The Untold Story of SatoriD

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

satorid.png

Hello there Steemit Community,

First I will like to Introduce myself. My Real Name is Daniel De La Rosa, I Am 33 years old. I have always find this whole question of who I am, kind of a weird question to answer. I can say I live Los Angeles, I have spent 7 years in the culinary industry, I am male and hispanic. Single, I like art, poetry and music. And then list my favorite books, authors and movies. But I am the sum total of this details?

I rather tell you a story about how I became to use the Moniker Satorid, what I am creating, and why it matters or does it even matter.

Ok so, how I created the name SatoriD. We have to go way back to when I was 17. Like most that age I was lost and trying to find my Way. The older brother of my best friend gave me this book On The Road. The Conversation between him and myself went something like this:

Nate: "What the fuck you doing here?"
Me: "Waiting for Gabi"
Nate "oh, that dip shit." Rolling up a Blunt "Want a hit of this?"
Me: "Naw am good" Me Looking around the room and checking out some books.
Nate: "You ever read Hunter S Thompson?"
Me: "Who?"
Nate: "Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas!"
Me: "Oh that movie is awesome"
Nate: "Fuck me, Ok listen up. I want you to read these two books. Don't worry, just give them back when your done. But fucking read these books. I want to like you Daniel"
ME: I look at the books Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas and On the Road "oh shit, cool thanks, yea I'll read them, I got to go, but thanks Nate!"

Looking back at that moment in my youth life, at the time I didn't fully realize that seamlessly meaningless interaction would change the whole course of my life. I read Fear and Loathing first, all in one sitting. I thought holy fuck, that was a really fun book. I wanted to read On the Road right away, but it was late and thought I better read it in the morning.

Jack Kerouac_thumb.jpg

I read On the Road and dug the scenery whizzing past. On the Road is a semi-autobiographical novel about Kerouac, a druggy, hard-drinking writer who goes hitchhiking around America, working crummy jobs, howling through the streets at night, meeting people and parting ways. Angelheaded Hipsters, sad-faced hobos, con-men, junkies, scumbags and beat down people. There's not really a plot only a bunch of amazing things, stringed together, one thing happening after another, in a indra net of the beat cosmos. He makes friends with Dean Moriarty, who get him involved in weird schemes that never really work out, but still it works out, if you know what I mean.

There was a rhythm to the words, it was luscious, I could hear it being read aloud in my head. It made me want to lie down in the bed of a pickup truck and wake up in a dusty little town somewhere in the central valley on the way back home to LA, you know one of those places with a gas station and a diner, and just walk out into the fields and meet people and see stuff and do stuff. I was beginning to realize that the act of writing can be something noble and important.

And I was never the same, I had to read more about Jack Kerouac, I needed to read all his books. When I got to dharma bums, I had this feeling that I need to stop reading and experience, I wanted to climb that goddamn mountain and wait for enlightenment. Also at this point I was reading Some of Dharma, Jack's notes of Buddhism.

Ever since then I have be on a endless journey, Alan Watts was a great teacher for me. I read Zig Zag Zen: Buddhism and Psychedelics. Started smoking a lot of weed and taking my fair share of shrooms. I found that Buddhism and psychedelics are together probably the best hope we have for an antidote to egotism and materialism, which are fatally destroying the planet.

But then one legendary day in college I ditch class, it was a boring lecture day. If I felt good about the class I knew I could ditch them, but only up to two and only if I was ahead of the game. I was in the middle of my addiction to Kerouac, so there I was in the school library. In the K section, looking at all the Kerouac books. I was like "read that, read that," then Satori in Paris, " wait, hmmm this sounds cool. Let's do this!"

It was something about that word Satori, its not Jack's best book, but perhaps my favorite title. It's just Jack riding around Paris in a Taxi, getting a sudden enlightenment about IT, as he fully experiences humanity race all around him, and the city sudden becomes alive and sexy.

But then came my whereabouts unknown period. After college I was wandering around trying to find my place. Going from Job to Job, working at a school, do I want to be a teacher? The chasing money working on commercials with my uncle, do I want to go after money? Living on my friends couches and selling weed and shrooms, do I want to say fuck it and just hustle my way thru life? All the time writing down notes, I always had my pen and paper. I never really shared my deep dark secrets, it was mainly used to process my emotion and the world at large.

Then 3 years ago happen. One night I read this article on facebook, funny enough from my highschool best friend feed, the same one whose brother Nate who gave me those books, a lifetime ago. It was about this new site called Minds.com. I went and signed up, and I remember, filling in the section to the sign up and then came to my channel name. There was something saying, don't use your name. I wanted to use something that was more deep and personal to me. And It hit me Satori! I have always loved that word, and I was like just add a D to it, for Daniel and also my last name De La Rosa. I typed into the field box, SatoriD

Like most things in my Life, I didn't full realize what was really going on and what was to unfold, and how perfect Satorid was for me. Minds lead me to Steem.

My normal tongue and cheek thing I say about Satorid is, that his a digital shaman, his business is in manifest digital dreams into reality. It came to me because a internet friend of mines was starting up a podcast, and wanted to interview me. And I thought WTF, who the fuck AM I!

But I was like well Daniel is not that interesting. But this SatoriD cat is! Ok what's my lil bio, so I can send it to him, so he can introduce me.

SatoriD_cover1.jpg

And thats was it. SatoriD was born and does take on many forms. First off Satorid is the creator of Infinite Imaginarium, an artist collective. But what does he do, writes poetry, does video and audio editing, writes, produces and hosts The Infinite Imaginarium Show, Psychedelic Sunday Show. Has done work with RU Sirius of Mondo2000, side note we are currently working on a series of Interviews.

That's what you find here on SatoriD channel. A moasic of Creativity, a lot of different stand by themselves pieces of creative content, but oddly fitting together, to make a weird, strange and complex piece of artwork that makes up this performance art piece that has become known as SatoriD. At least I can dream and hope it does.

I am very big on using the cut-up method, I am a remix artist, I have great fun mashing up things, playing and seeing what happens.

This week I think I want to focus on my work with RU Sirius, because I think we are doing something interesting. So you'll see some of my music videos for RU on dtube, I'll write up about the interviews, share my images and memes I do to play with couple of the ideas. Share the Infinite Imaginarium show with RU. So look forward to all that interesting and fun stuff!

And one last thing, does this mean anything, why should you care about Satorid. In a very real sense, you probably shouldn't care about Satori. But I do plan to have a lot of fun, play and create things that interest me. I do hope you enjoy them, but more then that I would love to have some fun with you and play and create things with you.

We can do it in the Imaginarium, or not. We can play silly fun comment games here on seemit, I am getting into some of the discord groups, to heard and share wild tales. I plan to write more about what the fuck I am doing. And help out in things I find interesting.

From what I can tell there are cool Poetry Community that I plan to have fun with and then there's Steemit Community Catalyst project that I plan to help where I can, and trying to be as awesome as I can possibility be!

1502466360995-fuck (1).jpeg

Thanks for the support and reading!

Please leave a comment so we can have some fun!

One last note, the image that I use at the top of the blog as a banner, is A painting that my artistic partner in imaginarium crime, made of me. Its unfinished piece that I remixed. but she just sign up for steemit @megboardman, please follow her and show her some love & guidance.

Sort:  

I've been enjoying your posts, i'm a fan of collage, and you've got a great style. Glad you're here!

@solar, you know those collage are something i really like, at first it was just me getting tired of using other peoples work in a blog, and then I was like what should i use for my poems.

And then now its I do the collages, have a lot of fun with them, and then am like well now I got to have a lil bit of poetry to go with this one. When it was first the words that lead to the images, it is now the images that bring out the words. =D

Greetings, satorid! I wish you a great journey here in this awesome community :) Have fun!!

thanks @cheneats! I do feel a good energy here, and excited to keep on creating and sharing stuff on steem

Welcome to Steem, @satorid!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 2412 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.13: A big refractor to boost performance.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99