You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What it's REALLY like to go from normal life to #vanlife (including the bad stuff!)

Freedom!!!! Good for you! Welcome. I'm now a follower so I can follow you two on your journey. I'm excited. My Dad is voluntarily homeless too. He built a camper on the back of his truck. I will follow in his footsteps one day. I am thrilled to see you here!

Sort:  

Hey there @squitrelbait, that sounds really neat! Do you have any pictures of the camper? So far, life on the road has been exciting but not without some getting used to; the first two weeks were especially hard. Psyched to have you following along!

I'll be doing a video at some point about it. I have one started. I'm waiting for him to come and visit to finish it. He's visiting my brother and building a platform on the back bumper. I need to add that when he comes back here but here's a picture. He's been doing this full time for a little over a year. Truck at campsite.jpg

I bet it's very scary at first and you questioned your sanity. Probably still do. Plans to change into a van vs a car?

That looks great! Very cozy.

The first two weeks, almost every morning, yes, completely questioning my sanity and thinking about what I gave up as every little hardship arose. Things like where we put specific items (until you get a system down where every item "lives" and have everything labeled, it's a nightmare) and figuring out where to sleep while it's getting dark, and wondering if what we estimated we'd spend would hold true...so yes, lots of questioning!

But after week 3 or so, we started really hitting our stride. Getting a system down for stuff like when to change campsites, how to be patient with each other's quirks, thinking in terms of opportunity instead of hardships, all that.

Very excited for you!

You end up protocols and rhythm it sounds like. Nice to problem solve for yourself instead of your boss eh? Dad travels alone. A small space with 2 people would def. be a challenge. Especially during bad weather (trapped inside).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64561.16
ETH 3244.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91