Hi Steemians, I’m Jen – a Biologist, Scuba Diver and a Fire Dancer

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

FB_IMG_1516852529114.jpg

Passion turned into a profession.
Steemians, I’m excited to share my professional travels and explorations through this amazing social media platform and a great way to start is to introduce myself.


I am Jenina, a Masters in Environmental Biology and has worked at the Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR) for 2 years. The job I had there was literally my dream job as I had all the time doing things I love from sea diving to traveling, and even caving.


ME AS A PROFESSIONAL

BIOLOGIST

At DENR-Region VII, I conduct research and collect data documenting economic and ecological trends in the areas I am assigned to. I also undertake on-field community-based programs for project awareness and livelihood benefits while coordinating with associated institutions, offices and the local government.

Research and documentation has to be accompanied with travels and explorations. Bohol, Negros, Camotes and my very own home, Cebu - these were some of the places where I conducted some of my field works. Gee, traveling was fun, but what's more satisfying is sharing my personal advocacy to many residents, and that is to protect, conserve and appreciate wildlife and the beauty of nature.



PROJECT COORDINATOR

Though I had a great time lending my services for the conservation of nature through DENR, I eventually accepted an offer by Coastal Qatar last July 2017 to be their Project Coordinator . You ask me what project it is? It’s the seats for the 2022 FIFA World Cup stadium. I know its very different from my past job, but considering it as a great help for my family financially is already enough for me to convince myself to accept and embrace it. From Philippines to Qatar, this whole new challenge is gonna be exciting.



MY PASSIONS

CAVING

Grotty, muddy, cold claustrophobic places. At least that is what the majority of us think. But Im one of the minority having a true passion of venturing to these extreme areas. This is why I love to explore and study caves.



TRAVELING

For me, traveling equates to learning and expanding your perspective. Aside from the fun it has or the adventure it brings, it also makes you appreciate life and nature. Luckily on my job at DENR, I do fieldworks for my passion, so I get ready for each travel and it’s like “all expense paid” covered from food, transportation and accommodation for official work.



SCUBA DIVING

Discovering the underwater world is truly an incredible experience and completely different from land travels as it allows us to see more of the world. Scuba Diving has been a “need and want” for me. I need it because I am a Biologist and I want it simply because it is my passion. It was indeed a passion turned into profession as I got my license last year as an advanced professional diver.



FIRE DANCING

Fire dancing and diving – these two are total opposites but both are close to my heart. As a kid, dancing was a big part of my life and when I got old enough, I took it to the next level. It takes a whole lot of practice just to learn fire dancing, and mastering it is another story. You need to have the passion to overcome the fear of getting burned, literally.




WHY AM I HERE

When @jhon21 introduced to me this platform, I never hesitated to join because I'm just too excited to share my travels and explorations as a professional and as a passionate traveler. And when he said you get rewarded every time you post, the motivation I have just pumped up . Though, the thing here is I get to tell you my treks, post sublime pictures I have, and ultimately push my advocacy in life – protect, conserve and appreciate wildlife and nature.


So that’s it Steemians. I hope you support my future posts ;)

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit ;)
Two tips:

  1. If you are into science, don't miss up on @steemstem, they are a service curating great science posts and upvoting them big time!
  2. Make a video of your fire dancing and upload it to @dtube! I am sure people will love it!
    Resteemed you for some publicity :)

Very much appreciated @welcoming I love sharing nature so much and my other passions as well. Surely, I will share more interesting photos and videos in my upcoming posts. Thank you for the helpful tips! :)

nice introductory post @shinthesage, am an environmental biologist my self, i could relate positively with all forms of work you do in you base, seeing well articulated pictures of your daily activities at work and even what you love doing at leisure gives me joy, welcome to steemit....Together we will succeed.

Thank you @fredskillz! Am glad to know other environmental biologist. Will be posting more adventure photos of nature. Please keep posted and see you!

Welcome to Steemit! I hope you enjoy your time here. This is a great outlet for your creative side and you can find great original content from people just like you. I'll give you a follow because I also love scuba diving.

Thank you for welcoming me here and following ! More scuba adventure photos to come.

Loading...

Welcome to steemit @shinthesage
And let's share about your life ..

You seem like a great addition to steemit! I've assembled a little guide for new users, hope it helps! (@steemstem and @geopolis seem like they'd be especially up your alley.)

@Mountainwashere's Guide for New Users:

Welcome to Steemit! It's got a steep learning curve, but it's worth it in the long run if you keep putting in the time! Just know that it will take quite a while before you start getting attention and followers. The biggest secret to success? Keep posting high quality content regularly, and make sure to search out other people's posts, read them, and give relevant comments.

Tagging is extremely important. Always make sure to use all five possible tags, and to keep them relevant. You can always just tag something "blog" or "photography" or something else really general (so long as it's still relevant) to fill the quota if you need to- most of your tags should be established ones, though one or two less used ones are fine.

Posting more than four times a day can reduce your potential rewards, as well as turning off potential users. (I aim for one post per day most of the time.) Consistency is important, though, so you should try to post often.

Always make sure to attach a photo to your posts! You should also have a finished profile: Write a description, add a profile picture and a banner- neither needs to be a photo of you, necessarily, but you should have something- and set a website.

There are a lot of really good resources out there for plankton and minnows (new users). You should check out the following groups and services, they offer a lot of valuable resources:

@thesteemengine (Check this one out first- they're an extremely supportive group that can help out in a lot of ways.)
@qurator (These guys offer an excellent liftime upvote to accounts that post consistent quality content.)
@steembasicincome (Another lifetime upvote option.)
@steemstem (The biggest and best STEM curation group in the game. If you're interested in writing or reading about science, check these guys out!)
@geopolis (A fairly new science curation group, this one's dedicated to the study of the Earth.)
@ocd (A curation group that seeks out undervalued new writers.)

Much of the activity on steemit actually takes place off Steemit, on places like steemit.chat and discord. Learning to use them is a great idea.

And, again, the biggest thing is just patience. Breakout successes are incredibly rare on Steemit- you've got to find your way to success through perseverance and hard work. It takes time, but you'll eventually succeed if you put in the work.

Please feel free to repost this guide on the posts of other plankton & minnows you run into (though I'd appreciate it if you credit me.) If it was useful to you, feel free to check out my posts and give me a follow!

Thank you @mountainwashere. I am excited to share my nature and underwater photography. Please follow me on my future posts.

I think your comment is useful @mountainwashere! It took me days to finally find @steemstem which is fit for my forte. And niw Im having new names! Thanks

Welcome to Steemit Jen! Lahi ra jud basta bisaya! Steem on!

Thank you @ellamielle ! :) haha ana lang jud. Hope to see you in my next posts.

Thank you. Hope I’ll see you in my subsequent writings.

Thank you @andi87. Hope you will follow my upcoming posts. See ya

Welcome to Steemit! Have a great time.

Thank you for the warm welcome @abchro! Hope I will see you in my next posts.

Kakainggit ❤️❤️❤️
Welcome po! 😊

Thank you po sa pag welcome @pinay. I will be sharing very soon some basic firedancing routine. Hope I will see you in my upcoming posts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61769.55
ETH 2910.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64