Let me introduce myself <:D

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit!

I'm all new to this kind of stuff, but let me akwardly give you guys a brief rundown of my person.
My name is Blue and I'm a 20-year old game art student who just graduated! Woo!

EDSC_0865.png

I'm originally from Québec City, Canada, but I had to move all the way to Australia 3 years ago for personal/ familial reasons. Luckily, I met a whole bunch of amazing people who have helped my journey and made me want to stay. Unfortunately, I'm going back to my hometown at the end of February - but I'm one to keep connections - that's why Discord exists, right?

Truthfully, I'm one to try various forms of art, but I find that photography and 2D digital and traditional art have really been my two main driving forces. Photography is more of a hobby, but I really enjoy taking photos of my friends and animals I encounter.

IMG_1313.JPG

For example, here's a lorikeet I took while they were getting a feed on my balcony!

DSC_0431.JPG

... and here's a photo of my boyfriend avidly eating a watermelon.

Of course, I'm nowhere near pro-level, but I really enjoy taking genuine captures of people in moments where they least expect it. It either ends up being a really funny photo, a really good photo or even a mix of both!

As for the 2D-art part, I sway back and forth from digital to traditional. I find that the sketchiness of traditional is hard to translate over, so I fluctuate a lot. I also do pixel art in my free time.

I also worked on two small games over the course of my studies - one was a turn-based RPG game called "Komorebi" which means "the light through the leaves" in Japanese. Its art style was a mix of 3D and 2D elements - which made it really interesting.

The other one is something I worked on along with @lunaticmoon - it is a cyber-noir detective game called Lacuna. You follow Nox, a private investigator who has a special "power". She receives images of murders dated from the future. Basically, you have to solve a murder that has yet to happen. The art "genre" we went with was heavily inspired by Blade Runner and Akira - but translated to a gritty but colourful pixel style. It has been a bumpy ride, but we're nowhere near being done. We want to work on this a little bit more so we can release a small test build on itch.io

Here a a couple screenshots of some of the environments:

DPSoeDdWAAE74Wh.jpg

DPSoeDgXUAAWvrV.jpg

Leading away from that - the rest of my 2D stuff is very different. I specialize in character design, but I have ways and ways to improve. I mostly draw characters for fun now, but I really want to make a job out of it as a concept artist or an illustrator.

I really want to post maybe coloring tutorials, or simply drawing tutorials on here in the future. From what I have seen this community is super receptive, and just overall super nice and super awesome.

Girl.png

date_outfits.png

conceptcxolor.png

These are only a snippet of what I can do, but In a future post, I'll gather a couple of my favorite sketchbook pages and make a small compilation. I find that there's a big difference between my digital drawing style and my traditional drawing style.

Hopefully I can have a nice journey on Steemit, and I'm excited to meet you all -
I hope I can gather a bunch of helpful feedback and get better at what I do <:D (he's wearing a party hat)

Au plaisir de vous renconter
Blue / Skullyzard

p.s: Sorry for any missteps in this, my native language is French TT

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit!
I am a bot built for the purposes of welcoming new users! I know that steemit may seem very overwhelming to you right now but don't worry. There's a learning curve to everything so just be patient and you'll be churning out posts and becoming a part of something great in no time!

Also if there are any questions that you may have, then just ask your questions on any of my blog posts or in a reply below and I'll be more than happy to assist you with whatever questions you may have! I will also be creating a basic starting out guide for all minnows and newcomers on my blog so do give it a read as that might help answer many of your questions!

Have fun and I wish you LOADS of success on here! :)

Also. you can call upon originalworks whenever something you post is your own content like this: @originalworks

Regards
@welcome-to-steem

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @skullyzard to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Thank you! You too <:D

Hi @skullyzard nice art on the first pic! I like the idea. Keep it up. Cheers!

Ah thank you! I may do more in the future then ^-^

Looking forward to seeing more of your work.

Thank you! Hopefully you'll enjoy it ^-^

Welcome - great first post.

Welcome. Great first post.

Thank you very much - <:D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70958.91
ETH 3798.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.46