Introducing myself

A bit overdue, here’s my introduceyourself post.
intro_img_steem_ws.jpg
Me cowardly evading the Danish winter in Portugal.

Greetings Steemit!
I have had a fleeting interest in Bitcoin and other cryptocurrency for several years now. 5-6 years ago, I even downloaded a Bitcoin mining program, but sadly I lost interest in it after a while of running in the background with no apparent results.

The growth of Bitcoin to become a viable monetary solution on the web inspired me, especially in the aftermath of the financial crisis of 2008 where my last shred of confidence in the banking system was utterly obliterated. I saw Bitcoin as a way to circumvent the banks and give at least some power back to people. Maybe I was naïve.

The rise of the altcoins at first baffled me, until I investigated them and found a lot of creative and potentially useful ways in which they utilized the blockchain technology. Here Ethereum was something I saw as having a great potential (and still see).

The result was also that Ethereum tokens (ether) was the second cryptocurrency I invested in (late summer 2017). At the same time I also invested in Bitcoin and Litecoin, using the n00b gateway to the land of cryptocurrency – Coinbase.

During the early winter I heard about this community and after a prolonged time of lurking and reading about it, I applied the 31st of December 2017, and was accepted 3rd of January 2018.

I’m not gonna lie, the idea that you could get a free trip for several months to South America or Asia has also played a part in my interest in cryptocurrencies.

About me:
IRL I work in customer support by day and have many different coding/web projects in private, none of which have really come into fruition, which is also the reason you’ve never heard about me. In that way I’m almost perfectly described by a Cards against humanity card: “I have big dreams but no realistic way to achieve them.”

Despite this, I’m am somehow still an optimist, who believes things can be done, that there is a future for our species and that animal/man/machine can coexist peacefully. In that way Super Mario is kind of a role model for me, he never quits unless he actually dies.

Random list of things about me:

  • I like reading books both science and fiction. In science I’m skewed towards biology and computer science though I like physics as well. In fiction, science fiction is one of my favorite genres, but I have a pretty broad taste.
  • I am usually late to the party. My investment in cryptocurrency starting at the end of last summer (2017) an example of that.
  • I love Star Trek.
  • I actually agree with Jay that Ben Affleck was the bomb in Phantoms.
  • I like running at least 2-3 times a week. And yes, it does make me feel good about myself, but more importantly it gives me more energy to accomplish other goals.
  • I agree with Mark Zuckerberg that in the short term, AI will bring many benefits (like reducing number of deaths in traffic etc.), but I also agree with Elon Musk that in the long term, we have to make sure the AI we create and improve are benign and do not share too many goals or ideals with our current political leaders!
  • I believe in the golden rule (that you shouldn’t treat others in a way you wouldn’t like to be treated yourself) as applied by a reasonable person, and that we should all strive to think before we type. This applies to myself as well, and I would lie if I said I hadn’t posted anything I later regretted.
  • I like bananas, apples and if I could figure out how to peel them, probably also oranges.
  • I like poker and chess, but lack any kind of serious ability in either…
  • I also edit at Wikipedia, when I can find the time for it.
  • I have an unhealthy love for marines in bunkers backed by siege tanks blasting away zergs by the thousands in the game StarCraft.
  • My investment in cryptocurrencies is at the current time just on a hobby level, and is in no way close to be able to support me financially, however it does give me plenty adrenalin rushes and rollercoaster rides!

Me and the web:
The best description of me in cyberspace would be a digital wanderer or digital explorer. This is both a good thing and a bad thing, it means I see a lot of what is going on around the web, but the drawback is that I’m never really deeply involved with any of said things or communities. But I see a lot of great ideas and creativity on display around the web that inspires me greatly and gives me many laughs. On the flipside of being curious I also see some very, very depraved “content”.

Why I’m here:
I’m here because my curiosity for cryptocurrencies was severely reawakened last summer (2017), and I would like to see if a community like this could work (I hope so!), because I really like the idea that users are rewarded for good content, but that the content is also free.

I think the idea behind and prospect of Steemit is really promising and I would really like to see how it turns out.

Thank you to steemit for allowing me to be a part of this, and I look forward to both sharing ideas and learning from this community!

Thank you @teamsteem for the recommendation of markdown pad!

Other good links to markdown: Adam Pritchards markdown cheatsheet and Githubs own guide to Mastering Markdown.

Sort:  

Welcome - Hopefully you will see the chance this time and don't turn away steemit if you have no huge success at the beginning - don't want this to be your second "BTC" ;)

Thank you for the welcome. No, I certainly will not, this time I'm going to see where it leads! :)

Hey 😀🙌 welcome to steemit! Enjoy your steemit journey

You can follow my blog @jofomaja on how to do creative marketing even here on steemit

I promise I won’t waste your time.

Thank you:)
I will certainly visit your blog and see what I can learn.

Welcome to Steemit! Looking forward to your interesting content in this platform. Here's a resource you could review to get tips to Steemit more successfully: Steem.Guide

The Steemit platform supports a variety of content formats:
original blog posts on Steemit, original photos on Steepshot, original videos on DTube, memes on Dmania, live videos on DLive, original open source contribution on utopian.io and original music on DSound to earn STEEM & STEEM backed Dollars.

Thank you. I will definitely check it out. I hope I can learn a lot and become useful to this community.

Thank you. I definitely hope I will love it too. And I'm certainly optimistic about it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60895.62
ETH 2917.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58