Today is My 420-Month Birthday and This is My First Post!

 

In honor of my 420-month birthday, and in effort to end my love affair with procrastination, I set a goal to write an #introduceyourself post today. So that is precisely what this is. I learned of Steemit from a video of Randi Hilarski that @kieranpearson shared on his Facebook page and which the Facebook algorithms deemed necessary for my newsfeed - so thank you to all the contributing factors! My Steemit #intentions are to empower*, explore**, and express*** (in no particular order, other than alphabetical). 

Brief History (months are approximate) 

  • Months 0-222 = I grew up in suburban central Connecticut until I left to do the college thing. 
  • Months 222 - 294 = I did the college thing in Atlanta, where I studied Economics and French, then worked in interest rate risk management for two years until I left to do the law school thing.
  • Months 294 - 390 = I did the law school thing in Boston, then worked as a corporate attorney for five years in New York City, until I left to do the living, learning, and loving thing.
  • Months 390 - 420 = I’ve been doing this living, learning, and loving thing - living nomadically so I can learn about different people, places, and parts of myself, and loving every bit of it!

Intentions 

*Empower - Though not one of my goals when I decided to try living nomadically, one of the best things that I have learned from this experience is that I can feel deeper than I thought was possible for me (like whoa, I do have emotions! Me not robot!). It was a surreal realization for which I am eternally grateful. One of my intentions with Steemit is to empower others to feel deeper and to do and explore the things they think impossible for them. I generally interested in doing anything that helps people care more about their whole selves because I know how damn good it is to care about myself.   

**Explore - Some of the things I like exploring and experiencing include: Food, Travel, Puzzles, Earthships, Synchronicity, Strangers, Crochet, Crypto, Consciousness, Learning, Language, Numbers and Rollercoasters. I will definitely read posts about all of these things and will likely post food pics and write about synchronistic interactions with strangers (and hopefully some other interests (like editing and resizing photos)).

***Express - In addition to empowerment and exploration, I intend to use Steemit to regularly practice genuinely expressing myself through various forms of writing (and possibly other mediums of expression depending on how adventurous I feel). I used to have (and probably still have to a lesser extent) social anxiety, the kind where your otherwise racing-mind goes blank (but not like meditation stillness blank) and where you long to be by yourself even though you love your friends, so regularly practicing genuine self-expression in a variety of ways (e.g., writing and talking to randos on the street) is extremely important to me. 

Hunger 

I have it. Now. Time for food.  


-Robyn  

Sort:  

Welcome Robyn!
Never seen an introduction split up into life-months - Nice idea ;) Creativity like with this will definitely help you in the STEEM universe. Good luck around here!
Greets, @theaustrianguy

Hello, Robyn, and Welcome to Steemit.

First of all, I'd like to congratulate you on making it thru months 222 -- 390!!! And on realizing that you are not a robot. (Maybe you can make one of your objectives on Steemit to tell others the same news. There are many people who need to hear that.)

With your wide range of interests (and experiences), along with your passion for writing, you'll surely have plenty to bring to this platform.


Below are a few basic points of advice re posting on Steemit.
1 – Longer posts are more lucrative than short posts. If you make a post of 20–30 paragraphs, it's more likely to earn rewards.
2 – Include some photos, images or graphs, to complement the text.
3 – Make sure the text and photos are formatted properly, so that your post looks attractive and appealing.
4 – Be yourself.
5 – Be interesting and informative.
6 – Create quality content. Steemit is intended to be a platform of quality content. (You will see many insignificant posts with meager content and no quality. Most of those of posts [called “shitposts” by Steemit whale Stellabelle] will earn few rewards and soon pass into oblivion.)
7 – Get online and start curating. Read various posts, comment on those posts you find interesting, and upvote those posts. That’s the best way to attract followers.

Hope this helps for now. Good luck, and Full Steem Ahead!

Thanks so much for these tips!!


Welcome to Steemit @roamingrobyn!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Welcome to Steem Community @roamingrobyn! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Thank you friend for your brilliant introduction.
I read full of your introduction and get you are so confident and obviously you have good writing skills. Keep it up. Wishing you very happy birthday.
Yeas you deserve upvots from me.

Thank you for the birthday wishes! Read/heard somewhere that "confidence is a choice" so I feel like I have to actively choose it in as many moments as I can.

Hey Robyn! Happy 420th Month! You and all your months have been featured in The Fresh Five!
It's a daily post designed to help introduce brand new Steemians to the community.

We're all here to help you find new friends and answer any questions you might have.

Here is the link, come say hello:
https://steemit.com/fresh5/@thefreshfive/the-fresh-five-for-april-16th-new-steemians-you-should-get-to-know

We have a new competition at the moment too. Here are the details:
https://steemit.com/fresh5/@thefreshfive/the-new-fresh-five-delegation-for-curation-initiative-help-find-great-new-steemians-and-be-rewarded-with-sp

Welcome to Steem!

Thank you for the feature!

Welcome to Steemit @roamingrobyn, you are indeed a very intriguing person and we welcome to the platform with arms wide open! I thoroughly enjoyed your introduction post and hope that I can see more of your work in the near future, as it is honestly some of the better material I have come across today while curating! Feel free to follow us @greetersguild to learn more about our community initiative based on helping new users on the platform learn, earn and grow! You would be a welcome addition, even if just to figure out some things and get a good foot forward ;) The Discord link will be below, I hope to see you there.

How has traveling been treating you? Where are you nested now? I one day would like to be able to travel and learn more about the different cultures of this amazing country. It must be something like a blessing!

At any rate, feel free to join us and tell us more about yourself on our Discord server. I hope to see you there!

https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx

Thanks for the link! I'll check it out. Traveling is amazing, especially if you like change, but can be tiring. I'm not nested anywhere at the moment, but currently up and down U.S. east coast. What places would you like to travel to?

Welcome to Steemit and we're so much excited to hear from you. Enjoy and happiest birthday to you. May the Lord continue to bless and protect you.

3Jo 1:2 Beloved, I wish above all things that thou mayest prosper and be in health, even as thy soul prospereth.

Thanks for the welcome and birthday wishes!

hello friend you can meet or interact with many more people in our discord chat at this link: https://discord.gg/FNcpp

Welcome to this beautiful community, apart from giving you an upvote I give you a tip that is worth more: "constancy and honesty is the best way to emerge in steemit"

Thanks so much for the tip!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70135.32
ETH 3789.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77