Dragon Farmers on SteemIt | 火龙果农夫到了!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hi everyone! 大家好!

I am a Canadian living in China as an organic farmer. My primary license in life is to produce better food and bringing them to market. Since I was young I have been farming organically with my family. I am an independent consultant and designer providing farm design, farm management, Community Supported Agriculture (CSA) programming as well as trade and brand consulting for companies entering China.

我是加拿大人在中国做有机农业 (我写汉字,写的不快)。在中国我帮农夫做有机农业。不要花费,不要农药。我和父母一起做有机农业在我加拿大老家。

I moved to China in 2007 and since 2012 I decided to be a farmer in China too, where I now bring the customer closer to the field and the oceans where their food is produced. On Steem I hope to bring the things I have learned about organic foods and the environment, and of course some cool recipes and facts to you here.

我到中国2007年了但是2012年我开始帮小农场做有机农业。

Kirk in greenhouse
Me inside a Beijing greenhouse 我在北京大棚里

I love farming and fishing, and all the food creations and cooking that come from small-scale food production.

I plan to bring Steem authentic content from my own experiences and photos of some cool agriculture and food and perhaps help bring food innovation to the Steem Community. To give you a glimpse, here is my friend in Hainan Province, China 海南岛, who had originally went to university in Beijing before returning home to create the family dragon fruit farm.

Dragon Farming

The Dragon Hunters

They construct amazing rock fields for their dragons first, using the Lava Rock that created their land 10,000 years ago. They simply, and delicately block rows of rock then 'seed' them using branches from the native cactus plants which are growing in the wild. After they what they plant blooms, 45 days will pass before a curious looking fruit will appear, translated as the Dragon Fruit. A welcomed sight to the baron landscape of volcanic rock!

IMG 20171210 120205 IMG 20171210 120611

IMG_20171210_120956
@sown4steem
IMG 20171210 120611
@sown4steem

Looking forward to chatting with you and hearing more about you. Hope you can find some enjoyment or perhaps some usefulness from my posts!

steem_logo

Sort:  

Welcome!! Hope you have a great time on Steemit! Also, nice post! Looking forward to seeing more! :)

Welcome! Appreciate your sharing for both your life & passion and bilingual presentation!

Thank you for reading! Still working on my bilingualism but every little bit helps :-) Looking forward to reading more of your posts.

Welcome to Steem! We're glad to have you here!

I am a Steem curator, and creator of the series "The Fresh 5" where I pick five new Steemians to share with my followers that they should know about. I have selected you as one of my five for today. Your post has been featured in my post you can find here: The Fresh 5.

I would encourage you to come over and visit my post and say hi in the comments to get to know some of the folks reading my daily digest. You are welcome to tell us more about yourself there and encourage my readers to come and check you out!

Have a great day! Looking forward to seeing more of you on the platform!!

Thank you! I liked reading your post - a quick digest of the diversity found here each day.

Welcome to Steemit @sown4steem! I would love to know how that dragon fruit tastes, it sure looks very interesting! : )

It's pretty unique! Something like a kiwi but not as sweet. These were much sweeter than I've ever tasted! The red flesh variety tends to pack a better punch... And plucking one off the cactus yourself tends to make it that much tastier :-)

Thanks for the nice description, now I wish to try it even more. : )

我的最爱😍

哈哈我也是

Congratulations @sown4steem! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

thank you for following me in advance. i will upvote and comment on your every post if you do the same we both are new on steemit.if it works for you let me know just reply this post

Whoa! Dragonfruit look so weird! Not sure I've ever seen such an intense colour naturally...

Why did you move to China in 2007? I honestly can't think of a much more dramatic culture change...

Anyways, welcome to Steem! Hope you happily find a new online home here.

Welcome to Steemit,I found your post through mikepm post! You will meet a lot of cool people and the more you network the more fun it is to be here. Let me knowif you have any questions. You can find me in the minnow support group discord. :)

welcome to steemit and have fun! the dragon fruit looks really good! i hope to see more of your posts about farming and any tips for visiting China ( i will visit Beijing at second half of February 2018) so any tips provided would be really helpful

Absolutely, I'll make a post soon about Beijing food and farms shortly. Beijing can be a fun spot, and in February you may get to see it lit up pretty good with Chinese New Year on February 16th. Bring some earplugs 🎇🎉

haha i will be there february 18 :P so i pretty much gonna miss everything :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61497.12
ETH 2932.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62