My Journey To Dance

IMG_3289.jpg
(Here is a picture from Team Fierce)

When I was 8 years old I started dancing in my front yard, I would see people on Dance Moms and YouTube and I wanted to do what they did, so I started to teach myself. I would look on YouTube for tutorials on how to do different tumbling tricks and I fell in love. I started taking my flexibility serious, so I asked my dad to make me a beam, I had seen gymnasts on balance beams and I had wanted to try it out, so he did. I was on it every day, we had a mattress underneath it so I would get hurt too bad, but I was never afraid. I would see a someone do a trick, then I would go outside and work at it until I got it, I would be outside for hours maybe even all day sometimes. I eventually went to a gymnastics place when I was around 9 or 10 my cousin had a free pass, I was sooo excited, when I got there, there was a small group of kids my age, we started by doing things like had stands and more random little things, then we went on beam and try to walk on it I remember I did cartwheels on it. Then the girl who was teaching the class had gone and talked to some people at her work then came to my parent, she asked my parents who was teaching me, they told her that I was self-taught, when she came back in she took me alone and she asked what tricks I could do and what tricks I was working on I told her that I was working on my back handspring, so she spotted me, one of the times she accidentally dropped me, she got really scared and felt really bad, but I told her "I'm okay" then I laughed and smiled, then she had me go on the bar she taught me a trick in less then five minutes it was pretty cool, by the end of our time there they had offered me a class on team gold which is as high as you can get when you first join there is only one team higher which is diamond but you can't get on that team when you first join, but it was thousands of dollars and my parents couldn't afford it. A few months later I started to look at dance studios, one day my sister and I were online looking at dance studios close to us and we had found one, I remember my sister told me "that might be your studio one day" even though we didn't actually think it would happen. By the time I was ten we went to this studio me and my sister found and they let me join a performance class, I did that class for a few months it was a lot of fun, by the time summer came around I did a summer class, I was switching classes very often, they had me in a comp intro class, they had me in a big class, and they had me in a class with two other girls, I'm sure there was more than that but I can't think of them all, After summer classes I joined an actual competition team!! You are supposed to do four years of performance then you can try out but they bumped me up really fast, they had me join a team called gravity it was an intermediate class, it was a lot of fun I really did enjoy it, we ended up performing four dances, a contemporary, a jazz, a hip hop, and a big studio number, then I did summer classes again but I was really sad because one of my favorite teachers left, but I got a new teacher he is also a guy it was really nice to have teachers like them. I eventually made it to my 3rd year of dance, this was one of my best years, We had the same guy teacher and I made amazing friends which are still really close to me, we bonded as a team and I still really miss them. This year my team was called fierce it was a really cool year, we had four dances this year too. I did another summer class and now I am here, the same level as last year which is kinda advanced but also kinda intermediate, it depends on the competition, this year is a great year I am really close with all my friends, it is an all-girl team this year, and I love them they are like sisters to me. I am here now where I have 5 dances they are really fun, I'm also in a tumbling class. So this is where my story ends I hope you enjoyed it. You can leave an upvote, a comment, and you can follow me if you want. thanks!! :)

IMG_3174.jpg

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @samslife! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Thank you, I appreciate that very much!

Hey dear
Welcome to steemit
You can join this discord channel to be taught how to go about steemit and learn business,poetry,art,crypto and get motivated,taught how to make good posts and comment...Meet over 5k+ members and get to make friends from steemit all over the world including where you're from--> click link
https://discord.gg/dKsHwVz
Join the steemit school on discord channel today

Hi, Sam
Welcome I read your #introduceyourself and its nice to meet you. Dancing is a great tag to blog in
And everybody lives dancing at least I do!
Looking forward to the blogs !
Blogging thats what its all about on this platform and this blockchain. Blogging is it, blog on and you could be succesfull! 🤛 and you could earn money. 💴💸💰
I love blogging ❤️ Thats why I am, where I am today on the steemit platform.
But be carefull with all your passwords !! Never give those up !!
For very good safety tips visit https://steemit.com/steem/@verhp11/safety-first-first-aid-kit-for-steemians-who-are-just-beginning-this-great-journey from Our fellow steemy @verhp11
The Steemify App I use is great, it is available in the Appstore and free, go cheque it out. I wish you good luck with steeming and I Will See you around🍀
Greetings from Brittandjosie from the Netherlands

Thanks for the recommendation, I'm excited to be here, Thanks!

Good luck blogging and have a great weekend

Welcome to steemit @samslife. Join @minnowsupport project for more help. Checkout @helpie and @qurator projects.
Send SBD/STEEM to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Send SBD/STEEM to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project, follow for random votes.

Thank you I will!

Hehe wow love dancing and my name is Oatmeal and been dancing too since I was maybe three oh yes.

Wow that is really cool! Thank you!

Your post received an upvote by the @illuminati-Inc music curation team and its partner @curie.

You may consider voting for the Curie witness; all witness payouts are used to fund Curie operations including but not limited to more than 10 curation teams (vote here).

Congratulations @samslife! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Hi, Sam! Your story is so inspiring. I read it with my daughter. She has just started her dancing way in CDM Dance & Music. It is a dancing studio in New York, but they also suggest online classes here. Now she dances ballet there. She says it is hard. Sometimes she wants to give up. But I try to motivate her with such stories as yours! Thank you, dear!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61979.42
ETH 2916.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63