Introducing Kevin Showkat

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

hobbiton.jpg

Hi all,
My name is Kevin Showkat. I'm originally from Stockton, California, was raised in a conservatively Christian home, and have made 30 revolutions around the sun.

I moved to New York City about 5 years ago because I had a hunch it would be my favorite city. It has been my favorite city.

I currently work at Spotify as a Product Manager on the ads team, and before that worked at Kickstarter and LinkedIn in various roles. In my recent past, I've started a record label and released 500+ vinyl records and tapes from some of my favorite bands back home. You can listen to some of them here

I'm joining this website because I think the mission is interesting and generally because I detest the effect of unchecked, free-for-all, attention-driven social media. I'm hopeful social platforms of the future (like this one) make it easier for people to have productive conversations by a) emphasizing real people, b) rewarding those people who contribute higher quality stuff, and c) crowdsourcing the decision of what to show to humans, not machines.

I love music and building products that affect millions of people in a pro-social, positive way. With that said, I hope to post some of my reflections on product, technology, music, and art.

See ya around!

https://twitter.com/kevinshowkat

Sort:  

Hi @showkat! Welcome to the wild world of Steemit! :D

I found my way to your post as you and I have been featured on @ma1neevent's recent welcome post. I thought it was super cool that he took the time to do that post.

I loved your 3 points about what your looking for in social media that's lacking in the conventional platforms. That's exactly how I have been feeling as well... To add to that I have recently felt that on social media platforms like Facebook and Twitter everyone is talking and no one is listening... I think this might be due to the context more than the content... By this I mean it's due to how Facebook and Twitter are constructed fundamentally and how they go about curating your content and information.

Anyways... I have been slowly ditching my Facebook and Twitter activities in favor of Steemit so you are in good company! :D

Followed you and upvoted your post. Looking forward to more from you!

Cheers! :)

Hey @showkat! Welcome to Steemit! You had some pretty interesting jobs thus far. I am a huge music fan and currently trying to get into music production just for fun and because I love music. Looking forward to your content!

Hello and Welcome to the Steem Community @showkat!

I would love to feature your new introduction post in my weekly curation blog if you don't mind!

You can also check out the @MinnowSupport Project, a community of Steemians on Discord Chat where you can interact, chat, network, and learn with other members of the Community! There is even a Steem based radio station there, @MSP-Waves!

welcome to the community. I am new here myself. Have a nice time

@showkat, I gave you an upvote on your post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return and possible future votes!

Thank you in advance!

Welcome to Steem! Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem and we upvote our users to help them grow! Please feel free to download the Android app here and the iOS app here.

To get more upvotes, please join our Discord server here: https://discord.gg/N7Et97G

Welcome to steemit @showkat. Join @minnowsupport project for more help. Checkout @helpie and @qurator projects.
Send SBD/STEEM to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Send SBD/STEEM to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project, follow for random votes.

Hi @showkat. You are welcome to steemit family!

I do some music. You are awesome. I'm Oatmeal Joey. Christianity is the root to our culture. It is fundamental. I play guitar, piano, and I sing. I love music too and welcome to Steemit.

Hello! Congratulations on creating a blog on Steemit, I'm glad to get acquainted! I followed you and will help develop your blog, but I want you to follow me too, let's develop blogs together! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95