HELLO, THIS IS MY INTRODUCTION

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

HELLO, THIS IS MY INTRODUCTION


Introductions to me have always been a strange thing. I suppose the best place to start would be with my name. Sogrid is a pseudonym that I have been using for some time now. I’m sure at some point my real name will get out there but for now Sogrid is fine.
 

Who am I? This is where I begin the over complication of the idea of an introduction. I’ve been called an artist, musician, woodworker and a slew of other things that involve creative outlets. The thing is, is that I’m not sure this would truly address the reason why I wanted to get on the steemit train. I have followed politics pretty intensely for a long time. Years and years of watching the news outlets cover stories with complete omission of key context. Even worse being total fabrication of facts or corporate censorship.
 

I heard about steemit from a couple different Journalists and activists that I find to be doing incredible work. This has since made me analyze the world and It’s growing need for real journalism. I believe that I share the opinion of many that mainstream media has betrayed us. Journalism and the First Amendment right to the freedom of the press is all but eviscerated. Every so often we see those doing their best to maintain a shimmer of light of journalistic integrity. Most of the time this journalistic integrity, by a small minority, is met with varying levels of disdain by the powers that be. This disdain ranging anywhere from the demonetization of content, attacks on character, and even imprisonment or physical violence(As seen with the J20 on Trumps Inauguration Day). It is my understanding that the press was never meant to cuddle up with governments and corporations. I believe sites like steemit, a decentralized platform, will be the future of truth. It’s time to restore the true adversarial nature of the press!
 

Sincerely,  
 

Sogrid
 
  P.S.  

 I’d like to leave you with a quote from the author Vasily Grossman – Life and Fate. I think this quote does a great job at depicting the world in which we all live.   

  “My faith has been tempered in Hell,” wrote Vasily Grossman in his masterpiece “Life and Fate.” “My faith has emerged from the flames of the crematoria, from the concrete of the gas chamber. I have seen that it is not man who is impotent in the struggle against evil, but the power of evil that is impotent in the struggle against man. The powerlessness of kindness, of senseless kindness, is the secret of its immortality. It can never be conquered. The more stupid, the more senseless, the more helpless it may seem, the vaster it is. Evil is impotent before it. The prophets, religious leaders, reformers, social and political leaders are impotent before it. This dumb, blind love is man’s meaning. Human history is not the battle of good struggling to overcome evil. It is a battle fought by a great evil struggling to crush a small kernel of human kindness. But if what is human in human beings has not been destroyed even now, then evil will never conquer.”   

Sort:  

@sogrid, welcome and congratulations on making your first post! I gave you a $.05 vote! If you would be so kind to give me a follow in return, that would be most kind of you!!

Hello and welcome to Steemit! :)

Welcome to Steem Community @sogrid! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Hi . Welcome to steemit. Good luck.

Welcome to steemit @sogrid. Join @minnowsupport project for more help. Checkout @helpie and @qurator projects.
Send SBD/STEEM to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Send SBD/STEEM to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project, follow for random votes.


Welcome to Steemit @sogrid!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Congratulations @sogrid! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62931.02
ETH 3031.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64