An invitation to the curious.

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hello fellow Steemians! My name is Josh. My handle "seldonsplan" is a reference to one of my favorite novels Foundation by the 20th century science fiction writer Isaac Asimov. In the novel, the great psychohistorian Hari Seldon formulated a plan to save the galaxy, thus called "Seldon's Plan". This is my first post, and the beginning of my journey in the Steemit community. I am excited to take this first step and share a little about myself. I've been a writer my entire life. I started writing short stories when I was 5 or 6 years old. I continued writing short stories and poetry, and even attempted to write a few novels throughout my childhood. And I never lost the passion as I grew up. It's been the one constant in my life.

I'm 32 years old now, and I'm married to the beautiful @oshenalchem (fellow Steemian), and we have 5 kids together. We live in the US, and I work a simple day job in a warehouse. In my spare time, I'm a crypto enthusiast and aggressive swing trader. We've been trading cryptocurrency since August of 2017. We also have a large organic garden and 5 ducks on our 3 acres of land. We believe in living sustainably, and building long-term wealth through hard work and smart investing strategy.

My favorite coins are Cardano, Stellar Lumens, Steem, NEO, Dragonchain, and Electroneum. My current long-term portfolio consists of Traxia (TMT), Cardano, Stellar Lumens, and Steem of course! I am a firm believer in the future of blockchain, but I am a trader more than a "hodler". I am not opposed to selling 90% of my bags if I think the market is heading for a major retrace. And I am actually considering making that move soon to protect my profits from the current market rally. But I always leave something in the market to provide a line of support. For me, right now, I'm content with just holding Cardano and Traxia, when the time comes to sell.

I am an open-minded student of technical chart analysis and market fundamentals. I follow several different professional analysts and traders, and I get a lot of practice doing my own analysis and trades every week. I have developed a rigorous trading strategy for success, and more than anything else, that's what drives my trading habits. I try to stick with the fundamentals, and the proven methods of success. Since coming to crypto, I've learned that there is a lot of bad information out there, and a lot of so-called "crypto experts" that don't know the first thing about trading. You have to be careful in this market. There are too many people looking for a get rich quick scheme, and not enough people who want to work hard and learn the fundamentals of trading. And that's an open invitation to scammers looking to take advantage of gullible, ignorant people. Trading is hard work. There's no such thing as a risk free trade or "easy money" in any market. That's a myth that a whole lot of people lose a whole lot of money chasing after.

And that's why the majority of people give up on trading after the first year. I am coming up on my second year of trading, and I understand how it feels to take major losses. My wife and I naively left all of our money in the market back in January of this year, and we've since traded through the bear market and lost about $25,000 in profit. But we never lost any of our original investment capital, and now we are starting to build our profits back. They say that the bear market is the testing ground that separates real traders from pretenders. And I can say without hesitation that I'm not afraid to trade the bear market.

I hope to share my hard-won knowledge and experience with the Steemit community, and grow into a better trader and writer here. I plan to write on all kinds of different subjects, not just trading. I have a wide range of eclectic interests, and I'm happy to have a place where I can write without filters, and without worrying about censorship. I am thrilled to finally take the mask off, and show my true self to the world.

I wrote my farewell post to Facebook a couple of days ago, and I am committing myself 100% to Steemit from here on out.
This was a decision I made on moral grounds, due to the heavy censorship and rampant violations of privacy on Facebook. I was also tired of the toxic environment there, though. And the endless onslaught of corporate ads. You see none of that here, and what an incredible relief that is!

I love freedom of expression and privacy, and that's why I'm proud to call myself a Steemian. This is who I am, and this is what I'm fighting for. I'm a father of five, and I hope to build a better world for my children to inherit. It's hard to get us all in one picture, so I'm sharing a few pictures of us, so you can see all 7 of us. I could have just shared a picture of myself, but that wouldn't have captured who I really am. More than anything else I'm a father and provider, and that drives everything else I do. My steemit blog is going to be a little window into my ongoing adventure, and these smiling faces are the center of that story.

IMG_5326 2.jpg

IMG_5416.JPG

IMG_5314 2.JPG

IMG_5121.JPG

IMG_5145.JPG

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @seldonsplan! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

As you will learn there are a few problems with steemit, and a few people on steemit. Coming from Facebook, you may have hidden habits you are unaware of, just auto reflex actions. They will fade in time. Most important thing, is it is your vote, and don't let anyone try to tell you you have to vote for me or for this or for that. It is your vote, no one else's. Some people will try to offer advice and strategies on voting, but those that are offering advice will always remind you it is your vote.

Getting started is not an easy thing to do on steemit, it has gotten better there are helpful groups and people out there to help onboard new users and to give them a leg up.

Since you are a trader and investor, one of the things you want to check out is @dustsweeper. As a new user a lot of your voters are going to be from the smaller accounts, and dustsweeper can help prevent the potential of those rewards being dusted away and turn them into profit for you and for the person giving the vote. If after reviewing their postings you have questions I will try to answer them.

Enjoy your stay on Steemit, if you run into issue or problems and I can help I will certainly try to help.

Welcome to Steemit Joshand to the rest off the family
I saw your #introduceyourself and its nice to meet you. I appreciate the part in your blog about commitment. Thats what we need here.
Blogging thats what its all about on this blockchain. The best part is that you could earn money too.💴💸💰
I never blogged before I just write.
But be carefull with all your passwords, Never give those up !!
For safety tips visit https://steemit.com/steem/@verhp11/safety-first-first-aid-kit-for-steemians-who-are-just-beginning-this-great-journey from Our fellow steemy @verhp11.
The Steemify App I use is great, it is available in the Appstore and free, go cheque it out. I wish you good luck with steeming and I Will See you around🍀
Your value and input is appreciated!
Greetings from Brittandjosie from the Netherlands

Greeting @seldonsplan! Welcome to steemit! Hope you'll like being here :)

Loving it so far!

Welcome to Steem, @seldonsplan!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 3036 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.17.8 : Rewards and Links tabs on Busy.

Welcome to steemit @seldonsplan. Join @minnowsupport project for more help. Checkout @helpie and @qurator projects.
Send SBD/STEEM to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Send SBD/STEEM to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project, follow for random votes.

Love your photos.

Welcome to steemit...have a pleasant journey.


Welcome to Steemit @seldonsplan!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82