An Introduction to Owning Ignorance

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Full disclosure: I have no idea what I'm doing here. My SO has been thoroughly enjoying this community and so after countless discussions, I figured I'd give it a try. His descriptions make this seem like a reputable, humane ship in a sea of endless filth and malice that is the internet (LC deliberate). So I post without advanced comprehension of this place. The steem and crypto-consequences do not motivate me, but rather the community he has described. So bear with me and read with a sympathetic eye.

It is December 12, 2016 and while I've no intention of sharing an image of myself, I can say that DAPL was the 1-across clue on the NYT mini-crossword, far too few people are up in arms about Russia's involvement in the recent election, and the price of oil has hit a 1.5 year high. But enough about that, here's a little bit about who I am.

I was born in a fishing town in eastern Canada to draft-dodging parents. It was a most unhappy home, but Atlantic Canada was my playground and that made it a blissfully imaginative childhood. Fast forward about three decades and I currently reside in Ohio, working an unrelenting job at a small college. I improvise in my spare time, along with cuddling my dog, making jam, and trying my damnedest to complete this 1000 piece New Yorker jigsaw puzzle.

Note: My friend accidentally spilled a cup of coffee on this partially-completed puzzle, discoloring a large section that was missing pieces. She still walks with shame.

Something else about me is that I am an unapologetically brilliant woman. I've been fortunate enough to have received a great education (which I'm still paying for), travel the world (thanks career), and somehow managed to have jobs and responsibilities I had no business having (who leads a trade delegation at the age of 27?!). As an accomplished young woman, owning my intellect is not well received, particularly less than 200 miles from the Mason-Dixon line. My intelligence may come out in my posts, but I begin without a strategy for content. I anticipate that my posts on here will range from cooking and baking to issues I see with our current socio-economic and political system. For now, I will leave it there, turning back to nursing my cold, petting my dog, and that god damn puzzle.

Here's my god damn dog:

Sort:  

That puzzle is the worst... HALF OF THE PIECES ARE ENTIRELY WHITE, GREY, OR MAUVE.

The trees are done. All that's left is the whitish mauve.

I love Clyde, I hate that damn puzzle.

Even if you do not know why... Welcome to Steemit.

Hey.. Welcome to steemit. You seem pretty interesting, and.. Cute dog too! Good luck on here! Upvoted and I followed you as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67803.71
ETH 3800.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66