Tentative Blogger's Hello!

Hi Steemit!

I heard about this community from my good friend and roommate and decided to join in on the fun. I love the idea of revolutionizing social media to be by and for the users geared towards valuable content, and not as an exploitative platform to steal data and overrun with meaningless bullshit. So here I am!

I’m a 19 year old currently studying physics and math, and as such I probably will have a bit of trouble getting up and running on here with any consistency at first (I’m very very busy). However, my tentative plan here is to write, first and foremost. I have a lot of interests and a lot to say, and I think this is a great platform to explore my ideas and have interesting and civil dialogue with folks about the things I’m interested in.

Some of my interests include:

  • Science and math (duh) – I'll probably post about things I'm learning/have learned and geek out from time to time!

  • Language and language acquisition – I’m fluent in Spanish and am currently self-teaching Japanese. I love language and the ways it impacts how we think and interact with the world, the different ways different languages achieve the same goals with different words and grammatical constructs, and the things that certain languages can do that others can’t. More on this in future blog posts, I’m sure 😊

  • Political issues – The political climate right now is incredibly polarized, as most people are aware. I hope to be able to talk about some of the things that are so polarizing in ways that (maybe) help bring people to an understanding, or at the very least to vent about the shit that’s pissing me off.

  • Spirituality and Philosophy – There’s a whole wide world of cool ideas about existence and life that I love to think and talk about. Blogging is a great way to explore this stuff and maybe come to new understandings by hearing your thoughts too!

  • General Writing – As a kid, I wrote all the time, and I'm hoping to get back into that at some point. So expect some kind of fictional work here as well: short stories, poetry, prose, whatever.

There's a lot more, too, but I think this intro has gotten a little too long. Thanks for reading, and I look forward to getting to know the community!

P.S. here's a little goat-dog-dragon I drew. I might post my art here from time to time as well.

IMG_0188.JPG

Sort:  

Welcome to the STEEM-Universe ;)
Since you seem to be into #science, I would recommend you to check out @steemstem - It's a science-society always looking for good posts. See @sco for an example, he has fun as a scientist here!
Greets, @theaustrianguy

Thanks so much for the suggestions, I'll check that out!

Hello, @sandpiper, and Welcome to Steemit.

As a "writer" with various interests, you'll find Steemit to be an excellent platform. I, too was a tentative blogger, and as a teacher, student of languages, editor, and copywriter, I realized that Steemit was the platform that I had been waiting for.

Not only does Steemit provide a great platform for our writing, it also brings a ready audience. And then it motivates the audience to participate.


Below are a few basic points of advice re posting on Steemit.

  1. Longer posts are more lucrative than short posts. If you make a post of 20–30 paragraphs, it's more likely to earn rewards.
  2. Include some photos, images or graphs, to complement the text.
  3. Make sure the text and photos are formatted properly, so that your post looks attractive and appealing.
  4. Be yourself.
  5. Be interesting and informative.
  6. Create quality content. Steemit is intended to be a platform of quality content. (You will see many insignificant posts with meager content and no quality. Most of those of posts [called “shitposts” by Steemit whale Stellabelle] will earn few rewards and soon pass into oblivion.)
  7. Get online and start curating. Read various posts, comment on those posts you find interesting, and upvote those posts. That’s the best way to attract followers.

Hope this helps for now. Good luck, and Full Steem Ahead!


p.s. Since you are interested in language and language acquisition, here's a link to a series that I've been posting on Steemit.

https://steemit.com/writing/@majes.tytyty/vocab-ability-introduction-and-guide-a-more-powerful-vocabulary-this-post-includes-the-intro-and-guide-to-the-series

It's the Introduction to the series, which presents advanced-level English vocabulary roots, as well as the words derived from those roots. I compiled all this info when I was teaching ESL in Japan years ago, and even self-published it in book form. (A great way to lose lots of money, real quickly.)

Now, however, I can present it to a wider audience on Steemit, and there's no way I can lose as much money as I lost in publishing it! Woohoo!!

Thank you so much for the tips! I'm really excited to see where this takes me. That series you wrote looks super interesting, I'll make sure to check it out and give you a follow! Look forward to seeing you around

One more point. Submitting photos in the various photo contests is a great way to earn a bit of Steem and to attract followers. Here are links to 3 contests.

@photocontests, organized by @juliank
Daily color challenges, organized by @colorchallenge
#tepchallenge, organized by @theexplorer

For entries into those photo contests, short posts are OK. But it's a good idea to add a bit of text explaining the photo, to give the post some meat and to make it more interesting.


And here's Vocab #1. Hope you like it. There are another 370 coming your way, every day!!

Cheers

Hi, I'm @edosweet. I stopped by to give you a warm welcome to the Steemit platform. I wish you good luck and many good things as you join us.

Welcome to Steemit platform, from all of us in promo-nigeria. Steemit is a beautiful place to be and we are sure you will be happy here. Get to know more by blogging consistently. Never be discouraged, seek for assistant when necessary. Cheers!


Welcome to Steem @sandpiper.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchain works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Welcome to steemit
Hey dear
You can join this discord channel to be taught how to go about steemit and learn business,poetry,art,crypto and get motivated,taught how to make good posts and comment...Meet over 4k+ members and get to make friends from steemit all over the world including where you're from
https://discord.gg/WaeJXmE
Join the steemit school on discord channel today and learn something from the academy of life

welcome to steemit
:D

Thanks buddy! Hope to see you around

Love your funny art and I draw too. Thanks for sharing, hehe. I'm Oatmeal Joey Arnold. You can call me Joey.

Thanks for the welcome and the compliment, Oatmeal (can I call you Oatmeal?)

YOU GOT FLAGGED FROM BEING A SPAMMER!!!

@SteemFlagRewards I warned this account to stop the comment spam but they never stopped.

Please consider to UPVOTE this warning if you find my work to protect you & the platform valuable. Your support is welcome!

YOU GOT FLAGGED FROM BEING A SPAMMER!!!

@SteemFlagRewards I warned this account to stop the comment spam but they never stopped.

Please consider to UPVOTE this warning if you find my work to protect you & the platform valuable. Your support is welcome!

Hey! Welcome to Steemit, my name is Aly, nice to meet you. I love your goat-dog-dragon, it's so cute HAHA.

Thanks! Look forward to seeing you around

Congratulations @sandpiper! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61745.50
ETH 2898.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61