Why risk everything to be an entrepreneur?

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hello! I'm Rob :)

I've been on Steemit since January with my company account @hyperfundit, but now with the launch of @hyperfundit.com, I thought it's time to re-introduce myself as Rob the human.

I'm born and raised in NYC, met Iris @allsthefoods in university who is now my life and business partner. We share a dream, to help build people up and bring everyone together. That's how we came up with the idea of a fundraising platform that involves building a team and part of why we moved to LA last year so that we can start HyperFundIt LLC, free of all distractions after we both graduated university.

rob iris.jpg

LA is lovely but it took some warming up to get used to it. For starters I got into a car accident the second week we landed in LA with the rental and almost killed Iris. Thankfully the cars collided in a way where no one was seriously injured.

accident.png

I had a hefty amount of savings from my tour in Afghanistan as a military engineer and a credit score over 750, but we had the hardest time finding a place to live. We were "recent college grads" and "entrepreneurs", which meant we had to work and live out of Airbnb's for several months.

It gets better though, four months in, we find a little studio that would rent to us and I also wrapped up with the web development around that time. I graduated with a Project Management degree so I knew nothing about programming and web development. While the website functioned, it looked like crap. Iris studied Corporate Communications, but has a personal interest in design, so she gave it a makeover as we were settling into our new home.

I had asked many people many questions about my concept before I was convinced to make it into a company; but when I started talking to potential clients to actually use the fundraising platform that Iris and I had built, we found that while they love the concept, they don't want to spend the time and energy working with a startup.

It was painful and this dragged on for months while my savings was depleting. We went back and forth between should we get a job? Part-time maybe? Or keep putting all of our energy into HyperFundIt and make this work? Eventually, Iris got a part-time and I kept working on HyperFundIt full time.

Towards the end of the year, we were close. I had two business owners who were really interested in starting a campaign, one even submitted a campaign, and we went back and forth strategizing how to best make the campaign successful. Then she went on a business trip and I haven't heard from her since. Of course Iris and I were torn. I felt like such a failure.

It wasn't until January of this year, did we stumble upon Steemit. In February, we attended a Steemit Meetup which led us to read up on the Steem blockchain and posts by Steemians. The more we read, the more we felt inclined to service the Steemit community so in March we made the move to focus on helping Steem projects get funded.

steemit hyperfundit beta 500px.png

Since entering the space, we have built a wonderful team and we're happy that people who agree with our mission have begun gravitating towards us. We are really thankful and excited for what we can accomplish and the future that we can create together!

Despite all the time, energy, and money that I've put into developing the hyperfundit external website, I've decided to move the entire site to @hyperfundit.com to make life easier for you because this way you no longer need to leave the steemit.com domain to support campaigns.

The whole process and experience is now more streamlined and ultimately I believe this move will help the project creators raise more funding. It’s been a long and worrisome year, but I’m happy we’re finally starting to realize the vision we had in mind and are making progress with our mission in helping build people up and bringing everyone together.

With what little savings we have left, we’re still trying our best to make rent, to sustain our operations with HyperFundIt and make a difference in the world. With the launch of @hyperfundit.com, this marks a new beginning and on that note, I'd like to share with you that I’m going to launch two new initiatives in the next 30 days, so stay tuned! :D

Happy Steeming!

robert casual 100px.png @robchen

Do you want to continuously support project creators? Follow @hyperfundit.com’s curation trail.

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit!
I am a bot built for the purposes of welcoming new users! You are receiving this message as you have used the #introduceyourself tag! I know that steemit may seem very overwhelming to you right now but don't worry. There's a learning curve to everything so just be patient and you'll be churning out posts and becoming a part of something great in no time!

Also if there are any questions that you may have, then just ask your questions on any of my blog posts and I'll be more than happy to assist you with whatever questions you may have! I will also be creating a basic starting out guide for all minnows and newcomers on my blog so do give it a read as that might help answer many of your questions!

Have fun and I wish you LOADS of success on here! :)

Also. you can call upon originalworks whenever something you post is your own content like this: @originalworks

Regards
@welcome-to-steem

Hello @robchen! I am glad with your presence in Steemit. I wish you the best! Hope you gonna have fun with our community and see you soon!!!

Hello welcome to steemit!! it's really nice to have you here enjoy the platform and explore the community.....wish you all the best.

thank you! i appreciate the warm welcome :)

Welcome, robchen! I wish you the best journey here in this loving and caring community :) Life is Good

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

Congratulations @robchen! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Follow me, upvote and reply to this comment if you want me to upvote and resteem your post to my 36,500+ followers. https://steemit.com/@a-0-0

I was once in NYC and my dad is from LA and I'm from Oregon. And risk is worth it in life as it is better than regret later on in life. I'm Oatmeal. Nice to meet you.

Couldn't agree more! A risk is an experience at its worst, but a success story at its best! Nice to meet you too :)


Welcome to Steemit @robchen!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Welcome to Steemit, I hope you like it here very much, I followed you, I hope this is mutual ;) A lot of interesting things ahead, good luck!

Thank you my friend! :) Loving it so far!

You have a fascinating blog and articulate really well :)

Welcome, Rob! Great to have you here, friend. And awesome to hear you are helping people! Keep on rockin' Followed ;)

You got it, I will be doing my best! Really cool content on your blog btw :)

Thank you for your visit! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66256.11
ETH 3036.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73