You Could Say That I'm 'Drawn' to Opportunity

IMG_1233.JPG
"My Great Grandparents" 18"x24" Drawn with Charcoal (it looks way better in person xD)

Hiya Steemians!

For my first post I thought I'd share with you a recent project of mine, but first...CONTEXT!

At the end of 2017, my family and I had moved to Texas to find greater opportunities for ourselves. I had lived in Maryland for my entire life, so this was a pretty big change for me, and I loved it! It felt like I was an old American pioneer heading out west to unknown lands, unknown to me that its.

We only knew one family out here in Texas, and that was my dad's uncle and his family. Honestly, I never got to know my dad's side of the family growing up, and this was my chance to change that. I shared with them my dreams, goals, and showed them a bunch of different art I had done over the years. Impressed with my work, my uncle shared with me the photograph you can see in the picture, and wanted me to draw them.

As my first commission of the New Year, I got to draw the people who gave me my last name, the people who gave me my identity. Even though I didn't know them, I had felt a strong connection with them whilst working on this drawing, and I hope to do them proud with the many more things I plan to do alongside you all; The artists, the entrepreneurs, the leaders.

Let's show the world what this platform can do!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit, precious family memories, very talented

Thanks for the welcome! I hope to continually improve my abilities as I grow

Wow great profile! Lovely sketch of your grandparents,Welcome to steemit! You will love it here. Take a look at my posts, im interested in beauty, life, photography, take care x @diljeetdil x

I think I'm gonna love steemit too ^_^ Thanks for the welcome!

Aww your very welcome x

Welcome to steemit! :D I recently joined aswell im loving this community

Dear Artist ! FineArtNow is a new place for artists on Steemit ! Become our friend ! See you soon !

Yes just what I was looking for! I'm looking forward to future posts

Congratulations @soarinsketches! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @soarinsketches! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69715.93
ETH 3772.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77