Traveled for 11 Years, now I sit and write for yousteemCreated with Sketch.

IMG_7671c.jpg

Hey Steemites :) My name is Sasha, I’m 29 years old and have been traveling around the world for the past 11 years. I’ve never had a “real job”, much money to travel with, or much of a home base to come back to when I run out of money. When I need money, I work any odd job, anywhere in the world, then keep on traveling.

I was born in Moscow, Russia, but immigrated to Tenafly, NJ (USA) with my mother and brother when I was 8 years old. I left New Jersey as soon as I finished high school and drove across America alone in a Honda Civic to snowboard in Whistler, Canada. After living in Whistler, I traveled all over the West Coast of the US, across Canada and through Mexico. I backpacked Australia, then lived in Utah and NYC, followed by Gryon, Switzerland. I came to Switzerland with $500 and found a cash job as a babysitter. After working in Switzerland, I backpacked through Italy, got robbed of everything I had, backpacked Turkey with almost nothing, then moved to Sydney, Australia, where I found work in bars and cafes. I studied at the University of Sydney, but quit several times before I was able to finish a degree of International and Global Studies. I hitchhiked through the middle of Australia (from Sydney to Darwin) a couple of times, and have spent many nights in the red desert. The thing about the desert in Australia is that you don’t have to look up to see the stars, if you just look straight ahead, you will see them all around you.

uluru 3 16.jpg

I backpacked from Bali to East Nusa Tenggara alone, sailed in New Zealand and the Caribbean, traveled and surfed in Sri Lanka and Morocco.

p1020992 10.jpg

3 2.jpg

st maartin boat yard 15.jpg

img_2597bbc 1.jpg

Then I completed a divemaster internship on Gili Trawangan, Indonesia, lived in the Austrian Alps, traveled through Eastern Europe, then lived in Nicaragua and on Hawaii.

happybday mama dive 7.jpg

Snowboard Bulgaria2.jpg

kalalau trail, kauai 9.jpg

The last full-time job I had was on the North Shore of Oahu. I worked at Roy’s Beach House as a waitress and managed to save about $20,000 in 7 months. That was the longest I’ve ever worked and the most money I’ve ever earned. I quit March 1st, 2017 and have been living off of that money ever since. I spent 3 months living out of a hammock and traveling around all of the accessible Hawaiian Islands, then traveled through the East Coast of the US before making my way back to Moscow. I crossed Russia via the Trans-Siberian Railway in August, 2017, then landed in a city called Irkutsk. Irkutsk is not far from Lake Baikal- the deepest, oldest, and possibly the clearest lake in the world.

dsc09288 1.jpg

When I saw this lake, I decided to stay. To slow it down and to write.
To watch the seasons change.

1 olkhon island 1.jpg

dsc06359a 1.jpg

3 dsc02536 3.jpg

4 dsc00576 1.jpg

I found a small apartment and unpacked my backpack, then started a project called Big World Small Sasha :). I made this site because I was fed up with people telling me that they hate their lives and that they wished they could travel like me, but didn’t have the money to do so. I felt the need to explain that it wasn’t actually the money that was stopping them from traveling, but something much deeper. So I decided to write down the details of my travel experiences and my outlook on the world. See this blog as an example.

The more I wrote, the more I realized that my blog was not just about travel tips, but more-so about values and an alternative perspective of the world we live in.

You see, not only is it possible to travel around the world with little money (if you come from a privileged country, that is), but, in my opinion, there is no point of living in one place and working hard at a career if you don't absolutely love it. Why not? Because you're not doing anything positive. If you don't like your ‘ordinary’ lifestyle, then you're certainly not helping yourself, and, let’s just face it, most jobs today are pretty useless. Most jobs just contribute to an unsustainable system that's based on the constant need to grow profit. Since money doesn't represent anything, this is dangerous for the well-being of our planet.

Speaking of the system, I also started volunteering for the Venus Project (see this video if you’re not familiar with it):

And a project called TROM:

In Irkutsk, I started discussion groups based on these two projects and wrote several blogs about them. See https://www.bigworldsmallsasha.com/blog

I also got a part-time gig as a hiking guide with Syberia Top, which brought in a tiny bit of cash and allowed me to see some spectacular places in Siberia.

0dsc05740a 3.jpg

0dsc02676a 1.jpg

0dsc03474 2.jpg

0dsc07903a 4.jpg

dsc01206edt 1.jpg

I spent this past October-November hitchhiking through Mongolia, so the first blogs that I will post after this introduction will be the details of that trip. The entire month in Mongolia cost about $300, including transportation to get there and back, accommodation, food, 4wd ride to the Gobi Desert, everything.

Check out our Gobi camping spot :D

_dsc9419b 1.jpg

I plan to “disappear” in January. I want to turn off social media and spend the winter on an island on Lake Baikal, working on my book with no distractions. The book will probably be called “Life of Sasha” 😉 You can guess what it will be about :). I can post parts of it on Steemit as I go along.

That’s about it for now. I’m looking forward to sharing new blogs with you.

Thank you for reading!

_1230565 (2) 1.jpg

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit.


Welcome to Steem @smallsasha.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchain works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

How exciting! I used to travel myself a lot and I am always curious to hear stories from travelers and I enjoy seeing their photos. I will follow you here

Great to see another TVP member :-)

Welcome to Steemit! You have taken the first step in achieving many goals here at the crossroads of cryptocurrencies, blockchain, and social media. Consistent engagement is needed to progress and grow your following and influence. I am currently working on a weekly post to curate new users and providing them an introduction to the ecosystem. I have selected your post as one I will feature in an upcoming post! I explain this initiative on one of my previous post.

There are a number of great content creators on the platform to help you on your journey. I have recently ran into a great post by @roleerob that is great to get off to a great start here on the ecosystem. As I continue to expand this initiative, I continue to find great content and guides for new users such as this post from @finnian who not only includes a great step-by-step process of registering for #Steemit but also provides great security and engagement tips as well to help you on your journey. Another great user creating content for new Steemians is @paulag who is creating community backed video series on learning to navigate STEEM.

Keep your eyes out for these tips and references to help you on your journey to becoming a minnow! It is also a great idea to follow some of the great projects being built on the #STEEM blockchain. You can see these projects here. Some of these projects provide you the ability to interact and engage within the community and have the potential to provide rewards for your engagement. For example, @actifit is a fitness app that tracks your daily activity which you can post to the blockchain and earn rewards for your participation. Another interesting project is @steemmonsters which is a digital trading card game that enables you to collect and battle with the community all within the #STEEM ecosystem.

Lastly, a new initiative has just been launched by one of our top witnesses @gtg to support new users that become very active and need additional bandwidth to remain actively engaged in an effort to build enough Steem Power to grow your influence and interaction in the ecosystem. I would highly encourage you to visit his post for further instructions. I wish you the best in your future endeavors!

Wow!! You've certainly been around!!

I am part of the @SteemitWorldmap curation team and it would be great to see your travel posts on the map. You can find out more about it on http://steemitworldmap.com. Just click on the 'code' at the bottom of the map and follow the instructions or check out the FAQ to get your post on the map. Hope to see you soon and that you will follow us @steemitworldmap for our daily #TravelDigest!!!

thanks, I'll check it out :)

Welcome to Steem smallsasha! Partiko is officially the fastest and most popular mobile app for Steem. Unlike other Steem apps, we take 0% cut of your earnings! You can also be rewarded with Partiko Points while using Partiko and exchange Partiko Points for upvotes!

Partiko for Android can be downloaded here on Google Play and the iOS version is available here on the App Store.

If you have more questions, feel free to join our Discord channel and ask @crypto.talk, we're always here to help!

Thank you so much for your interest!

Great. Thanks!

Thank you so much for responding! Please let us know if you have any questions using Partiko, we will always be happy to help!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello Smallsasha and welcome to Steemit.
You are a Steemian now! And your first blog is online. Better late than never, and I'm sure one day we will say those were the very early days of Steemit, so congrats! Whats essential here is regular posting off good quality blogs.
So start writing ! Tell us about your life, passion, animals or your work.
That Will attract possible followers.
Do be carefull with your passwords, they are yours and yours only.
Look up the free Steemify app in the Appstore Thats helpfull too.
Hope this helps for now. Good luck, and Full Steem Ahead! Let me know if you have questions,
Love from the Netherlands
Britt

Thanks Britt! All the best :)

Congratulations @smallsasha! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Meet the Steemians Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes
Meet the Steemians Contest - Special attendees revealed
Meet the Steemians Contest - Intermediate results

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62788.74
ETH 2974.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60