some minimal level of UBI, if anyone can survive on that is another question entirely...

golem ["will?"] do this as well. the scenario about the mining is still sci-fi. heck it is like asking today someone to mind btc on their cellphone. the tasks won't be so easy to accomplish — and if they are — the rewards will be minimal.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 67082.24
ETH 3475.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.17