Hello! I'm a former corporate drone turned Wonderer, now Wandering!

How I got here

Was Googling something random (also my username ha) when I found a post on Steemit, proceed to spend days browsing blogs, and thought, what is this Steemit thing with good quality content and a friendly community? Have I finally found a place on The Internet where nice people exist? Signed up on Saturday 10 March, heard that it takes a bit longer to get approved over the weekends as the approvals are done manually (?) and received the email Monday 12 March. So here I am!


20170901_144855 1 resized.jpg
My reaction when I found Steemit. In awe! And tiny. (Pic taken in Budapest)

Introduction

I’m a Singaporean living in New Zealand. Shout out to SGreans and Kiwis on here! In 2016 I left my Marketing job and a “normal life” to go on the search for deeper meanings. I was unfulfilled and I believe that there must be something more out there.

Spent most of 2017 bouncing from country to country, then I decided to move to the Netherlands. Went to a couple of interviews but no job offers... Had to leave Europe after 3 months on the Schengen visa so I travelled to South East Asia because it’s cheap and near my parents lol. Now I’m back in the Netherlands and figuring out what to do with my life next.


IMG-20171225-WA0016 resized.png
Probably can’t sit around the beach forever. (Pic taken in Indonesia)

How I can contribute to Steemit

I have the privilege of living an alternative travel lifestyle for over a year (still going…), and picked up many interesting experiences I’d like to store somewhere, since we can’t upload our memories to the “Cloud” yet, including:

  • How I lived without paying rent for more than a year – couchsurfing
  • How I managed the anxiety and depression that came from leaving a stable life behind – meditation
  • How I dealt with the extreme loneliness of walking a path less travelled – joining online communities like Steemit

When I was working an 8-5, I rarely had time for anything, not even myself. Now I have all the time in the world, and I realized that it could be a blessing and a curse at the same time, the luxury of time. My identity was also stripped away. I became conscious to how much my self-worth was tied to my job title and the amount of money I was making. Take those away and what am I?

I learnt to live on very little, and discovered that the less I bought, the less I need.


IMG-20151227-WA0021 resized 2.png
Sometimes I can't resist a cheese toastie. (Pic taken in NJ, USA)

I’m still trying to find a balance between the Life I want and the demands of modern life, with its consumerist culture, conformist behavior, and the never-ending chase for instant gratification…

I also hope that I’ll be able to help someone out there by:

  • Sharing knowledge
  • Empowering people to challenge the status quo
  • Inspiring them to lead more authentic lives where they could be true to themselves
  • To comfort those who are like me – “you are not alone” and “things will get better”

I like philosophizing about Life, Death, and everything in between. I often wonder about random things like, “When did people start naming each other? Like when did Mary became Mary and John became John?” or “What is the real colour of water?”

I’ve been “homeless” and “jobless” for over a year now and here’s what I’ve learnt on my journey so far…

Thanks for reading!


20180314_091003 resized.jpg
(Pic taken in the Netherlands)

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit!

Welcome! hope you will do well and like it here! great story, lets travel as much as we can. I traveled for four years and post about it now, for now back in Amsterdam thinking about my next move.

Where in the Netherlands are you, maybe I can help with finding a job

I'm actually a bit over travelling I think! Actually that's not true. I'm just tired of not having a base to return to. Though the upside is that everywhere feels like home to me nowadays, and I adapt to different living conditions easily. But I don't know how you could travel for 4 years straight! I'm staying with a friend in Almere for now, moving to Tilburg to stay with another friend next week. How do we private message each other? Are you on steem chat?

Did not travel four years straight, always came back for a bit to Amsterdam, i was tired of not having a base to return to aswell, but I am back in Amsterdam for over a year now and really need to go again! I am on steemchat, send me a message if you want, dont have a lot of contact in Tilburg to be honest

On discord?

Oh theres a steemchat?! Aha!

HAHAHA yup =)

Say hi if you go for a beer in Joes Garage!

Okay!!!! =D =D =D

This reply might feel like it was stuck in a time lapse but that's because we 'met' only recently in the deepshit/ beawesome channel on Discord.

How could I not reply after reading that you speak 'een klein beetje Nederlands' and spent some time in the country were I grew up in.

Groetjes uit Portugal and I'm sure I'll 'see' you around,

Vincent

Hoi! Was in your country on and off for 4.5 months in total. Had to do visa runs in between, but I love every single moment I spent there. I really wanna live there long-term! Anyway now I have to be out of schengen for 90 days, otherwise I'd visit you in Portugal. @whatamidoing has mentioned that he'll love to do that too! Actually he told me to go look for you there, but visa yeah =(

What? You wanna live in The Netherlands long-term?
I guess the grass is always greener on the other side :>)

It's a shame you have to leave the Schengen area because it would indeed be fun to meet up.

And otherwise, I'm sure we can make it happen in the not so distant future :>)

We WILL make it happen! =)


Welcome to Steemit @somethingrandom!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Good bot! Thanks =)

Just a reminder, we would love you in the be awesome chat. Link in my signature :-)

Haha thanks! I already am on there!

Hello welcome to steem 🙂

Thanks! Looking forward to steeming! Except that Steemit has been real slow the past couple of days and I kept getting a 504 error =/

Business owners need to realize that their design is a reflection of their business even if it is not intentional. If you don’t care about your design then your design is telling people that you don’t care about your business.
Great Post!

The only downside to all this is that we are not a buisness, and to define ourself is just Ego. Its all ironic really because things like profiles and "who were are" is actually who we are not. Just like Fakebook and others..

Remember folks, You Are Not Your Steemit Account!! Big Love :)

Hahahaha truer words have never been spoken!

Love the Star Wars shirt. May the force be with you and love your awesome smile.

Thank you! May the force be with you!

Seems as though you have had some very valuable and profound life experiences. I look forward to your posts! <3

Thank you! I look forward to more poetry from you too =)

Woah great first post! Glad to have you here on steemit!! Looked forward to some couch surfing tips for when I finally get a chance to do a little travelling myself

Thank you! My next post will be about couchsurfing! =)

Look forward to it!! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 61959.02
ETH 3004.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59