Steemit here I come!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

Hello Steemians. Ovie Mordi is the name. I am from Nigeria and I live in Benin City, a city with a very rich history. Soon enough I hope Steemians will get to know more about this wonderful city when we (a friend and I) release our historical fiction centered on this great city.

IMG_20180404_104136.jpg

I’m a graduate of Chemistry, a certified I.T. professional and a helpless book addict! I have been a book lover for as long as I can remember. I read a wide range of genres; sci fi, thriller, fantasy, biography, memoir, any well written piece in fact (write an awesome textbook on quantum physics and I will enjoy reading it)!

I’m married to the most beautiful and amazing woman on earth. Indeed, we will be celebrating our first wedding anniversary four days hence (hurraaay!)

1c.jpg

What more? I have a pretty baby daughter who has changed my life forever. Her smiles and giggles bring me so much joy. I was getting worried that I wasn’t exercising enough, doing far more driving than walking. But now I worry no more as I must have walked hundreds of miles with her in my arms, as I pace back and forth our apartment on nights she decides to stay awake. She has also been my “childnese” language tutor and I don’t think I’ve been doing badly so far.

dadnDin.jpg

I am thankful for the opportunity to be a part of this wonderful community and I’ve no doubts whatsoever that it will be a very fulfilling and rewarding experience for me.

Please I am still trying to get used to navigating through this platform, so do bear with me however way this post turns out, especially with the pictures!

Sort:  

Hello smyles! Welcome to Steemit! Hope you'll like the community here. Here are 5 essential tips that will help facilitate your onboarding process:

  1. Keep your passwords safe: Unlike conventional sites, Steemit has 4 types of passwords. Each offers varying degrees of access to your account, so know where and when to use each of the 4 passwords and make sure to keep them all safe and secure.
  2. Get Steem rewards: You have the option to choose how to receive your post reward: "Default 50%/50%" or "Power Up 100%". As of this moment, choosing Default 50%/50% is the better option. But this will change over time. Check our post for more details.
  3. Upvote wisely: When upvoting, wait at least 30 minutes after the post is published to maximize your curation reward. Also make sure not to upvote too much too fast so as not to drain your voting power.
  4. Know your Steem, Steem Dollars and Steem Power: Steem and Steem Dollars are the 2 main currencies here. Converting and powering up more Steem into Steem Power will enable you to have higher value on upvotes.
  5. Have Fun and Enjoy!

For a detailed writeup, check our post Getting Started: 5 Essential Tips for New Users.

Good luck on your Steem journey! Follow us if you like to receive more helpful tips and maximize your Steemit experience.

Thanks for the info. Really appreciate it.

HI @smyles, you're welcome! If you have any questions that you can't find an answer to, just write a post or comment and include "@steemsociety" for us to be notified. All the best! :)

ok @steemsociety, I do have a question: Is it okay to post my own articles from my blog (not steemit) here?

Hi @smyles. Our personal opinion on this is that it is generally okay with some caveats. Make sure that the article you are reposting is still relevant to today, and that you believe it will still be beneficial to the community. Make some necessary changes if needed, add an introduction, add a closing, depending on what's appropriate. You can also indicate and reference your other blog to direct people to the original content (and also to eliminate any potential confusion).

There are also some similar discussions on this matter in Steemit. Just google and you'll find these posts.

All the best.

Thanks @steemsociety. I actually went on to search on google before now. Your answer confirms my findings. Thanks again.


Welcome to Steemit @smyles!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Thanks @introbot and @bycoleman. I am currently going through the links.

Hi Ovie welcome to the Steemit community. It's a great place to make friends, you'll enjoy it!
I'm following you, just follow me back! Have a nice day!

Thank you.

Welcome to steemit Ovie Mordi:) Cant wait to see what content you will make:)

Thanks. I too can't wait to really get started here.

Welcome on Steemit!

Nice to see such a comprehensive introduce yourself post. This way we get to know you straight away. And I'm directly curious to see what future blogs you will write?

It's really great to have you as new Steemonian on this awesome platform. I hope you will enjoy Steemit just as much as I do. In my first 3 months I found out there is really a lot to discover. First of all about how Steemit precisely works (my suggestion is that you take your time to learn about that subj). But also to find out how you can find users that share interesting blogs? So who do you need to follow?

One of the things I really like is the social aspect. There are a lot of people willing to help you. And also after a little time you get a fan base. And last but not least, the are a lot of communities. Myself I joined the Dutch community (since I live in The Netherlands).

If you have any questions about Steemit, you can always try to find the answers in the welcome and/or FAQ section. Or if you prefer you can just ask me. I would be happy to help you out 😀

That is so sweet of you. I will remember to take you on your offer when I have questions to ask. I have noted all the suggestions you have given. It feels good to know there are people willing to help here. That is what community is about right? Thanks again.

Your welcome! Hope it made you smyles 😀

Welcome fellow compatriot 🙋🙋

Hello dearie..

Welcome to steemit, to interact and get to grow better on steemit, find your niche and be educated on steemit...do well to join us on our Steemschool discord channel using this link https://discord.gg/2F74XX9

Look forward to seeing you there.

Thanks Biljed. Happy to be here. I will check out the link asap. Gracias.

hey welcome to steemit, u have beatiful family! If you like epic cinematic photos and videos, follow my blog, it would be an honor to me! :)

Thanks. I will check out your blog.

Congratulations @smyles! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Wow! Badges already? Didn't see that coming. Thank you very much

Lovely family, baby, wife, beautiful hehe. Thanks for sharing. I'm Oatmeal Joey Arnold. You can call me Joey.

Thanks Joey.

smyles
I have just created a post about what can be helpful to new steemit users

here is the link
https://steemit.com/steemit/@steemit-steemit/what-the-f-ck-and-not-the-f-k-to-do-on-steem-for-new-steemit-members

let me know what you think.

That's very kind of you. Thanks a great deal. I will definitely check out the link.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63133.02
ETH 3043.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63