Hi, Steemit! My name is Meeka~

If we were to meet in real life, this would be the part where I'd shake your hand and flash you my most winning smile.

I suppose, nowadays, I could simply make a gif of myself doing that, but I'll settle for sharing my Steemit picture instead.

Photo on 12-20-17 at 11.11 PM.jpg
Why, yes, that is the book poster for Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets on the wall behind me. #GoGoGryffindor

So! Onto the details!

My name is Meeka. I'm 27 years old, and I'm...well, I'm several things.

We can start with the day job, if that's the easiest. By trade, I'm a professional musician of sorts. I studied music in college/grad school (specifically, I spent 6 years, tens of thousands of dollars, innumerable hours, and earned 2 degrees chasing a passion and a dream). In my most active singing days (not really that long ago), I sang opera with a couple of professional companies, gigged heavily around town, and did a fair amount of musical theater on the side. I currently teach private voice and piano lessons to students of varying ages and do a little side-gigging for extra cash. Once in a while, I sing or play for churches in my area, too.

But the actual day job is not in the musical realm. I teach at a school for kids with autism full-time. I work with the middle and high school age groups, and I sprinkle a little music therapy, occupational therapy, neurodevelopment integration, and behavior modification into a mix of math, language arts, reading, social sciences, physical sciences, and etc., etc., e t c e t e r a.

So I guess in summation, I'm a teacher. Ta-da!

I'm also a student. I'm returning to school to get my Masters in Physician Assistant Studies and become a PA. In other words, I'm transitioning into the medical field. (Because, let's be real, the starving artist/musician life doesn't work for everyone.) So there's a fair amount of educational learning going on in my life, too.

I suppose those are all the technical details. Hopefully, you'll get to know me a little better through my posts and various ramblings. As you might be able to tell, I can ramble a bit.

I do enjoy things in life besides work, of course. I've always been attracted to any form of creative hobby, and have dabbled in everything from creative writing, jewelry-making, paper and media crafts, needlework... the list goes on. I thoroughly enjoy reading (articles, novels, short fiction, poetry, and--recently--comics). I lose myself in movies and television shows (particularly those of the supernatural/magical/sci-fi/sleuthing variety). I listen to music avidly and sing along as though I care not if you're listening. I love being outdoors, laughing, and living life in mini-big adventures.

And as for the Steemit community, I have been perusing various blogs and getting to know Steemit and what it has to offer for the past few months. I'm excited by the potential of the platform and the sheer uniqueness of this form of social media. I am itching to take a part in it. So here I am!
Thanks and a shout out @jenkinrocket for introducing me to Steemit and encouraging me to sign up!

In full disclosure, I haven't quite decided what the specific flavor of this blog will be. But whatever it is, I hope it suits your palate.

See you soon, Steemians!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit Meeka , if you wish to learn more about steemit? Kindly check out @steemitguide for more information and guides. Have a beautiful day :D

Thanks! I’ll definitely check it out. :D

Hello and welcome to steemit, Meeka :) Great introdution :)

Thanks! :) I appreciate the welcome!

Welcome to Steemit! Excited to finally have you on the blockchain! Get ready for an intense ride.

Thanks!! I’m excited to be here!

Hey there welcome to steemit. This a good community of bloggers, photographers, travelers. And of course crypto users. You are going to have a fun here :)

Thanks! Yes, I’m looking forward to getting to know the community a little bit more. I’m sure it’ll be great fun! :)

Hello Miusician. I don't know if you aware about musician challenges here in steemit. I remember a few weeks back I passed across one for sure. xxx

Thanks for the welcome! That’s pretty cool that there are challenges around. I’ll be sure to keep an eye out for them!

Congratulations @serenadesweetie! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @serenadesweetie! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The new SteemFest⁴ badge is ready
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @serenadesweetie! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome to steemit ....
Happy to work in today's flatfhom ...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66996.44
ETH 3098.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72