Introducing SMITH HOUSE to Steemit

HELLOOOOO STEEMIT!

My name is Zach Brown, I am the band leader (and now blogger) of Colorado based band Smith House. We're a folk and bluegrass band based out here in the mountains and we are stoked to be a part of the steemit community! We like to think we do things differently, and through our years of music and community making, we've learned a lot and written a lot of songs, and want to share it all with you.
9 SH.JPG

I'll just do a quick introduction of the band members in this article, and give you a little taste of our music.

First up, we've got Barrett Muth. He came to Colorado on a stiff wind, with some roots in California and Washington, but is a Colorado boy at heart. He's a literature teacher by trade but Smith House is where his heart is, like the rest of us. He writes about half of Smith House's songs, he plays guitar and sings, and he's one helluva poet.
12096050_10207815008596891_3739612740184653496_n.jpg

Next up is Julie Frost, our upright bassist. Who knows where this girl came from, she joined the band a couple years ago. She's been playing in bands since she was a child, and when we met her she was playing for a singer songwriter in Denver. We played a show together and instantly hit it off and she joined the band.
13729100_1043156889112930_8342729053602113088_n.jpg

Next there is my lovely lovely lovely wife, Brittany Brown. We met through this band and we got married earlier this year! She's a Colorado native, through and through. She's the only true professional musician in the group, with a Master's Degree in Violin and she also teaches it full time. She plays fiddle for us though, which she grew up playing with her family Celtic band.
12885896_10206893134861603_551959908368827553_o.jpg

Then there's me. I was born out east in Virginia but moved to Colorado when I was young. I traveled the world instead of go to college, but I've finally landed my feet in a career, growing food and helping people start gardens. I sing and I play an instrument called the Bouzouki, essentially a Greek mandolin, and I play harmonica. I write the other half of our songs.
10391011_708647315897224_7862694074630697807_n.jpg

That's the band! I'll be posting lots and lots more, videos of our music, our philosophy on life, etc. We were on the news last week, so for now here's a link to the video of the live song we recorded. Enjoy and I can't wait to me you all!http://fox21news.com/2017/11/05/musician-of-the-month-smith-house/

Also, here's our facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/SmithHouseMusic/

And our bandcamp where you can stream all our music: https://smithhouse.bandcamp.com/

Sort:  

Welcome, @smith-house! Nice intro, man... What a cool band!

Thanks man! Can't wait to get involved here.

Very cool! I enjoyed the music on Bandcamp. With all due respect, it's the type of music I can just leave in my car every time I go for a drive. I like the effortless incorporation of the classic bluegrass instruments and the harmonization with all the singers is flawless. Looking forward to hearing more!

Wow, thank you so much @scuzzy! That's a kind thing to say, I'm glad you like our sound.

Hello Zach :) A band? wow - lets rock ;) . These are nice pictures. Keep posting nice stuff - I am now, and I will upvote and follow you :)
Have a nice day and good luck :) ...

Congratulations @smith-house! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hello, you are welcome to steemit!!! I give you upvote now and in the furture

Welcome to steemit!

Welcome to Steemit. Looking forward to read/hear a lot about your music and adventures.

welcome to steemit and follow me @vigneshvinay...........$$$$$$???????????????????????????????????

Welcome @smith-house....I agree with most here, you guys make all of us look cooler.... it's too much like a sausage/geek-fest in here :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 67233.96
ETH 3486.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.15